We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strange neighbourhood but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Ranked #197 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“strange neighbourhood but ok”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

when we arrived there I sort of wandered and thought this would be a terrible place to stay.... at the end it was super convenient and well located to join any point of interest from Madrid! I surely recommend the hotel for people who like to walk and discover the town - for those who like to stay in their bedrooms, avoid the ones having a view on the inside. the breakfast rrom is just loud as hell.
in the morning make sure you avoid the rush because the breakfast room is too tiny for the amount of people staying!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear carlanina

Thank you very much for your opinion. Maybe you are right and the sensation you may have is strange because you are in the heart of the old Madrid, narrow streets, a lot of people, bars, restaurants but it is a lovely place to discover Madrid, as you mentioned. We are about 5-10 minutes walking distance of all the touristic attractions (Prado Museum, Reina Sofía modern art museum, Thyssen bornesmiza museum, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Opera, Royal Palace, etc). I agree that the breakfast room in the rush hours is a little bit loud and crowd but it is only when the hotel is full. We are sorry, we will try to organice the breakfast better.

Thank you and best regards

Antonio Arndo
Manager
Tryp Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    521
    235
    90
    46
See reviews for
198
400
80
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice for business purposes. It has a great location and very close to all the sites. The subway station is actually right next to the hotel but it has been closed for a while.

The rooms are of a good size and very clean. My room was located at the back so it was very quiet. The air conditioning in the room was efficient.

The first time stayed there, they only has wireless in certain sections of the hotel but they seem to have rectified that in my visit in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasa_ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Shasa_ist

Thank you very much for your comments. Our segmentation is 50% business and the same leisure because of our location in the city center, near of the main touristic attractions. We are very well connected to the businees area throug the main roads and as well via public transportation. Nowadays we have FREE WIFI everywhere in the hotel , you are right, this is something new from 2012.

Thank you ver much and best regards

Antonio Arnedo
GM
TRYP Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great location, 15 min walk from plaza mayor and 10min towards the musea. Its on a busy road so you do get noise from the street. Room was very spacious, big bathroom. Beds are big and comfy. Airconditioning could be better. Was very warm in the room and it wasnt even summer. Friendly staff. Would reccommend. Coming back in feb but staying at tryp ambassador to see that part of madrid.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room not on the straat side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear DUTCHMAZ

Thank you very much for your comments. Our hotel is well located to visit the city, near the main museums (Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofía). We are close to the Plaza mayor, Puerta del sol and the main green of Madrid, El retiro.

Please let us know your next visit to Madrid in order to try to help yo or recomend you the best places in the city. In the same way we are sure that you will enjoy Tryp Ambassador that is part of our chain.

Thank you very much and best regards.

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Tryp Madrid Atocha

Great location, 15 min walk from plaza mayor and 10min towards the musea. Its on a busy road so you do get noise from the street. Room was very spacious, big bathroom. Beds are big and comfy. Airconditioning could be better. Was very warm in the room and it wasnt even summer. Friendly staff. Would reccommend. Coming back in feb but staying at tryp ambassador to see that part of madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel. The rooms are clean, well serviced and comfortable. Breakfast was good and a bar was available if needed.

The best aspect is that it is close to many sites. It is true it is up hill from the station but it wasn't a problem. Like many areas around any station it is shabby in places.

There is always the metro which is great.

It is 5 minutes walk to the Prado. Probably 15 minutes to the Playa Mayor and Sol. The Marcado del St Miguel is a must do in the evening.

I would recommend this hotel which is just right for a tourist visit

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear woodc0te

Thank you very much for your opinions. We celebrate that you found our hotel comfortable. Or breakfast buffet is well appreciated by our clients. The hotel is well located in the downtown, near the station and near the main touristic attractions.

Please let us know the next time in our hotel in order to be able to meet you at reception and to upgrade your reservation in case that we have the possibility

Thank you very much and best regards.

Antonnio Arnedo
GM
TRYP Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in Tryp Atocha middle of October for 4 nights in this beautiful hotel. I must say we were impressed by the quality of service and food in the hotel. Breakfast was more than enough, large choice and everything fresh and delicious. The Premium king-size bedroom was fantastic, spacious and very comfartable. Very clean hotel. Location of the property is superb.
Special THANKS to the General Manager and also his staff, all of them very helpful and professional. We will come back for sure, warm regards from Bulgaria!:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HManoilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear HManoilov

Thank you very much for your kind words and opinions. We celebrate that the staff was able to transmit our entusiasm and cordiality in our daily tasks, basicaly SERVICE. We do our best everyday to show the best breakfuast buffet for our guest, show the cleanest room and try to get our guest satisfied.

Thank you very much and best regards,

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Tryp Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta europe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Centrally located within easy reach of Plaza del Sol and other famous landmarks of this beautiful city.I like to walk and this maybe I use the word easy!Clean room and average food.Totally satisfied with this hotel and looking forward to revisit Madrid and stay again here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saviour C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear MaltaEuropeGoogle

Thank you very much for your words. The hotel si located as you mentioned really near from the main touristic attractions. Our room are comfortable and the breakfast convenience.

We are very happy that you are totally satisfied with us. We look to see you again in Madrid and of course at home, your home, Tryp Madrid Atocha. Please let us know when your are coming back and we will tak care of you with pleasure.

Best regards.

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Tryp Atocha


Centrally located within easy reach of Plaza del Sol and other famous landmarks of this beautiful city.I like to walk and this maybe I use the word easy!Clean room and average food.Totally satisfied with this hotel and looking forward to revisit Madrid and stay again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel as part of a vacation package. Although it is 15 minute walk to the Prado and Atocha train station, I was disappointed with the surrounding neighborhood and its amenities. I much preferred staying near the Calleo Metro station area at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmj128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear kmj128

Thank you very much for your opinion. OUr hotel is near the museums and the main touristic attractions. If you let us know your next visit, it will be a pleasure to meet you and share your point of view.

Thank you

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Tryp Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#65 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#121 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#190 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#58 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#169 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel

Property: Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Address: C/ Atocha 83, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Madrid
#135 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#143 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL Feel the soul-stirring passion of one of the most exotic European capitals from our TRYP Madrid Atocha hotel. Located in the historical heart of the city, called "barrio de las letras", you can walk to world-class museums, delicious tapas bars, chic shops and exciting night life from our Madrid hotel near Puerta del Sol. Let our staff fill you in on the best the city has to offer. Our 20th-century Madrid hotel retains its original architectural detail and beauty. From laundry and room service to satellite TV and in-room minibars, our hotel offers all the perks you need to chill out in style. We offer sleek guest rooms, family suites with bunk beds and fitness rooms with workout equipment. Kick off your morning with a premium breakfastbuffet, then check email using high speed internet. Feel refreshed with a drink in our lounge and savor tasty bites in our snack bar. IMMERSE YOURSELF IN CULTURE Visit the world-famous Museo del Prado, home to the largest collection of Spanish paintings by masters like El Greco, Goya and Velazquez. Stroll down Huertas Street and discover some masterpieces from 16th century Spanish literature only steps from the hotel. For modern art, see the powerful Picasso anti-war mural, Guernica, at Museo Centro de Arte Reina Sofia or get an eye-popping feast at Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza. Enjoy the green open space at Buen Retiro Park, fullof beautiful sculptures and monuments. Shop the hottest fashions in the Art Deco shopping enclave on Gran Via or dive into the madness of the Sunday market at El Rastro. CONVENIENT AND EXCITING CUISINE AWAITS Do it up Madrid-style and hop from one tapas bar to another, soaking up the vivid colors and the intoxicating aromas in the Ventura de la Vega and Plaza de Santa Ana areas.For clubbing into the wee hours, dance to live music at the funky El Junco or feel the raw passion of flamenco at Casa Patas. ALWAYS READY FOR BUSINESS Our hotel in Madrid offers meeting space for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Atocha Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Atocha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing