We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Ranked #192 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

As the other reviews have said, this hotel is very convenient for walking to several main sights and many restaurants and shops. For anything at a distance the metro entrance is just outside, There are a couple of cafes just across the street and a small market and bakery a block or less away for water, etc. It is located on a busy street, but this is to be expected as you are in a large city. I called ahead from the US and requested a room on the street side, as I do like to hear the sounds from the street and when I arrived I did get the room I had requested. If you prefer a quiet room, there are rooms facing a courtyard area. The room was very comfortable and clean and had everything to make it a comfortable stay. The breakfast had a great variety to choose from. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will have street noise. Leaving the windows closed would help, but there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Linda495

Thank you very much for your kind words. The location od the hotel is the best if you want to know everything about Madrid. We are close to everything, Museums and downtown. The area is a tipycal example of a spanish life, everything is running and a lot of people in the street. The metro as you mention, is located just a few meters away from the Hotels door.

I am very happy that everybody took care of you with a smile, this is our leitmotiv. It is lovely to hear it from a client. As well the breakfast is one of the services we are always improving trying to satisfy the request of our clients and our brand standards.

Please let us know next time in Madrid andit will be a pleasure to take care of you again. We keep a warmy smile for you :-)

Thank you and best regards

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Tryp Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    519
    235
    89
    46
See reviews for
197
400
80
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Disappointed in our stay here. Our room was clean but the hallway had an odor (called the front desk & they never attended the issue), our safe was not in working order (hotel staff said some of them didn't work & didn't attempt to fix). I enjoyed the personal message on our closet doors though. Our room was booked through a travel package, I would not select the hotel again -- even though we were in walking distance to train station Atocha, the Prado & Plaza Mayor -- the neighborhood was not the best for walking. Breakfast was just OK, actually disappointed in the coffee & tea....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear katie b

Thank you very much for your opinions. I apologize if we were not able to serve you in the way we should. I will find out the issue you have mentioned . Regarding the safe as well, we are changing them for security reasons, I am sorry that yours was out of order.

Please let me know your next time in Madrid in our hotel to try to upgrade your reservation and be able to meet you personally and show some lovely corners in the neighborhood that may change your perception of it.

Thank you very much and best regards

Antonio Arnedo
GM
TRYP Atocha Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A 15 minute walk from the Atocha Train Station, it was easy to find. We were impressed the minute we walked through the doors. The hotel is clean, the staff was more than accommodating and made us feel like we were their number one priority. Our room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was immaculate and up-to-date, and we had the convenience of a room refrigerator.
When we told the front desk that our room was a towel short (only 1 in the room), they were apologetic and quick to remedy the problem.
We feel this hotel has a great location; it was great walking to all of the locations we wanted to visit and a short trip to the train station for day trips. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear

Dear TravelinAloneAgain

Thank you very much for your opinion. We are very happy to see that you got a good impression of our staff and our hotel. It is always lovely to know it and we thank you. The location of the hotel is really convenient if you want to pay a visit to Madrid. It is strategic, near the 3 main museums in Spain (Prado, reina sofia Modern Art and Thyssen Bornesmiza) and near as well from the main touristic attractions in the city, such as Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Opera, Royal Palace, etc). The main point of your opinion is that we were able to serve you in a proper way and we were able to find a quick solution for your issue with the towels.

Thank you very much, we wait for your next visit and hope we can greet you personally during your next stay. Have a nice day.

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Hotel Tryp Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

when we arrived there I sort of wandered and thought this would be a terrible place to stay.... at the end it was super convenient and well located to join any point of interest from Madrid! I surely recommend the hotel for people who like to walk and discover the town - for those who like to stay in their bedrooms, avoid the ones having a view on the inside. the breakfast rrom is just loud as hell.
in the morning make sure you avoid the rush because the breakfast room is too tiny for the amount of people staying!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear carlanina

Thank you very much for your opinion. Maybe you are right and the sensation you may have is strange because you are in the heart of the old Madrid, narrow streets, a lot of people, bars, restaurants but it is a lovely place to discover Madrid, as you mentioned. We are about 5-10 minutes walking distance of all the touristic attractions (Prado Museum, Reina Sofía modern art museum, Thyssen bornesmiza museum, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Opera, Royal Palace, etc). I agree that the breakfast room in the rush hours is a little bit loud and crowd but it is only when the hotel is full. We are sorry, we will try to organice the breakfast better.

Thank you and best regards

Antonio Arndo
Manager
Tryp Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice for business purposes. It has a great location and very close to all the sites. The subway station is actually right next to the hotel but it has been closed for a while.

The rooms are of a good size and very clean. My room was located at the back so it was very quiet. The air conditioning in the room was efficient.

The first time stayed there, they only has wireless in certain sections of the hotel but they seem to have rectified that in my visit in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasa_ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Shasa_ist

Thank you very much for your comments. Our segmentation is 50% business and the same leisure because of our location in the city center, near of the main touristic attractions. We are very well connected to the businees area throug the main roads and as well via public transportation. Nowadays we have FREE WIFI everywhere in the hotel , you are right, this is something new from 2012.

Thank you ver much and best regards

Antonio Arnedo
GM
TRYP Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great location, 15 min walk from plaza mayor and 10min towards the musea. Its on a busy road so you do get noise from the street. Room was very spacious, big bathroom. Beds are big and comfy. Airconditioning could be better. Was very warm in the room and it wasnt even summer. Friendly staff. Would reccommend. Coming back in feb but staying at tryp ambassador to see that part of madrid.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room not on the straat side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear DUTCHMAZ

Thank you very much for your comments. Our hotel is well located to visit the city, near the main museums (Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofía). We are close to the Plaza mayor, Puerta del sol and the main green of Madrid, El retiro.

Please let us know your next visit to Madrid in order to try to help yo or recomend you the best places in the city. In the same way we are sure that you will enjoy Tryp Ambassador that is part of our chain.

Thank you very much and best regards.

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Tryp Madrid Atocha

Great location, 15 min walk from plaza mayor and 10min towards the musea. Its on a busy road so you do get noise from the street. Room was very spacious, big bathroom. Beds are big and comfy. Airconditioning could be better. Was very warm in the room and it wasnt even summer. Friendly staff. Would reccommend. Coming back in feb but staying at tryp ambassador to see that part of madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel. The rooms are clean, well serviced and comfortable. Breakfast was good and a bar was available if needed.

The best aspect is that it is close to many sites. It is true it is up hill from the station but it wasn't a problem. Like many areas around any station it is shabby in places.

There is always the metro which is great.

It is 5 minutes walk to the Prado. Probably 15 minutes to the Playa Mayor and Sol. The Marcado del St Miguel is a must do in the evening.

I would recommend this hotel which is just right for a tourist visit

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank woodc0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear woodc0te

Thank you very much for your opinions. We celebrate that you found our hotel comfortable. Or breakfast buffet is well appreciated by our clients. The hotel is well located in the downtown, near the station and near the main touristic attractions.

Please let us know the next time in our hotel in order to be able to meet you at reception and to upgrade your reservation in case that we have the possibility

Thank you very much and best regards.

Antonnio Arnedo
GM
TRYP Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#65 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#122 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#198 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#61 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#75 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#168 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel

Property: Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Address: C/ Atocha 83, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Madrid
#131 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#143 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL Feel the soul-stirring passion of one of the most exotic European capitals from our TRYP Madrid Atocha hotel. Located in the historical heart of the city, called "barrio de las letras", you can walk to world-class museums, delicious tapas bars, chic shops and exciting night life from our Madrid hotel near Puerta del Sol. Let our staff fill you in on the best the city has to offer. Our 20th-century Madrid hotel retains its original architectural detail and beauty. From laundry and room service to satellite TV and in-room minibars, our hotel offers all the perks you need to chill out in style. We offer sleek guest rooms, family suites with bunk beds and fitness rooms with workout equipment. Kick off your morning with a premium breakfastbuffet, then check email using high speed internet. Feel refreshed with a drink in our lounge and savor tasty bites in our snack bar. IMMERSE YOURSELF IN CULTURE Visit the world-famous Museo del Prado, home to the largest collection of Spanish paintings by masters like El Greco, Goya and Velazquez. Stroll down Huertas Street and discover some masterpieces from 16th century Spanish literature only steps from the hotel. For modern art, see the powerful Picasso anti-war mural, Guernica, at Museo Centro de Arte Reina Sofia or get an eye-popping feast at Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza. Enjoy the green open space at Buen Retiro Park, fullof beautiful sculptures and monuments. Shop the hottest fashions in the Art Deco shopping enclave on Gran Via or dive into the madness of the Sunday market at El Rastro. CONVENIENT AND EXCITING CUISINE AWAITS Do it up Madrid-style and hop from one tapas bar to another, soaking up the vivid colors and the intoxicating aromas in the Ventura de la Vega and Plaza de Santa Ana areas.For clubbing into the wee hours, dance to live music at the funky El Junco or feel the raw passion of flamenco at Casa Patas. ALWAYS READY FOR BUSINESS Our hotel in Madrid offers meeting space for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Melia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Atocha Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Atocha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing