We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tryp Hotel Atocha, an excellent hotel in Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Ranked #192 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baker, Florida
1 review
“Tryp Hotel Atocha, an excellent hotel in Madrid”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

For the second time, Blue Danube Holidays has made vacation planning for my friend and I very easy. My friend chose them in 2009 for an add-on trip, after a stint of teaching in Madrid. She started her trip at the Tryp Hotel Atocha in Madrid and she liked it so well that we are starting there again this year. It was a beautiful hotel and the service was excellent. It was only a short walk to Plaza Mayor where night life abounds with jugglers, venders and mimes.
This year we will be doing it all over again, and were looking for another tour to add after our classes. Ava was very informative and helpful then and recently as well. We made our final plans and re-contacted Blue Danube and were assisted by Monica, who was just as knowledgeable of their tours, and a big influence in our decision. We highly recommend Blue Danube Tours, as it suited our needs then and now.
The hotels in 2009 were top notch, and we anticipate the ones in Morocco will be also. Thank you, Ava, and Monica.
Tom

Room Tip: We were on the third floor oveerlooking the main street, Atocha, side and we loved it.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank T0m1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear T0m 1066:

Thank you very much for your opinion and thank you for having chosen our hotel again. Our neiborghood is plenty of life, near the main touristic attractions.

Thank you and best regards

Antonio Arnedo
Manager
Tryp Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    519
    235
    89
    46
See reviews for
197
400
80
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I like all my stays here now that I've learned to ask for an "inside room" after party noise from street and morning traffic were a problem. Very happy with breakfast buffet and service here. Add ideal location, as the Prado, Reina Sofia Museums, Train Station, and famous Rastro Flea Market are only few blocks away and easy walk. Lots of restaurants and squares plus loved shopping at nearby Corte Ingles, a huge department store supreme! Beds and pillows, bathrooms all very nice.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter than those that face the streets, especially Calle Atocha which is a busy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesmera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mesmera M:

Thank you very much for your opinions. Our hotel has both rooms, inside and balcony street ones. The sourrounding of the hotel are lovely, plenty of activity and life, specially in this season. You can visit the downtown, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, Plaza Mayor, Atocha Station, Ther museums (Prado, Thyssen Bornesmiza, Modern art Reina Sofia), Puerta del Sol, Opera, Royal Palace, "el retiro" park, etc

Thank you very much and till next time at your "spanish home", Tryp Atocha

Antonio Arnedo
Manager
Tryp Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I received a warm welcome when I arrived at this centrally located hotel from the young man on reception (I think he was a new member of staff). My single room was adequate but disappointed in that there was no tea/coffee in the room. (I was advised that the premium rooms had this as standard.) However, the young man on reception provided me with a flask of hot water and tea bag and milk as a goodwill gesture on my first evening.
When I was directed towards the vending machine the next evening, the hot drinks section was out of order!!! Grr...

The safe in the room didn't work (I was told the safes were currently being upgraded but had not yet reached my room.) The lamp was temperamental in that it worked some time but not at other times (It had a loose connection which had to be jiggled to bring on the light). If I had reported it, I am sure it would have been sorted. However, I think basic room items should be checked prior to a guest arriving.

A pre-wedding party was ongoing (and very loud) but I was assured the noise would stop at midnight - which it did. Up until that time, a peaceful sleep was not possible.

The hotel is well-placed for restaurants as well as the metro. Breakfasts provided were very good and offered a wide variety of foodstuffs.

In truth, I never really felt 'at home' in the hotel but I can't say specifically why that was.
Some of the staff e.g. the reception staff were pleasant; however, others e.g. breakfast staff were not.
I left the hotel after my stay with the feeling I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive premium room if, like me, you like to have a coffee/tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill-Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jill-Jack

Thank you very much for your words. I am really sorry that we were not able to make you feel at home. Regarding the vending, I will contact the enterprise to take care in the future not to have the same problem. Regardin the safe, we are updating them for security reasons.

We had a party in the hotel but as you mentioned, they were allowed just to reach noon and go after. It happened like that although it was a little bit loud.

I will personally take care of the issues because quality is one of the most important things in our job and make you feel like at home, should be our goal.

Thank you And best regards


Antonio Arnedo
Manager
Tryp Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Tryp Atocha from May 9th-May13th and had a very nice stay. Because is in the city which means it is in walking distance (not even necessary to use the metro) to everything it is noiser to sleep at night (bring a good set of ear plugs if you are sensitive to the street noises as I am). We had the corner room which was quite clean and spacious, the bathroom was wonderfully big for a European room with a nice tub for soaking in at the end of the day. You couldn't ask for more at their complimentary breakfast buffet, a nice way to start your day. Explore the small side streets behind the hotel to find hidden gems. I recommend buying all your drinks from the "alimentacion" because ordering drinks from restaurants or from the mini bar will cost you lots of Euros. Atocha was close to El prado, jardins de botanico, el parque de buen retiro (a must see), el mercado de san miguel, el plaza mayor and the palacio real. Really no no need to take the metro or the city tour buses. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartmovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Iheartmovies:

Thank you very much for your comments. We celebrate that you liked the standards in our rooms and we are very sorry that you have issues with the noises. Our hotel is located near the main touristic attractions of the city.

Thank you very much and best regards.

Antonio Arnedo
Manager
tryp Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel is within easy walking distance of Attocha railway station, Plaza Mayor, Prada Museum & Retiro Park. We had a comfortable clean room on the 4th floor. Our room was at the rear of the building & very quiet. The staff were polite & helpful. We did not eat in the hotel & there were many cafes, restaurants & bars nearby.The only niggle we had was queuing for check in. Only one member of staff on reception - although he did his best it was not the best start after a long journey. Despite this would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CF170209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear CF170209

Thank you very much for your opinion. The hotel is located as you mentioned, in the downtown, near the main tourisitc attractions (Museums Prado, Reina Sofia and Tyssen Bornesmiza 6-10 minutes walking, "Puerta del sol" 8 -10 minutes , "Plaza Mayor" 5-7 minutes, Royal Palace 8-10 minutes.

We try hard to improve our standards and try to offer always the best clean standard in our hotel. Regarding the staff is the heart of our hotel, whitout them we could not get the proper service. We love hearing that we were helpful and polite. Although this we will try to improve our performance looking at check in.

Thank you very much and best regards

Antonio Arnedo
GM
Tryp Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel offered a pleasant surprise. Given its current trip advisor position I had my doubts before arriving (it was recommended to me by the organizers of a business meeting). Turns out it has very friendly staff and my (premium) room was spotless, sufficiently large and did show any signs of aging. The bathroom was well stocked and fully adequate. Also the buffet breakfast was totally OK.

Perhaps on a tourist trip you may consider it slightly boring (there is not much special about it), but on the other hand, it is very conveniently located for tourism, and Madrid is not a city in which you want to spend a lot of time inside your hotel anyway. The Anton Martin metro station is right in front. Lots of good (and bad - just lots of) restaurants are in its direct vicinity. The main museums and other attractions are within a 15 minute walk.

I stayed in this city in much more expensive hotels before, and the conclusion is now that my overall experience of the city wasn't any better when staying in those.

I would definitely consider this again when returning to Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Derob:

Thank you very much for your words. We are very happy knowing your opinion about our staff, it makes us keep on working hard to hear those opinions. Friendly, this is the essence of service. The location of our hotel is very convenience, 8 minutes walking distance to Puerta del Sol and 5 minutes to Plaza Mayor. As well is in the middle of the 3 main museums in Spain (Prado 10 minutes, Reina Sofia 5 minutes, Tyssen Bornesmiza 7 minutes). We are very happy sharing our knowledge about the city, next time if you have time, please contact us to tell you some seecrets about the city and some places to visit (ask for our special routes in reception, made by our staf with heart ¡¡¡) for sure you will change the perception of the city.

It will be a pleasure to greet you personally next time in Madrid, please come back and let us know

Have a nice week end

Antonio Arnedo
Director
Hotel TRYP Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldes De Malavella
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was a nice stay; staff were attentive, the hotel is really accessible, five minute from Atocha Rail Station. Everything was ready as was required for our presentation, every attendant were very please with the coffe break. I really recommend this venue for business meetings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_TRYP_Atocha, Gerente at Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear David E

Thank you very much for your opinion. It is nice to hear that our team was able to be on site and helpful. I am happy that your business meeting was succesful and everything run perfect, we try to do always or best to guarantee that you only have to take care of your business and we take care of everything.

Thank you to have recommended our hotel and our meeting facilities

Antonio Arnedo
Director
Tryp Madrid Atocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#64 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#122 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#204 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#62 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#76 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#166 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel

Property: Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Address: C/ Atocha 83, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Madrid
#131 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#143 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAY IN THE HEART OF IT ALL Feel the soul-stirring passion of one of the most exotic European capitals from our TRYP Madrid Atocha hotel. Located in the historical heart of the city, called "barrio de las letras", you can walk to world-class museums, delicious tapas bars, chic shops and exciting night life from our Madrid hotel near Puerta del Sol. Let our staff fill you in on the best the city has to offer. Our 20th-century Madrid hotel retains its original architectural detail and beauty. From laundry and room service to satellite TV and in-room minibars, our hotel offers all the perks you need to chill out in style. We offer sleek guest rooms, family suites with bunk beds and fitness rooms with workout equipment. Kick off your morning with a premium breakfastbuffet, then check email using high speed internet. Feel refreshed with a drink in our lounge and savor tasty bites in our snack bar. IMMERSE YOURSELF IN CULTURE Visit the world-famous Museo del Prado, home to the largest collection of Spanish paintings by masters like El Greco, Goya and Velazquez. Stroll down Huertas Street and discover some masterpieces from 16th century Spanish literature only steps from the hotel. For modern art, see the powerful Picasso anti-war mural, Guernica, at Museo Centro de Arte Reina Sofia or get an eye-popping feast at Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza. Enjoy the green open space at Buen Retiro Park, fullof beautiful sculptures and monuments. Shop the hottest fashions in the Art Deco shopping enclave on Gran Via or dive into the madness of the Sunday market at El Rastro. CONVENIENT AND EXCITING CUISINE AWAITS Do it up Madrid-style and hop from one tapas bar to another, soaking up the vivid colors and the intoxicating aromas in the Ventura de la Vega and Plaza de Santa Ana areas.For clubbing into the wee hours, dance to live music at the funky El Junco or feel the raw passion of flamenco at Casa Patas. ALWAYS READY FOR BUSINESS Our hotel in Madrid offers meeting space for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Melia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Atocha Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Atocha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing