We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP CLASS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Abadia Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Abadia Madrid
Ranked #30 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
2 reviews
“TOP CLASS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We got a free upgrade to a room with a private bathroom because of our early reservation. This is the best location for a hostel. We had the luxury of a hotel and the price of a hostel. We loved out stay here. I would recommend eceryone with every price to stay there. You are near a lot of plazas and restaurants. We even visited Santiago Bernabeu stadion of Real Madrid, really worth the walk!! Don't hasitate, book this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmalynn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    166
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
126
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Chose this Hostal for it's location and glad we did, walked to most of the major sites.
Room was very modern and very clean!!! Great bathroom, flatscreen tv,
better than some 3* hotels I've been too!
Wi-Fi available in the room which was a help. Got lot of information from reception.
Breakfast was available downstairs lovely girls who do the job!
thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: All are up to standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trave_lady_bird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I chose Hostal Abadia based on location and my limited budget and was very surprised at how pleasing my accommodation was; I had a lovely decorated room, nicer than some hotels that I have stayed in, with a flat-screen TV, electronic safe and a great wi-fi connection, and despite the central location it was very quiet. The reception staff on both days were extremely helpful and polite and most importantly for me as a solo traveller, I felt very safe and secure there. Would definately recommend to those who like a hotel but don't have the budget and will definately use Hostal Abadia on my next stay in Madrid. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baparella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I must admit I was slightly apprehensive about staying here due to the low price. However I was extremely happy with my stay! I booked a single room and was given a lovely modern room with a comfortable double bed. The room and ensuite were very clean, and a safe and flat screen TV were provided. The hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of all the major attractions, and very close to the plaza major. It is also within walking distance of Atocha train station. The staff all spoke english and were very helpful. There was a fair selection at breakfast for the price; toast, pastries, cereals, fruit. Unfortunately the coffee was not up to much. As previously said, the wifi has a very weak signal. I had to sit outside my room in the hallway to get one. Other than this I couldn't fault this hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manic_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We had actually booked a room at "Hostal Martin" in Madrid but were taken across the street to this place instead. Our room (3 beds) was clean and comfy with a nice view and a great shower. Laundry facilities were available which was much appreciated. The location was great and the staff was incredibly friendly. The only real downside was very poor wi-fi reception in basically any part of the room (or even the hallway outside the room) unless you were standing in a specific corner. I know I was on vacation and browsing the Internet shouldn't be my main priority, but there were times that I needed to check up on work emails, buy tickets to attractions, confirm train tickets and hotel reservations, etc. and the bad wi-fi was a real pain. Overall though, a great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby_soulsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a really great, very clean hostal right in the middle of Old Madrid - right where you want to be. We were on the 4th floor and had great views over the city. All the major sights are within walking distance and there is a great selection of tabernas and eateries practically on the doorstep. Great breakfast thrown in too. Best you are going to get at that price - we are a couple and had a great stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hostel offers a great price-quality ratio.
The location is great, 5 minutes from Puerta del Sol, but a bit difficult to find. It is located in a regular building and you have to pay attention to the sign at the entrance hall which shows you the hostel's location.
After that it becomes great! The reception if great, with a free computer and wifi in the hostel. There is no language barrier since the receptionists speak English. The hostel has a video surveillance system which helps you feel secure.
The rooms have a nice decoration, they are very clean and modern, equipped with a nice flat-screen TV. The only thing I didnt like was the size of the bed, but since I'm 6'5 that is kind of expected for a hostel. Nevertheless, the beds are very comfortable and clean, so I had a great night sleep. .
The price is good and the quality you get is more than you would expect from a hostel, so definitely go there, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIster P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Persal
Hotel Persal
#126 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Cortezo
Hotel Cortezo
#209 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hostal Sol Square
Hostal Sol Square
#86 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Huertas
Hostal Art Madrid
Hostal Art Madrid
#8 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#23 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Abadia Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Abadia Madrid

Property: Hostal Abadia Madrid
Address: Calle Luis Velez de Guevara 2, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Abadia Madrid 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Abadia Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing