We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to the major museums but”
Review of Hostal Lopez

Hostal Lopez
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Lopez
Ranked #356 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Central to the major museums but”
Reviewed 24 November 2007

We (three adults) stayed in this hostel for three nights. We chose the Lopez because it was very cheap and very very close to the three major museums in Madrid, the Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Bornemisza. It is also right in the centre of many eateries of various standards.
The hostel does not offer breakfast so we walked down to the end of the street to a tapas bar for coffee and hot breakfast, sitting outside as the weather was mild. This restaurant also offers very nice dinners - their duck was to die for. We also tried Indian which was delicious. You have to be choosy with your places though as on our last night the place was a hole.
The hotel itself has reception on the 1st floor and our room was on the third floor with no lift. The stairs are hard to negotiate with luggage expecially the wooden ones. The place is cheap and reflected it. Towels were thin, blankets also. Pillows very uncomfortable. The room was not square and for 3 people too small. Wifi was supposed to be provided in the reception area but did not work well for some guests though it worked for us.
I don't know if this is considered good value for Madrid, and while there is nothing really wrong with the hostel, I think I would pay the extra for a lift and breakfast in another part of town.

  • Liked — Proximity to major museums and restaurants
  • Disliked — No lift, cheap, low quality facilities
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Viscountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    38
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
29
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

We've just returned from a 10-day trip to Madrid and Barcelona. We stayed at Hostal Lopez for our whole trip in Madrid. This hostal is in a great location near Anton Martin metro station, and 10-min walking distance to Atocha Train Station where we took Renfe to Toledo, and in walking distance to Museo del Prado and Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza . Aside from small grocery shop, there's a supermarket "Macardo Anton Martin" near by, across street fromo metro station. Lopez family is nice, but only s. Nuria Lopez (the young lady) can speak English. The room is clean enough and towel is changed every day. Aside from good hot water, there's a central A/C if it's too warm. However, there is no elevator, so we had to climb to the thrid floor (which is on the 4th floor actually, they do not count ground fllor) We got a room on 3rd floor with one window face "Calle Huertas". There're lots of bar along the street around the hostal, so it's a bit noisy at night, but we managed to sleep though. After lots of walking the whole day we could sleep just right after our head touched the pillow.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank I_am_Fira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2007

Nice Hostal and located in a great location. This family-run hostal is and excellent base to explore Madrid. Close to subway and other attractions. Three subway changes from airport but
easy if you don't have heavy bags and the escalators are working in the transfer stations. The owners are very friendly and the daughter speaks English well and is very helpful. I highly recommend this hostel for anyone on a budget but wants a comfortable and safe stay in Madrid. There is a large city market within walking distance and good restaurants and pubs closeby.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Citytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescara
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2007

I stay here for My New Years' Holiday. Good choice. Small, basic and good relationship between price and location. Location is very good, nearby pub, shops, restaurant, metro station and main street as Calle del Prado. Mrs Lopez and her family are friendly, only lack .... is not possible to pay by credit card but only cash ... however ....
I suggest it!!!

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 March 2006

This is a very cute hostel in a lovely area of Madrid. This hostel is very safe and on a street with bars, shops, and restaurants. I stayed at this hostel with my partner. Our room was small, but had all of the necessary ammenities: bathroom, hot water, heat, clean linens, etc. Cleaning staff made our bed and cleaned our room daily. The hostel staff were very nice and happy to help with directions and recommendations for places to visit in the city.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2004

Stayed at Hostal Lopez, Calle de las Huertas 54, for 4 days early June 2004. Small hostal on quiet (in the day) side street. Little noisy at night, but no problem for myself or traveling companion. Safe. Three keys to get you in and family around all the time for added safety (family owned). Clean, had toilet, bidette, shower. One flight up to our rooms. Centrally located, close to 3 major museums. We walked almost everywhere, but did use the metro which is extraordinary. Fast, safe and gets you everywhere for cheaps!!
Rooms looked out over street. Wonderful chocolate shop for breakfast around the corner. Ate around the corner Restaurante La Sanabresa, which has an outstanding menu. Great choices. Neighborhood place, very inexpensive for excellent quality foods and wine. Ate there 3 days as we could not pass up the food or deal!!
City beautiful. No problem with languages, what we could not figure out we worked with hand signs.
Don't pass us this one. They have an internet site and are very professional with reservations, also very inexpensive.

Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2004

We stayed there in April 04. It advertised as having air-conditioning and we expected heating when temp was 3 overnight - no way! We froze for one week, hoping Madrid would warm up. Room was clean, bathroom modern and spotless. Got sick of stairs and using 3 keys every time we came in and out. Wish we'd paid double the EUR 43 for a warm room. Location was very central and laundromat was handy.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bernrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#290 of 436 in Madrid
119 reviews
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#288 of 436 in Madrid
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
Hostal Barrera
Hostal Barrera
#212 of 436 in Madrid
281 reviews
Huertas
DoubleTree by Hilton Madrid-Prado
Huertas
Hostal Bruna
Hostal Bruna
#76 of 404 in Madrid
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lopez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lopez

Property: Hostal Lopez
Address: Calle de las Huertas, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hostal Lopez Madrid
Hostal Lopez Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing