We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but room quality varies”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #123 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

For our second stay in Madrid we decided to try a different hotel. We were only staying one night before catching our flight back home.
We booked under their winter promotion which is very good as it included our breakfast. I must say that the breakfast buffet is very good, the best breakfast we had during this trip in Spain as generally you get a limited continental breakfast in other hotels. Free wi-fi is also a good plus.
As mentioned in other reviews, the location is perfect. You can walk to everything. There is a subway stop just in front (Sevilla). We were coming from the train station so instead of wasting time with a transfer, we got off at Sol and walked (less than 5 minutes).
The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. The reason why I give it only a four-star rating was that room quality seems to vary. Our room was in the back of the hotel (different set of elevators). Those rooms have no windows. Actually there is one small window but it faces inside and other rooms. so you get the noise from other rooms. There is also no curtain, so you get early daylight. The phones in the room don't seem to work. I tried dialling 7 as instructed to get the reception to get the wifi password but I would not get anywhere. Still a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear client.
We thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad that the breakfast and location have been to your liking.
We are working to improve and your words help us to continue working.
We hope to see you at your next visit to Madrid and you can see that we have improved.
Thank you again for your time.
Sincerely.
Carlos López García.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 3,536 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were two couples from Denmark, staying in Hotel Regina in superior double rooms facing the street for 5 days.
The hotel and the rooms were newly renovated, everything was elegant and stylish, the rooms were spacious with new furniture, kingsize beds and a large bathroom. Free AirCon, LCD-TV and Wi-fi and a free safe-box for your most valuable things.
So perfect and so clean - this is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in, and when we return to Madrid again we will certainly be staying at the Hotel Regina.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank erikdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear client.
Your opinion is very important for the hotel, and we, re delighted to know
that your stay with us was satisfactory and memorable.
According with your advisable comments we hope you´ll visit us again.
Thank you for your time , cordially yours.
Carlos López García.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just returned from the fabulous city of Madrid, hotel great, metro Sevilla just outside the hotel, everything within walking distance. Very large spacious, sparkling clean room, super-king size comfy bed. Buffet breakfast excellent but Euro 27.95 for two, so cheaper option next door. Special note if visiting the Palace, bring your passport. Buy the Metro 10 ticket train pass for Euro 12.00 as very good value which can be shared with friends until all 10 tickets used up as a single trip Euro 1.50 each. Train to Airport only Euro 5.00 each. Euro 20.00 per person for the open top city tour bus, get tickets early so that you can hop on and hop off and make the most of the two Routes. If you like good food..... take the train to Principe pio and head to Casa Mingo for roast chicken, chorizo, fajita and home made natural Cider fantastic place with queue’s up the street, the place hasn’t changed in over 200 years. Take the train to Lago (by the lakes) excellent restaurant serving Galician Steak that you BBQ yourself on your table “meat is to die for” an eye opener later as the ladies of the night come out for business!! Take the train to Arquelles for the Cable Car ride and city views. There is just so much to do and see, and a return visit is a necessity. We were lucky enough to have tickets for the final home game at the Santiago Bernabeu and what a celebration it was, highly recommend if interested in football. Excellent bars and clubs dotted about the city. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again. Josie & Paul 17th May 2012

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the front of the hotel, as a very busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear client.
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the amenities and location of the hotel.
We have buffet or cafeteria a la carte breakfast, depending on
the needs of our customers.
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Cordially yours.
Carlos López García.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

my and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at September 2010.
Great location in reasonable price, near the Metro (2 minutes). Rooms are nice. Not fancy but definitely very good and clean!
Staff very polite and nice. Good breakfast.
Definitely we will come back again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Dear clients.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, cleanliness, breakfast and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
Thank you again for your time.
We hope to see you in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards.
Carlos López García.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

As a seasoned traveler it is the first time I found a room (Small) that had everything I needed and cost only Euro 60.00 for a night. The room had a desk, comfortable bed and a shower with warm water & good pressure. Internet is FREE. What else does one need from a good outfit. Keep it up you deserve the good ratings.

Room Tip: Just off RED metro line which is easy to get to from PINK airport metro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZakyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear client.
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the amenities and location of the hotel.
We inform you that we have different room types and different prices
depending on the needs of our customers.
We thank you very much for choosing Regina Hotel.
Cordially yours.
Carlos López García.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

As with real estate, for a big city hotel, it's all about location, and the Regina can't be beat in that category--right opposite the Sevilla Metro stop and a block from the Plaza del Sol. Major museums, lots of restaurants, etc are an easy walk. We stayed there at the beginning and end of a Spain vacation. For our first 4-night stay we had a nice outside room, while at the end (only one night) we were on the interior--less desirable. The service was top notch, rooms were clean, though a bit small by American standards (typical of European hotels). The shower was perhaps the best I've ever experienced. The carpet on the stairs was a bit worn and due for replacement.
For our first stay we booked on-line, and this was pricier than the later room that we booked in person. It is probably worth a phone call to book with a real person. (The staff speak excellent English, but were willing to put up with our pretty basic Spanish.)
For breakfast, I recommend the coffee shop next door over the one in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stars4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear client.
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, cleanliness and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
Thank you again for your time.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely.
Carlos López García.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location in Madrid. Metro station right outside makes for a great spot to see the sites from. The room was very small but well appointed and spotlessly clean. The A/C was a little stuffy at night but liveable. The staff were great! Very helpful with maps, directions, taxi's etc. The lobby bar and breakfast area a great. The coffee, beer/wine prices are very good. I can't say about the restaurant as we didn';t eat there but there semed to be quite a few who did so I wold say it is o.k. I would stay here again when visiting Madrid.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GA_Traveler34877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid and also try our restaurant.
Thank you very much again for choosing Regina Hotel.
Sincerely.
Carlos López García.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#49 of 437 in Madrid
2,710 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#63 of 437 in Madrid
1,741 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#106 of 437 in Madrid
778 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#89 of 437 in Madrid
1,343 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#43 of 437 in Madrid
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £84 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing