We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #123 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay here and were amazed at its great location. It is a 5 minute (max) walk to Puerta del Sol and everything else is close by. Apart from using the hop on hop off bus which leaves directly outside the hotel we did not need to use public transport at all. Following other reviewers' comments we used the airport express bus which cost 5 Euros each and took 20 minutes coming from Terminal 1 and 30 minutes for the return trip due to heavier traffic. It was no more than a 10 minute walk from the bus stop at Plaza de Cibeles to the hotel - so easy and inexpensive - we will definitely use this again next time. We had a bit of trouble locating the stop for the return trip, which is right by the old Post Office building (now Centro Centro Art Centre) on Plaza de Cibeles, but we probably should have checked that out earlier. Look for the yellow bus stop post with the plane on it, just to the right of Centro Centro. The hotel itself was very clean, comfortable and attractive with a spacious room, plenty of wardrobe space, a big bathroom and absolutely enormous bed! Our room (106) had an impressive city view which was lovely to wake up to, but was also quite noisy at night since Madrid seems to wake up at about midnight and party until 5am. We found that closing the window and shutters blocked most of the sound, but next time we will take earplugs as well. We decided we would rather have the view than move to an inner room. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, where there was plenty of choice, including sparkling wine, but we were given a 40% discount card for the restaurant itself, which was otherwise quite expensive. We had drinks and snacks at the little cafe next door which has tables on the pavement. The staff were without exception polite and helpful. Although a few of the furnishings are beginning to look a little tired, all in all this hotel really seems to have got everything right. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have great views but take earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieJ37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast, room and tjr staff.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much for choosing us.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely,
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 3,574 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Regina and LOVED it! The location is absolutely perfect for seeing all the sites of Madrid--just a 3-minute walk to Plaza del Sol, 5 minutes to Plaza Mayor, and there's a Metro stop right outside the door. We were able to easily take the metro from the train station to the hotel without much hassle, and it was much cheaper than taking a taxi. It's also a very safe area--we never felt concerned walking to or from the hotel at night. There's a very nice-looking restaurant connected to the hotel that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, but we didn't eat there.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room itself was beautiful--newly renovated with modern decor, spotlessly clean, and with a large terrace with a table and chairs. (The chocolates on the nightstand were a nice touch!) The room was also very quiet at night, which was a surprise considering it's in the middle of a big city...so we slept great. Plus, the free Wifi worked very well right in our room.

The price was a fantastic value for the quality of hotel and service we received. If we come back to Madrid, we're staying here again!

Room Tip: Request a free balcony upgrade, especially if you're visiting during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
room and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
Hopefully you´ll visit us again.
Best regards.
Carlos López.
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just home from another great holiday in Madrid, staying at the Hotel Regina for the third time. This hotel is very comfortable with excellent facilities, lovely bedrooms and very friendly, helpful staff. So good, we have booked to go back to Hotel Regina in February, only after returning home 2 days ago.

Room Tip: We prefer a front room overlooking Calle Alcala but some people might find it slightly noisier at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear clients,
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, room and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
Thank you again for choosing us.
See you in February to give welcome back.
Sincerely.
Carlos López,
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

great central hotel. room service was lovely, large room and friendly staff. right across the road from a train station. approx a 40 euro taxi from madrid train station, and 40 euros to the airport. we didnt eat at the restaurant but we had room service from the restaurant and it was great! reception was very nice and offered to watch our bags after check out so we could finish up some shopping. standard double room, there were constructions at the hotel (or maybe next door) so our window was blocked by scaffolding but we werent in spain to look out of our hotel room haha! i cant remember our room number but it was at the end of a long hallway and one night we could hear the neighbouring room get home late, however they were very loud so this was more them than a fault with the hotel walls. all in all it was a great hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, room
and the staff.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback and sorry for the inconvenience by noisy.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Cordially yours,
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September based on Tripadvisor reviews. Arrived @ hotel around 11:00 am and were granted an early check in as well as a room upgrade (stayed in room 413); we were also granted a 1 hour late check out free of charge. The room is very nice, spacious and clean; it has a mini bar, a safe as well as complimentary wifi. The location of the hotel is PRIME, few steps to Sevilla station and few meters to Sol Plaza and the center.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there if I visit Madrid again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear client,
Your opinion is very important for the hotel, and we, re delighted to know
that your stay with us was satisfactory and memorable.
According with your advisable comments we hope you´ll visit us again.
Thank you for your time and for recommending u , cordially yours
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I fail to understand why a hotel can dare to ask payment for rooms which are subject to levels of noise unacceptable in a factory. After booking months in advance, my wife and I were allocated a room immediately above a courtyard where jackhammers were blasting away throughout the afternoon and into the evening.

My complaint about the situation was met with polite and immediate movement to a bigger room in a quiet part of the hotel but the question remains as to why guests should be placed in the position of having to complain about such obviously sub-standard accommodation. Why, for instance, wasn't I informed about the fact that work was planned to be going on at the hotel by the hotel when I booked the room?The ill mannered and totally untypical young woman who booked us into 108 neglected to mention the noise problem as well and wasn't in position when I was ready to take her to task.

This is a comfortable and well positioned hotel with a largely pleasant and helpful staff but it does itself no favours by trying to palm off poor accommodation on to its customers. My complaint was dealt with promptly but I shouldn't have had to make it and no one at any point made any attempt to apologise for the poor service I was offered.

Room Tip: Ask where the jackhammers are.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank retiredstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear client.
We are glad that the location and staff have been to your liking.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant and excellent service.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope to give you welcome back and check to see that we have improved.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely.
Carlos López.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I am still shocked by the value this hotel provided. Now knowing what this hotel offers, I would expect this place to be much more expensive.

The location was very convenient to both local attractions and the Metro. Just about everything is in walking distance. The only time we used a train was to get back to the airport.

The hotel and room were both pretty stylish and much to our surprise we had our own private rooftop patio complete with table, chairs and umbrella. The room was very clean and was a decent size. The only downside to this room was the angled ceilings which made it very easy to hit your head. This was still a small price to pay for having the private patio. I am normally pretty brutal when reviewing the comfort of hotel beds and here we slept soundly to the point where we overslept & came close to missing our flight.

The room service menu offered a good variety of well thought out dishes and the food certainly delivered upon our impression of the menu. We never got a chance to eat at the a restaurant downstairs which always seemed busy - an indication to us that they must be doing something right.

The hotel staff was very helpful and I really appreciated the courtesy of offering currency exchange so that were were not stuck with British pounds from the previous leg of our trip.

If I go back to Madrid one day, I wouldn't bother to look for another place to stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure what floor but there are rooms with private patios. Get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear client.
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, room,
and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
Hopefully you´ll visit us again.
Kind regards.
Carlos López.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Ventas
#58 of 441 in Madrid
863 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#148 of 441 in Madrid
759 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#45 of 441 in Madrid
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Madrid
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £63 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing