We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, hotel not great”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #118 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing location, hotel not great”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I think there are 2 very different types of guest here. In the images, the more upgraded rooms look really nice and the reviews seem to rave about them. I got the basic room, and I was hugely disappointed. The walls are so thin you could hear so much noise from other rooms and the hallway. Our tiny window opened up facing another wall with another rooms window right there. The rooms were stiflingly hot - even in April. We requested the air con to be turned on and were told they wouldn't because it wasn't summer.... they did send us fan. The beds were also very dirty.

The basic rooms are VERY basic. No kettle, no niceties really at all, although the bathroom was very nice. And there were no UK TV channels (not that we were in the room much, but it would have been nice).

The location is perfect. A 5 min walk from the airport express bus and a 2min stroll to most of the bars and restaurants.

Luckily we didn't want to spend much time in our room, but if it had been raining or there had been a reason to stay in I honestly think I would have moved hotels.

I would recommend staying here, but definitely only in one of the more deluxe upgraded rooms, which did look very nice. If you can get a room with windows opening in to the street it would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khumpy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear client,
Firstly thank you for your time. We are glad that the south town hotel was to your liking. We work to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service.
I am very sorry for the inconvenience.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely.
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    1,407
    346
    105
    66
See reviews for
605
1,608
241
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A very very good hotel with great value in the heart of Madrid. About 5 min walk to Puerta Del Sol, right across a metro stop. Great views if you have a front window view. They are doing construction and making the rooms more modern. We were fortunate to get a new room which was very clean and looks great! I hope the construction doesn't mean the prices will eventually be higher as I would do this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the clienaliness, room and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

You cannot get much better location than this. The hotel however seems to have been downgraded from **** to *** for a reason. Some rooms seem fairly modern, while some (like ours) are quite old.
Cleaning and beds were good, as well as the restaurant and café. On the negative side, the minibar and safety deposit box didn't work and wasn't repaired during our stay. And being locked out and having to get the room keys reprogrammed three (!) times in six days was quite annoying.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear client,
We are glad that the location, cleanliness and restaurant have been to your liking.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service. Sorry for any inconvenience.
We hope to see you again on your return to Madrid and you verify that we have improved.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous Hotel Regina : We had a lovely clean contemporary room on 6th floor with a big comfortable bed & great
shower, the terrace was an added bonus too! Hotel is in a great location near Puerta del Sol but offered a quiet & relaxing haven & we walked everywhere. We stayed 3 nights & really couldn't have been happier. Free Wifi in the rooms & reception. We took the bus from airport to Plaza de Cibeles cost 5€ & then a short walk to the hotel! Loved a Starbucks being so close for daily coffees too! Would we stay again or recommend? Absolutely!
Book you won't be disappointed!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear client,
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the room, cleanliness and location of the hotel.
we thank you very much for your feedback.
Cordially yours,
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel with some friends from Dubai and really enjoyed it. The location is amazing, right in the heart of Madrid, well connected by public transport with Puerta del Sol, a stones throw away. The hub of Madrid, its hustle and bustle and then the silence of this beautiful hotel with their friendly staff. Food from room service comes in a jiffy. Excellent place and highly recommended,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NituChugani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear client,
Your opinion is very important for the hotel, and we, re delighted to know
that your stay with us was satisfactory and memorable.
According with your advisable comments we hope you´ll visit us again.
Thank you for your time and for recommending us.
Best regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel was easy to find, just a few yards from the metro. The reception staff were very helpful. Our room on the fourth floor overlooked the main road, but there was no problem with noise. The room itself was very big with a separate area as a sitting room. The restaurant was good value for the set menu. Altogether a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Williams_Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear clients,
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, room, restaurant and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
we hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and experienced the best customer service we experienced during our two week trip in Spain. Not only does this hotel have a great location, but it is also super clean, comfortable and offers great customer services. Valentin, Carmen, Maria and Fernando helped us with all our tours and restaurant reservations as well as gave us excellent recommendations and directions. We truly had an awesome experience. THANK YOU.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
service and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much for recommending us.
Hopefully you´ll visit us again.
Kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#40 of 436 in Madrid
2,492 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,676 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,590 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 436 in Madrid
2,939 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#89 of 436 in Madrid
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing