We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #112 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here with friends celebrating my 50th birthday and could'nt have made a better choice, fantastic location, pre booked a superior room via e mail for around 15 euros per day which was well worth it as it had two small balconies and totally re furbed, friends stayed in an original room and the difference was night and day.Got a good offer of breakfast at the hotel and decided to give it a try, have to say, it was worth the money, especially if you like a leisurely breakfast, good range of food and plenty of champagne to wash it down with.
Hotel staff were nice enough,not over friendly but very efficient and i would definitely be glad to come back to Regina the next time i'm in the beautiful city of madrid.

Room Tip: Enquire about a refurbished room, all different layout but very smart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinwine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the room, breakfast
and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    1,379
    342
    105
    62
See reviews for
599
1,582
237
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I think there are 2 very different types of guest here. In the images, the more upgraded rooms look really nice and the reviews seem to rave about them. I got the basic room, and I was hugely disappointed. The walls are so thin you could hear so much noise from other rooms and the hallway. Our tiny window opened up facing another wall with another rooms window right there. The rooms were stiflingly hot - even in April. We requested the air con to be turned on and were told they wouldn't because it wasn't summer.... they did send us fan. The beds were also very dirty.

The basic rooms are VERY basic. No kettle, no niceties really at all, although the bathroom was very nice. And there were no UK TV channels (not that we were in the room much, but it would have been nice).

The location is perfect. A 5 min walk from the airport express bus and a 2min stroll to most of the bars and restaurants.

Luckily we didn't want to spend much time in our room, but if it had been raining or there had been a reason to stay in I honestly think I would have moved hotels.

I would recommend staying here, but definitely only in one of the more deluxe upgraded rooms, which did look very nice. If you can get a room with windows opening in to the street it would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khumpy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear client,
Firstly thank you for your time. We are glad that the south town hotel was to your liking. We work to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service.
I am very sorry for the inconvenience.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely.
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

A very very good hotel with great value in the heart of Madrid. About 5 min walk to Puerta Del Sol, right across a metro stop. Great views if you have a front window view. They are doing construction and making the rooms more modern. We were fortunate to get a new room which was very clean and looks great! I hope the construction doesn't mean the prices will eventually be higher as I would do this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the clienaliness, room and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

You cannot get much better location than this. The hotel however seems to have been downgraded from **** to *** for a reason. Some rooms seem fairly modern, while some (like ours) are quite old.
Cleaning and beds were good, as well as the restaurant and café. On the negative side, the minibar and safety deposit box didn't work and wasn't repaired during our stay. And being locked out and having to get the room keys reprogrammed three (!) times in six days was quite annoying.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear client,
We are glad that the location, cleanliness and restaurant have been to your liking.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service. Sorry for any inconvenience.
We hope to see you again on your return to Madrid and you verify that we have improved.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Fabulous Hotel Regina : We had a lovely clean contemporary room on 6th floor with a big comfortable bed & great
shower, the terrace was an added bonus too! Hotel is in a great location near Puerta del Sol but offered a quiet & relaxing haven & we walked everywhere. We stayed 3 nights & really couldn't have been happier. Free Wifi in the rooms & reception. We took the bus from airport to Plaza de Cibeles cost 5€ & then a short walk to the hotel! Loved a Starbucks being so close for daily coffees too! Would we stay again or recommend? Absolutely!
Book you won't be disappointed!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear client,
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service as well as the room, cleanliness and location of the hotel.
we thank you very much for your feedback.
Cordially yours,
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel with some friends from Dubai and really enjoyed it. The location is amazing, right in the heart of Madrid, well connected by public transport with Puerta del Sol, a stones throw away. The hub of Madrid, its hustle and bustle and then the silence of this beautiful hotel with their friendly staff. Food from room service comes in a jiffy. Excellent place and highly recommended,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NituChugani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear client,
Your opinion is very important for the hotel, and we, re delighted to know
that your stay with us was satisfactory and memorable.
According with your advisable comments we hope you´ll visit us again.
Thank you for your time and for recommending us.
Best regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel was easy to find, just a few yards from the metro. The reception staff were very helpful. Our room on the fourth floor overlooked the main road, but there was no problem with noise. The room itself was very big with a separate area as a sitting room. The restaurant was good value for the set menu. Altogether a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Williams_Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear clients,
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our
hotel. Your feedback about location, room, restaurant and treatment is the
best incentive, not only for the management, but also for the hotel staff:
our most important purpose is making of your stay an unforgettable
experience.
we hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing