We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #120 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Very good and comfortable clean hotel. Well situated for the best areas in Madrid. Excellent breakfasts and comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again. Rooms at tag front jay get noisy, but bring earplugs and experience the great views.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
Hopefully you´ll visit us again.
Cordially yours
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,536
    1,417
    347
    107
    68
See reviews for
611
1,621
241
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we were a group of 3 friends, we stayed for 4 nights in 3 rooms. The first impression wasn't great. we came to the hotel after a night flight, very titerd and anxious to unpack, take a shower and rest for a while. we were disspointed that the rooms wernt ready but we did not complain, since it was only noon. We were promised that the rooms will be available at 13:30, so we went out and came back at 15:00, to our surprise the rooms were still not ready. Now we got rather upset, but it did not impress the polite, but quite indiferent recetionist. After more than anothe half an hour we finnaly recived the keys to our rooms. You can imagen the surprise of one of us had upon opening he room and finding a strange man alredy in the room!!!!
After all that we finally got to our rooms, and from than on we had a very good expirience. The rooms were very small, but as we we all were single occupancy it didnt realy matter. I assume that this particular room type were meant just for single occupancy, since the bathroom is not physicly separeted from the bedroom (its separated with a glass division and no door). The room is very nicely decorated ,modern, new, and clean. We were out most of the day, but whenever we came back the room was clean and in perfect order.
The brakefast buffet was very rich and assorted with a very good coffee, good atentive servicein a pleasent atmosphere.

Overall a very good hotel, full value for its price. Very well situated, within walking distance to Puerta del Sol, Museo del Prado and many other atractions. I highly recomend it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikereshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear clients,
We're glad you have had a pleasant stay with us.
Thanks for your comments and sorry for any inconvenience upon check-in.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Regina for three nights. We were extremely pleased and did not encounter a single problem - in fact we can only rave about it! Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and checked in with ease (the desk staff were able to speak English, which is fortunate as we only know only a few basic Spanish words!). The hotel is located within the heart of the city and only a short walk of Puerto del Sol but also far away from the throng of the "people" congestion of Puerto del Sol. It is also within easy reach of many other Madrid attractions and only a short walk to the "Expres Aeropuerto" bus stop at Pza. de Cibeles. We booked Bed & Breakfast and thought the breakfast buffet selection was good, fresh and had a plentiful choice of hot and cold buffet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel at the very end of our lengthy European holiday and it was the worst hotel we stayed in.
We had booked 4 nights in one of the nicer Superior rooms (the hotel has a new refurbished section - Superior - and an older section - Standard). At first glance our room was lovely, modern, clean and we were happy.

Day 1: that evening we realised our aircon wasn't working. it was at least 40 degrees Celsius outside during that day. Someone came to examine the aircon, who assured us it was going to work (and it appeared to initially). At about 12-1am we awoke in a humid sweat unable to breathe. Front desk told us that there were no other rooms to change to but we could sleep in a standard room if we wished. We traipsed all the way across the hotel to the standard section to a horrible small, dirty room, but at least it had airconditioning. To this day, we have still not been refunded the difference in price between the two rooms.

day 2: we were assured that morning that either the aircon would be fixed, or we could be moved to another room and to pack up our belongings in case they had to move us. we arrived back that afternoon from a day of siteseeing to find we were still in the same room. assuming the aircon had been fixed we went out to dinner. Arriving home at 11pm, we discovered the room was like a sauna again. We had words with the front desk who advised us that we couldnt be moved to another room. They gave us fans instead which barely did anything. Yet another sleepless night.

day 3: After much complaint again at front reception, we were offered a refund for night 2, and we were able to be moved to a different room, which was actually MUCH larger than our original room and where the aircon was working. we spent the next two nights here.

My issues are that a) the staff didnt seem bothered to fix the situation at all on day 1 or day2 and in fact I wonder if this is a regular occurrence. b) there was very little communication from the staff, and I dont understand why if there was a room we could have been moved to earlier, why that didnt happen.
b) We had to demand a refund for night 2 instead of it being offered to us to appease the situation.

Good luck if you stay here. Its 50/50 whether you would have a good stay or not. Dont expect nice caring friendly staff either.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room however it may or may not have working aircon. good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olivedarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear client,
Firstly I apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We work daily to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay.
Of course I take note of what happened in staying with us in July 2013 to solve the problem.
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid and check to see that we have improved.
Thnak you for your time.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent location for all of central Madrid, just a few minutes walk from Puerto del Sol square and metro stations. Reception staff well trained and able to arrange things quickly in English. We were a party of 4 husbands over 60 let loose by our wives who were going to Amsterdam. Bedrooms tended to small size at the rear of the hotel and were quite warm (outside temp reaching 27C) and aircon not very effective. We opted for the 9.99euro buffet breakfast which was excellent and on our second night the residents special 22 euro dinner which was exceptional value including an unadvertised aperitif dish, plus 3 courses and a bottle of local wine. Service was great and the quality of the food outstanding. Highly recommended as a central hotel in Madrid - I will be back (with my wife!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianlbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear client,
It,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the service, restaurant, breakfasta, staff and location of the hotel.
We thank you very much for your feedback anf for recommending us.
Cordially yours,
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Arriving at the hotel the location was breathtaking. I could not wait to see the rooms of which I have seen photos of. I was indeed shocked but not in a good way. room 5 floor E. It was appalling to say the least. As soon as I walked through the door the stench of smoke hit me like a hammer, I opened the window to allow in air but was greeted with the sight of an empty courtyard filled with building rubble. I returned to the reception to ask if it was possible to have a room that did not smell like a smoking cubicle but I was addressed as if I was a begger off the street and not as a customer. I will never return and will never advise anyone to stay here. Perhaps if you book the most expensive rooms in the hotel you might have a pleasant stay but forget about the more affordable rooms.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear client,
Very sorry for any inconvenience.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay.
Apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to welcome you again and verify that we have improved.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge,MD
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I did enjoy my stay here, and the location 3 mins from Puerto del Sol square is very convenient. I was surprised to learn that the A/C was"not on yet" despite the fact that my room was warm due to great April weather and that we had a southern exposure room. They did provide a very nice fan, but it was mildly uncomfortable at times when we came back to the room. If you are a person that can not tolerate heat, take this into account.

Note that the hair dryer is very weak. Its one of the ones you sometimes see in hotels with a hose attached to a wall unit. If you are a woman with thick hair, it will take a very long time to dry it.

The concierge was very helpful and patient. He helped us and took his time, so be prepared to wait for him if someone is ahead of you - I am glad we waited.
A minor point for the hotel, if they read this review: your hotel is very nice, but you should replace the runner in the stairway. It is threadbare and looks like something in a ratty hotel. Doesn't hurt my stay, just looks bad on you.

Room Tip: room off the main street is quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy8244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear client,
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel.
We are working to improve and consguir that our customers have
a pleasant stay and excellent service.
Sorry for the inconvenience and of course we hope welcome you
again in your next visit to Madrid.
Thank you for your time.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#41 of 435 in Madrid
2,552 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 435 in Madrid
1,692 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 435 in Madrid
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,975 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,784 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#104 of 435 in Madrid
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing