We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location!”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #122 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing Location!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for a week. Amazing location, across the street from the main subway and within a short walking distance to Puerta del Sol (great plaza for shopping, sight seeing and late night drinking with a bottle of wine!)
Great choice! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoanaObregonMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear client,
We thank you very much for your feedback and of course if you wish
to visit us again we´ll be delighted to welcome you.
Thank you again for your time
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    1,424
    348
    109
    69
See reviews for
617
1,632
242
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Arrived to the hotel in the morning after a long flight from the U.S. Hotel staff was very friendly and let us leave our bags until our room was ready as well as directing us to local fares and a parade that would be occurring within the hour. The location of this hotel is very central and is within walking distance of most of the city but there is a metro station (Seville estacion) a few steps outside the door and the center plaza (Puerta del Sol) is just a few minutes (~5 min) walk. We found it easier and faster to walk to the Puerta del Sol to catch Metro and trains rather than the Seville since we normally would have to take Seville to Sol station anyhow. The Sol station also is a main hub for out of town trains as well so it is very convenient-even with a too-heavy backpack.

The rooms at Hotel Regina were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious though we only had it once since our tours began very early so we hit Starbucks for a jamon (ham) croissant and zumo de n'aranja (fresh squeezed orange juice-best thing ever! highly recommend) before setting out for the day. We walked most places with just a little planning and most everything was within 20-30 minutes walking. However, if you decide to go to the futbol stadium, it is too far so take the bus or metro as recommended by the concierge-it took well over an hour to walk the 4-5 miles to the stadium.

Our concierge, Ricardo, was very helpful and friendly! He speaks great English and gives great direction. I even corresponded with him in advance of our stay via email and he was most helpful. Our room was on the interior so we did not have any problems with noise, though we honestly were so exhausted that we slept hard. We took a few days to visit Granada and then returned to Madrid to stay again at the Hotel Regina and the hotel let us leave our extra bags (souvenirs, etc.) at the hotel for a few days until we returned. Not every hotel would do this and it was so wonderful to not have to lug around our extra bags. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Regina and would stay there again myself when I revisit lovely Madrid.

Room Tip: request a renovated room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcaudillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear client,
Your opinion is very important for the hotel, and we, re delighted to know
that your stay with us was satisfactory and memorable.
According with your advisable comments we hope you´ll visit us again.
Thank you for your time , cordially yours
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here with a friend for a weekend away.

The hotel is in a great, but not noisy location in the centre.

There is a metro station diagonally across to the right of the hotel (stop is called Vodafone Sol, albeit that at the airport it might be referred to as Puerta del Sol).

We stayed in room 244 which had a window over an inside court which was not pretty, but also didn't get the sun, which made the room cooler so that in the night the aircon was not required.
Room looked like it has recently been decorated. Nice wooden floor, two single beds that can also be a double. Great bathroom with shower, bidet and toilet, all looked brand new.
The room was spotlessly clean and toiletries provided as well as a lot of towels.

Free wifi is included in the nightly rate and the wifi connection was reliable enough to make voice over IP calls back home with.

Breakfast was only €9.95 per person and the choice was great. Hotdog sausages, cereals, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, pain au chocolat, baguette, white / brown bread, cheese, ham etc. An excellent choice.
There was even Brut Sparkling Wine for breakfast.

Everything is close by. Opposite the hotel through the alley opposite the hotel you'll find an ONeills pub (http://www.oneills.es/) which was great.
Tapa Tapa is one of the many tapas bars, close to Plaza Mayor with great people watching from one of the tables outside.

Next to the hotel to the right is a Starbucks Coffee. The stop for the hop off / hop on bus is also not far from here.

Taxi back to the airport is €30 fixed price. The metro is €10 but you need to change line twice.

All in all an excellent hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you're not bothered about a view, but want a cool room without a need for the aircon on durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebigtrip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear client,
Thank you for your comments. It,s very important for us to know the
opinion of our clients, mainly when the experience has been so positive,
We hope to see you again.
Thank you again for recommeding us.
kind regards,
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is very well located at the city centre close to the major sights, shopping malls and dining outlets. It is easily accessible from the airport by the Yellow Airport Bus which takes you to a stop within 10 minutes' walk from the hotel. A metro station is also right at the front of the hotel.

The hotel has indeed been recently renovated. But rooms even in the same category could be of different sizes and standards of provisions, so it's advisable to check the room first and ensure you are happy before moving in. The reception staff are generally helpful and accommodating and offer good advice for getting around and for dining options.

The hotel serves an excellent breakfast with good choice of cooked food, fresh fruits and juices, including even the offer of white wine, and all this for just EURO 10 pp, which is extremely good value.

As said, the hotel's close proximity to public transport, sights and centre of activities is its big selling point, and room charges are very reasonable for what one gets. Would highly recommend it to those who care about value for money..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Customer.
We appreciate the description of your experience at the hotel.
Your comments about our location, service, breakfast, quality and price
are the best reward and incentive to continue making our guests stay an experience
unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

First off ,the photos and reviews are a bit misleading. The very first photo is not of the hotel but a building across the street. It seems that the hotel has renovated some rooms but not all. We were expecting the ones in the photos and did not get anything like that. Our rooms were old, a bit dingy and below average, so be careful, ask for the renovated ones! The hall and stair carpets were old, dirty and very worn. The bathrooms were large and clean. The staff spoke English and were not friendly but helpful. The internet service here is horrible!! In the rooms and in the halls/walkways and lobby. Up then down constantly. The location is fantastic! Close to shops, sites and restaurants.....and the main reason this hotel get 3 bubbles and not 2! If your ok with average then book this, otherwise I would not stay here again until the hotel is completely renovated!.

Room Tip: Wi fi does not work!! Ask for only renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark19661966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear client,
We thank you very much for your feedback, we take note
of your recommendations and of course if you wish
to visit us again we´ll be delighted to welcome you.
Thank you and kind regards,
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- excellent hotel for the price we paid
- clean spacious rooms
- clean spacious bathroom
- perfect location, can't get better

Cons:
-There is room for customer service improvement at the front desk

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SamarEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear client,
We thank you very much for the description of your experience in our hotel.
We are working for improve because our most important purpose is
making of your stay an unforgettable experience, we take note of your
recommendations.
We hope to welcome you again,kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here two nights, at the beginning and end of our trip. Both stays were very enjoyable - the front desk staff was helpful and professional (Laura especially went out of her way to help us). Breakfast buffet was generous and had plenty of options, both rooms were pretty large for a major European city and the location was perfect - walkable to all major attractions. Great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevator - when they are busy, people coming and going at all hours can be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheburashka109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear client,
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the staff as well as the room and breakfast.
We thank you very much for your feedback.
Cordially yours,
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#60 of 436 in Madrid
1,708 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,642 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 436 in Madrid
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#91 of 436 in Madrid
1,319 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 436 in Madrid
3,829 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#108 of 436 in Madrid
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing