We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #123 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Regina for 3 nights and were delighted with our stay. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival and found it to be large, modern,clean, very comfortable and very quiet. We had good free wifi access in our room. There was a good buffet selection for breakfast. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of the major tourist attractions. The only time we used public transport, other than from/to the airport, was for a bus journey from outside the hotel to the Bernabeu Stadium at a cost of 3 euros return. We would definitly stay in this hotel if we visit Madrid again and would highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and room.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,519)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 3,521 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location and comfortable hotel for a family of 4. We has everything we needed from a good breakfast buffet at a reasonable price to close proximity to everything we needed to do in Madrid by staying at Hotel Regina. The hotel looks like it has been recently renovated with the exception of the hallways and stairs.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the breakfast and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our stay at Regina hotel was very comfortable. We stayed in an renovated room. The room was well decorated, the mattress was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and there were 2 balconies.

The staff were nice and helpful.

The hotel is very well located.

Unfortunately, the wifi was never working properly. Also, I had requested a top floor months ago with my RSVP. However, when I arrived, they gave us a room on the first floor and said it was all they had left. This was disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Worldtravellermtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the staff and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The one great thing about this hotel is its position, right in the centre of the hotel. The staff are fine except one guy on the reception who is a bit curt but think thats just his way. The rooms are adequate.. Although a single traveller I had booked and paid for a double room as I like a bit of space, however was shown to a very small dark and dingy room which just about fitted the double bed in and looked out onto a brick wall. In fairness I asked to change and was given a better room with more space but think they all look into very small courtyards or wells so you dont get much light in the room and no outlook. The room was modern and well furnished but that was it, pretty basic. They don't have things like tea making facilities or access to ironing boards etc. Breakfast was fine. Its an ok hotel but I wouldn't go overboard.

Room Tip: Higher the better
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important for us.
We are working to improve and of course we take note of your recommendations
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for a week. Amazing location, across the street from the main subway and within a short walking distance to Puerta del Sol (great plaza for shopping, sight seeing and late night drinking with a bottle of wine!)
Great choice! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YoanaObregonMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear client,
We thank you very much for your feedback and of course if you wish
to visit us again we´ll be delighted to welcome you.
Thank you again for your time
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Arrived to the hotel in the morning after a long flight from the U.S. Hotel staff was very friendly and let us leave our bags until our room was ready as well as directing us to local fares and a parade that would be occurring within the hour. The location of this hotel is very central and is within walking distance of most of the city but there is a metro station (Seville estacion) a few steps outside the door and the center plaza (Puerta del Sol) is just a few minutes (~5 min) walk. We found it easier and faster to walk to the Puerta del Sol to catch Metro and trains rather than the Seville since we normally would have to take Seville to Sol station anyhow. The Sol station also is a main hub for out of town trains as well so it is very convenient-even with a too-heavy backpack.

The rooms at Hotel Regina were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious though we only had it once since our tours began very early so we hit Starbucks for a jamon (ham) croissant and zumo de n'aranja (fresh squeezed orange juice-best thing ever! highly recommend) before setting out for the day. We walked most places with just a little planning and most everything was within 20-30 minutes walking. However, if you decide to go to the futbol stadium, it is too far so take the bus or metro as recommended by the concierge-it took well over an hour to walk the 4-5 miles to the stadium.

Our concierge, Ricardo, was very helpful and friendly! He speaks great English and gives great direction. I even corresponded with him in advance of our stay via email and he was most helpful. Our room was on the interior so we did not have any problems with noise, though we honestly were so exhausted that we slept hard. We took a few days to visit Granada and then returned to Madrid to stay again at the Hotel Regina and the hotel let us leave our extra bags (souvenirs, etc.) at the hotel for a few days until we returned. Not every hotel would do this and it was so wonderful to not have to lug around our extra bags. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Regina and would stay there again myself when I revisit lovely Madrid.

Room Tip: request a renovated room in advance
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmcaudillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear client,
Your opinion is very important for the hotel, and we, re delighted to know
that your stay with us was satisfactory and memorable.
According with your advisable comments we hope you´ll visit us again.
Thank you for your time , cordially yours
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here with a friend for a weekend away.

The hotel is in a great, but not noisy location in the centre.

There is a metro station diagonally across to the right of the hotel (stop is called Vodafone Sol, albeit that at the airport it might be referred to as Puerta del Sol).

We stayed in room 244 which had a window over an inside court which was not pretty, but also didn't get the sun, which made the room cooler so that in the night the aircon was not required.
Room looked like it has recently been decorated. Nice wooden floor, two single beds that can also be a double. Great bathroom with shower, bidet and toilet, all looked brand new.
The room was spotlessly clean and toiletries provided as well as a lot of towels.

Free wifi is included in the nightly rate and the wifi connection was reliable enough to make voice over IP calls back home with.

Breakfast was only €9.95 per person and the choice was great. Hotdog sausages, cereals, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, pain au chocolat, baguette, white / brown bread, cheese, ham etc. An excellent choice.
There was even Brut Sparkling Wine for breakfast.

Everything is close by. Opposite the hotel through the alley opposite the hotel you'll find an ONeills pub (http://www.oneills.es/) which was great.
Tapa Tapa is one of the many tapas bars, close to Plaza Mayor with great people watching from one of the tables outside.

Next to the hotel to the right is a Starbucks Coffee. The stop for the hop off / hop on bus is also not far from here.

Taxi back to the airport is €30 fixed price. The metro is €10 but you need to change line twice.

All in all an excellent hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you're not bothered about a view, but want a cool room without a need for the aircon on durin...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebigtrip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear client,
Thank you for your comments. It,s very important for us to know the
opinion of our clients, mainly when the experience has been so positive,
We hope to see you again.
Thank you again for recommeding us.
kind regards,
Carlos López
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#47 of 438 in Madrid
2,649 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#65 of 438 in Madrid
1,728 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 438 in Madrid
3,037 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#86 of 438 in Madrid
1,338 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#103 of 438 in Madrid
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £78 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing