We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #116 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and could not have asked for a better location. The hotel could not locate our booking through Hotelclub but soon had us checked in to an available room. Unfortunately the room was on a lower level facing the street where there was street noise and construction so I would recommend requesting a higher floor.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donmal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Customer,
We are glad that the location of the hotel was to your liking.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Best regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    1,397
    343
    105
    64
See reviews for
603
1,595
237
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

got there early evening , dumped bags and headed out. Great central location next to metro,staff friendly enough when approached, the porter was very helpful with helping with our luggage. Great breakfast in the morning,Hotel kept our cases all day for us while we were touring the city. Headed off to Porto the following day, then to the douro valley for 10 days , Afterwards heading home via 2 day stay in Lisbon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the steaff and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel Regina was our return hotel to Madrid after 41 yrs and it provided an ideal location in central Madrid, close to Puerto del sol, walking distance to Prado and other parks, many excellent restaurants and shopping in the area. The hotel front desk was very helpful and buffet breakfast options were excellent and cost effective. The rooms were clean with good beds and furniture. Would recommend that you check the rooms however as some of them have bathrooms with no doors. Overall a very good experience and great location

Room Tip: good rooms but check before accepting room to make sure bathroom has a door for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and mainly about the attentions and kindness of our staff
during your stay.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we take note of your recommendations.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in the Hotel Regina in Madrid at the end of our 10 day Spain trip. This was by far the most comfortable of all the hotels we stayed in. The air conditioner worked well (not the case in most of the hotels) and the bedding was very comfortable! A welcome surprise at the end of our trip! The location was perfect, right next to a metro stop, near plaza del sol and walking distance from all of the museums and lots of great restaurants and cafes. Unfortunately, I was unable to have breakfast in the hotel as it did not start until 7:30 and I had to catch an airport shuttle at that time. I wish they would have opened breakfast a little early to those waiting on shuttles (there were 10 of us waiting on the shuttle and we could see the buffet was out but they would not let us in) but other than that, it was a nice, clean, comfortable hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank apes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear client,
it,s always nice to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us,
due to the cleanliness and location of the hotel.
we thank you very much for your feedback.
Cordially yours
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Location, Location, Location . . . . . . . . it is the only reason I booked this hotel and the reason I would go back to it.

Being in the Heart of Madrid with access to the Metro outside the front door is fantastic. Walk to the Palacio Real de Madrid, Mercado San Miguel, Plaza Mayor and of course Puerta del Sol and enjoy the other surrounding areas from this hotel.

The room was large, comfortable although a little strange there was no windows, apart from the door out to the Terrace that allowed for limited natural sunlight.

The hotel have installed these very silly safes where instead of using a pin number, you swipe your credit card. It honestly took me 30 swipes to try and open / close the safe each time and just became a real pain.

Also the lifts are tiny and can get 4 people per trip in them, so beware when checking out and allow plenty of time!

I found the service a little lacking in the hotel. I had ordered champagne and fruit for each room on arrival and had to ask for it 90 minutes later on our way out to explore. When we got back, we found warm fruit, warm champagne and a bucket filled with water (melted ice) which they had delivered as soon as we left the room. The service in the bar was slow and the food not up to par.

Would I stay again, yes but only for the location.

Room Tip: Double Attic Rooms with Terrace is nice although no view from the Terrace whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josepha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear client
We are glad that the location of the hotel was to your liking.
We are working to improve and ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay and excellent service, of course we take note of your feedback to improve.
We hope welcome you again in your next visit to Madrid
Sincerely
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Regina for 3 nights and were delighted with our stay. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival and found it to be large, modern,clean, very comfortable and very quiet. We had good free wifi access in our room. There was a good buffet selection for breakfast. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of the major tourist attractions. The only time we used public transport, other than from/to the airport, was for a bus journey from outside the hotel to the Bernabeu Stadium at a cost of 3 euros return. We would definitly stay in this hotel if we visit Madrid again and would highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your comments about the location, cleanliness,
breakfast and room.
It,s very important for us to know our client´s opinion, and of course
we thank very much your feedback.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Madrid.
Kind regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location and comfortable hotel for a family of 4. We has everything we needed from a good breakfast buffet at a reasonable price to close proximity to everything we needed to do in Madrid by staying at Hotel Regina. The hotel looks like it has been recently renovated with the exception of the hallways and stairs.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReginaMadrid, Gerente at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear client,
First of all thank you for your feedback; your opinion is very important .
It,s nice to know that you were so pleased with the breakfast and location of our hotel.
Hopefully you,ll chose again our property in your next visit.
Thank you for your time, warm regards
Carlos López
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#58 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing