We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool modern room and ideal location for a short stay”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #118 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“cool modern room and ideal location for a short stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

we really loved this room. our room was on the small side, but the layout was very cool and it felt very private. the finishings and design were very modern and it felt a lot more expensive than what it was. there was some noise as has been mentioned, but i don't remember it bothering our sleep that much. the location really cannot be beat, especially for when you have limited time and want to take advantage of the city (especially bar and tapas hopping) in a short period of time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skirtandsupersuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosLopezGarcia, Director Comercial at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Customer:

We welcome your comments, which encourages us to continue working to achieve the highest satisfaction of our customers. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely.

Carlos López García
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    1,404
    345
    105
    66
See reviews for
605
1,607
239
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed at Hotel Regina the hotel is extremely perfect. It was just few steps away from the metro station and had 3 minutes walking distance to "Sol".
Breakfast was perfect. There was a restaurant at the hotel and they made us the best chicken toast that we have ever ate. I stayed there for 7 days and everyday I had the toast.
The room had a street view and as the buildings and area was perfect we enjoyed it very much.
As a Madrid lover, I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.
For business, for leisure it was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosLopezGarcia, Director Comercial at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Dear Customer:

We are happy to stay at the Hotel Regina has been to his liking, and the restaurant. It is a pleasure to receive your comments encouraged us to continue working towards providing the best service to our customers. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely.

Carlos López García
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Everything was great, we stayed for 5 nights on a double room, not to big but not too small, the shower is in good condition, roomy with good water pressure, always hot water, tub, hairdryer.
The Hotel is recently remodeled as I could noticed, and it has a modern touch combined with the antique architecture that characterizes Madrid. We stayed on late November early December and the hitting worded good.
Our windows faced toward a inside patio and sometimes you could hear noises coming from other rooms, flushing pipes and thinks like that but really quiet at night. The mattress was slightly uncomfortable, too soft for me and that is why I´m giving 4 points from 5, the sleep is the most important part. BEST LOCATION!! From Metro station across the street, ATM, cafeterias, all kind of restaurants, and a couple of blocks from the Puerta del Sol, Plaza mayor.
The people at the front desk put this hotel at a higher level with their great service and assistance. Definitively We are staying there next time on Madrid.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BASSNJAZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosLopezGarcia, Director Comercial at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Dear Customer:
We greatly appreciate your comments. It helps us to keep working to improve and maximize customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome back on your next visit to Madrid.

incerely.
Carlos López García.
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed at this location in early January.
Pros:
Location, location, location. Only a couple of blocks from "Puerta de Sol".
The staff was very helpful and there are usually 2-3 people at the front desk that can answer any questions you have about where to go, where to eat, etc.
The bathroom was very nice, the only thing missing was a tub but, lol, it was almost as larger as the sleeping room itself.
Room decor was sleek and modern.

Cons:
Room was small (I know, I know.. they are in Europe) but since we reserved a Superior room we expected a bit larger size. Tip, If you do the "superior" then the 2 twin size beds will make a king as opposed to the other option of 1 queen size bed.
The free wi-fi connection in the room totally stunk.
Lastly, a palmetto bug.... yes the type you would see in FL, we saw a huge one in the hallway and had to kill it. This in no way says that the Hotel is dirty, in fact they keep it very clean but we found this to be odd at the least.

OK, I almost forgot, I love pizza, on the last night of our stay we just wanted pizza or something easy to order. The hotel staff pointed us to a pizza joint about 2 blocks away. WOW!!! Seriously, the best pizza we've ever had. The name is "El Trebol". This place is a must if you're a pizza aficionado. Not a tourist trip but a little mom & pop joint.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBears13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosLopezGarcia, Director Comercial at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
Dear Customer:
We greatly appreciate your criticism, which helps us to continue working to achieve our purpose, which is to give our customers the highest satisfaction and excellent service.

Hope to see you back with us on your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely.

Carlos López García
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This is what I expect from a hotel.
We were made fell welcome; the hotel was clean modern and very welcoming.
The rooms contained everything we needed.
Every member of staff from the room staff to the manager on duty was polite and helpful.
This was a hotel well worth the money.
The location was brilliant for getting around.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adew1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosLopezGarcia, Director Comercial at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Dear Customer:
We greatly appreciate your comments and we are glad to know that the hotel has exceeded its expectations, it encourages us to continue working so that our customers are satisfied.
We wait for your next visit to Madrid.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely.

Carlos López García
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed at Hotel Regina for 2 nights. Right off the Sevilla train station exit. I was surprised at the good quality of the rooms for 59 euros a night. Clean, and comfortable rooms. Although a light sleeper might find noise a bit annoying;, the walls don't do a great job of blocking out guests talking in the hallways. It didn't bother us that much as we had a room more into the middle of our floor away from the street. The water pressure in the room was very good and made for a great shower. The location is also very ideal, as most places are within walking distance or just a train ride away, so it doesn't matter where you stay in Madrid. The currency exchange rate this hotel offers is terrible. Just walk outside and trade at one of the many banks for much better rate at no commission. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to my friends and would stay here again for this price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbd814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosLopezGarcia, Director Comercial at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Dear Customer:
We greatly appreciate your comments.
I regret that it had noise in his room and not the exchange rate of the hotel was not good.
We are working to improve and try to make our customers have a pleasant stay and good service.

We await you in your next visit to Madrid.

Sincerely.

Carlos López García.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The room was very comfortable with a huge bed and a plenty of space. The bathroom was very clean.
The hotel is in a excellent location for attractions. The staff was very helpful and gave us a list of their recommended restaurants
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in an excellent location

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtis6677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosLopezGarcia, Director Comercial at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 March 2011
Dear Customer:
Thank you very much for your comment, which helps us to improve and try to be of the best hotels in downtown Madrid in our category.
We hope to see you soon in his return to Madrid.

Sincerely.

Carlos López García
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
2,478 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,672 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,587 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 436 in Madrid
2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: 19 Alcala Street, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#63 Family Hotel in Madrid
#93 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regina has a superb location in the heart of Madrid, next to the famous Puerta del Sol and in front of the Sevilla metro station. It has a rich buffet breakfast, and free Wi-Fi access. The hotel offers a variety of modern and stylish rooms with air conditioning, pay TV and satellite TV, large work desk and private bathroom with free toiletries. The Restaurant Amayra serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared with seasonal, local ingredients. The restaurant also has a wine cellar featuring over 60 international wines. Hotel Regina is ideally located for visiting Madrid's most popular sights. The Prado and Thyssen museums are a short walk away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing