We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,166)
Filter reviews
3,166 results
Traveller rating
1,725
1,196
165
46
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,725
1,196
165
46
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerta del sol great location rick steves people watching outdoor cafe street performers plaza mayor central location within walking distance royal palace interior room sol metro station balcony overlooking light sleeper inner courtyard department store quiet room
Filter
Updating list...
1,749 - 1,754 of 3,166 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I read about the Hotel Europa in searching Madrid hotels on Trip Advisor, and it sounded perfect. It was! We requested a superior room with a balcony, and when we checked in and were shown to our room, it was a large room on the top floor with TWO balconies- one overlooking the Puerta del Sol! The view was amazing- we sat out on the balcony in the evenings and “people-watched” for hours. The doors to the balconies were very well insulated- we had absolutely NO problem with noise (and I’m a light sleeper). The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. We chose to add the “breakfast included” option to our reservation, and it was very convenient to just take the elevator downstairs for some churros and coffee. We loved the outdoor section of the hotel restaurant- it is not directly on Puerta del Sol, so we did not find it to be “noisy” or “touristy”, as others have stated in their reviews. I’m not sure what people who have complained about the location of the hotel wanted. We are not young “party people"- we’re in our 60’s, but wanted to experience and enjoy life in Madrid, and we were able to do that by staying at the Hotel Europa.

Room Tip: superior room (has a balcony) on a high floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTasmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We started our Spain trip here in Madrid for 3 nights. The Hotel Europa is in a fantastic location, in the middle of all the attractions and night life. Our check in was very smooth and the bellman was friendly and showed us everything we needed in our room. English speaking was very welcome when getting used to a new country while jet lagged. We had a double room, very nice with a sizeable bathroom and good shower pressure. The only down sides were that the water didn't get very hot and the beds were very hard. Our room overlooked part of the plaza, great entertainment viewpoint. The english breakfast was delicious, worth every euro to get us started off right for long days of walking. The server in the cafeteria was a little grumpy but very efficient. Overall, a great value for the location and comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Hotel Europa is located on the Puerto del Sol, the center of Madrid's downtown zone. The staff are competent, helpful and efficient, and it is only a short walk from the hotel to Madrid's major sites, including the Prado and the ancient Royal Palace. Our room faced the main square, and was quite noisy at night, almost all night long, during our three day stay. The rooms on the back of the hotel, having far less interesting views, probably are much quieter being located away from the dim. So it is a trade off for hotel residents between watching the endless street theatre in the plaza or far less excitement on the other side of this facility. Either way, the hotel staff are very well trained and guests will receive good value for their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Hotel Europa is a nicely run establishment, spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful staff, and central location. Most people seem to love the location, but we would not stay there again because we felt like we were in the middle of a carnival day and night. The Puerta del sol is teeming with people, tourists, locals, street performers. The noise was crazy although the hotel gave us an extremely quiet room at our request. So, no complaints about the hotel, just the wrong location for folks who want to be in a quieter neighborhood.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Spent the first 3 nights of our trip here and our last. Vibrant city (has become our favorite European city surpassing even Paris). This hotel is perfectly situated on the Plaza del Sol in the epicenter of the city. Prado in one direction, Plaza Mayor in the opposite. Clean, comfortable rooms, quiet sleeping. Not over the top fancy or "North American-ized" but lovely all the same. Had a late afternoon drink outside. Will come back here for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews