We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,118)
Filter reviews
3,118 results
Traveller rating
1,695
1,181
164
44
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,695
1,181
164
44
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspuerta del solgreat locationrick stevespeople watchingoutdoor cafestreet performersplaza mayorcentral locationwithin walking distanceinterior roomroyal palacesol metro stationbalcony overlookinglight sleeperinner courtyarddepartment storequiet room
Filter
Updating list...
1,713 - 1,718 of 3,118 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're going to Madrid to be in the action, this is exactly where you want to be. It's literally ON the square, in the middle of the city, You're surrounded by shopping, dining (though try the attached place--it's pretty good) and people. You're 5-7 min walk from tons of tapas bars, Plaza Santa Ana, etc. Prado is 10 min to the left and Palacio Real is 10 min to the right. If you want to go out of the city the main Metro is right outside the hotel.
Inside, the hotel is nice and upscale, with nicely sized (clean) rooms and any amenity you need. We were traveling with another couple and were put at the end of a corridor so we had our own little hallway for ourselves. The staff speak great English. And the price was just great.
We had rooms on the inside to prevent noise (believe me, Madrid parties till dawn even on weekdays) but the balconies to the square looked fun. Choose your priority there.
Stay here! It was one of the best values of our trip.

Room Tip: Inside is quieter, outside has a great view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Europa is just steps away from Puerta del Sol -- exactly where you want to be located. That said, it can be noisy. But if you close your windows, you're set for a good night's rest. It's an easy walking distance from both the Prado and the Royal Palace. Wood floors (don't they always feel cleaner than carpeting?), nice hard mattresses. We recommend highly and would return.

Room Tip: Ii recommend a front room ( you can close the windows if it's too noisy), but if you want you windows open, it's best to book away from the street. I did not look at those rooms, thou. Restaurant is mediocre. I'd recommend you go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I read about the Hotel Europa in searching Madrid hotels on Trip Advisor, and it sounded perfect. It was! We requested a superior room with a balcony, and when we checked in and were shown to our room, it was a large room on the top floor with TWO balconies- one overlooking the Puerta del Sol! The view was amazing- we sat out on the balcony in the evenings and “people-watched” for hours. The doors to the balconies were very well insulated- we had absolutely NO problem with noise (and I’m a light sleeper). The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. We chose to add the “breakfast included” option to our reservation, and it was very convenient to just take the elevator downstairs for some churros and coffee. We loved the outdoor section of the hotel restaurant- it is not directly on Puerta del Sol, so we did not find it to be “noisy” or “touristy”, as others have stated in their reviews. I’m not sure what people who have complained about the location of the hotel wanted. We are not young “party people"- we’re in our 60’s, but wanted to experience and enjoy life in Madrid, and we were able to do that by staying at the Hotel Europa.

Room Tip: superior room (has a balcony) on a high floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTasmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We started our Spain trip here in Madrid for 3 nights. The Hotel Europa is in a fantastic location, in the middle of all the attractions and night life. Our check in was very smooth and the bellman was friendly and showed us everything we needed in our room. English speaking was very welcome when getting used to a new country while jet lagged. We had a double room, very nice with a sizeable bathroom and good shower pressure. The only down sides were that the water didn't get very hot and the beds were very hard. Our room overlooked part of the plaza, great entertainment viewpoint. The english breakfast was delicious, worth every euro to get us started off right for long days of walking. The server in the cafeteria was a little grumpy but very efficient. Overall, a great value for the location and comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Hotel Europa is located on the Puerto del Sol, the center of Madrid's downtown zone. The staff are competent, helpful and efficient, and it is only a short walk from the hotel to Madrid's major sites, including the Prado and the ancient Royal Palace. Our room faced the main square, and was quite noisy at night, almost all night long, during our three day stay. The rooms on the back of the hotel, having far less interesting views, probably are much quieter being located away from the dim. So it is a trade off for hotel residents between watching the endless street theatre in the plaza or far less excitement on the other side of this facility. Either way, the hotel staff are very well trained and guests will receive good value for their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews