We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #54 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We just got back from Spain and I wanted say my 3 nights at Hotel Europa were great. The location couldn't be better and the room was nice and very clean. We ate at the cafeteria attached to the hotel every morning and it was very good. We stayed in a room off of the plaza with a balcony and loved watching the people party all night long. Those who sleep lightly might not want to sleep in these rooms, but we had no problem with the noise. Great stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,543 - 1,549 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is *right* off the Puero de Sol. The price is decent and the bathrooms roomy and clean. The rooms themselves are nothing special but how much time will you be spending in the room? I didn't have any of the problems that some here have written about.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Not only is the hotel service clean and impeccable, Madrid is literally at your doorstep. You are right in the middle of the Plaza, with shopping, food and street entertainment outside the front door. Walk to ALL major attractions, and if you want a taxi it is right across the square. We had a balcony view and could see all the crowds and excitement in the street below. But once the windows were closed, heavenly quiet to sleep. We would definitely stay here if ever in Madrid again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good location and near several key destinations like the Prado Museum, Retiro Park, Puerto de Sol (which is full of people especially at night) and Plaza Mayor. Close to metro transportation and several main shopping areas including the Gran Via. There were numerosu good restaurants close by and several flamenco venues within walking distance of the hotel. You cannot ask for a better location if you want to be near a large plaza with lots of restaurants and shops. Somewhat upscale hotel with most amenities. Room was decent size and could accommodate luggage without feeling crowded. Bathroom was excellent and much better than average for a European hotel. We were traveling with our children and asked for adjoining rooms. They were able to accommodate us. Not all hotels will make that effort. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Provided good restaurant suggestions and travel directions. Internet service however was spotty and did not work on our last day there. No iron or ironing board for clothes which I view as a basic offering from most hotels. Did not hear any street noise except for those who yelled. Good value for the price. I would stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're going to Madrid to be in the action, this is exactly where you want to be. It's literally ON the square, in the middle of the city, You're surrounded by shopping, dining (though try the attached place--it's pretty good) and people. You're 5-7 min walk from tons of tapas bars, Plaza Santa Ana, etc. Prado is 10 min to the left and Palacio Real is 10 min to the right. If you want to go out of the city the main Metro is right outside the hotel.
Inside, the hotel is nice and upscale, with nicely sized (clean) rooms and any amenity you need. We were traveling with another couple and were put at the end of a corridor so we had our own little hallway for ourselves. The staff speak great English. And the price was just great.
We had rooms on the inside to prevent noise (believe me, Madrid parties till dawn even on weekdays) but the balconies to the square looked fun. Choose your priority there.
Stay here! It was one of the best values of our trip.

Room Tip: Inside is quieter, outside has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Europa is just steps away from Puerta del Sol -- exactly where you want to be located. That said, it can be noisy. But if you close your windows, you're set for a good night's rest. It's an easy walking distance from both the Prado and the Royal Palace. Wood floors (don't they always feel cleaner than carpeting?), nice hard mattresses. We recommend highly and would return.

Room Tip: Ii recommend a front room ( you can close the windows if it's too noisy), but if you want you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I read about the Hotel Europa in searching Madrid hotels on Trip Advisor, and it sounded perfect. It was! We requested a superior room with a balcony, and when we checked in and were shown to our room, it was a large room on the top floor with TWO balconies- one overlooking the Puerta del Sol! The view was amazing- we sat out on the balcony in the evenings and “people-watched” for hours. The doors to the balconies were very well insulated- we had absolutely NO problem with noise (and I’m a light sleeper). The entire staff was friendly and very helpful. We chose to add the “breakfast included” option to our reservation, and it was very convenient to just take the elevator downstairs for some churros and coffee. We loved the outdoor section of the hotel restaurant- it is not directly on Puerta del Sol, so we did not find it to be “noisy” or “touristy”, as others have stated in their reviews. I’m not sure what people who have complained about the location of the hotel wanted. We are not young “party people"- we’re in our 60’s, but wanted to experience and enjoy life in Madrid, and we were able to do that by staying at the Hotel Europa.

Room Tip: superior room (has a balcony) on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingTasmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#12 of 441 in Madrid
177 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#85 of 441 in Madrid
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#50 of 441 in Madrid
3,199 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £83 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing