We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,252)
Filter reviews
3,252 results
Traveller rating
1,781
1,216
169
49
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,781
1,216
169
49
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerta del sol great location rick steves people watching outdoor cafe street performers central location plaza mayor within walking distance interior room royal palace sol metro station balcony overlooking inner courtyard light sleeper quiet room the hotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,780 - 1,785 of 3,252 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is *right* off the Puero de Sol. The price is decent and the bathrooms roomy and clean. The rooms themselves are nothing special but how much time will you be spending in the room? I didn't have any of the problems that some here have written about.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Not only is the hotel service clean and impeccable, Madrid is literally at your doorstep. You are right in the middle of the Plaza, with shopping, food and street entertainment outside the front door. Walk to ALL major attractions, and if you want a taxi it is right across the square. We had a balcony view and could see all the crowds and excitement in the street below. But once the windows were closed, heavenly quiet to sleep. We would definitely stay here if ever in Madrid again.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good location and near several key destinations like the Prado Museum, Retiro Park, Puerto de Sol (which is full of people especially at night) and Plaza Mayor. Close to metro transportation and several main shopping areas including the Gran Via. There were numerosu good restaurants close by and several flamenco venues within walking distance of the hotel. You cannot ask for a better location if you want to be near a large plaza with lots of restaurants and shops. Somewhat upscale hotel with most amenities. Room was decent size and could accommodate luggage without feeling crowded. Bathroom was excellent and much better than average for a European hotel. We were traveling with our children and asked for adjoining rooms. They were able to accommodate us. Not all hotels will make that effort. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Provided good restaurant suggestions and travel directions. Internet service however was spotty and did not work on our last day there. No iron or ironing board for clothes which I view as a basic offering from most hotels. Did not hear any street noise except for those who yelled. Good value for the price. I would stay here again or recommend it to others.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're going to Madrid to be in the action, this is exactly where you want to be. It's literally ON the square, in the middle of the city, You're surrounded by shopping, dining (though try the attached place--it's pretty good) and people. You're 5-7 min walk from tons of tapas bars, Plaza Santa Ana, etc. Prado is 10 min to the left and Palacio Real is 10 min to the right. If you want to go out of the city the main Metro is right outside the hotel.
Inside, the hotel is nice and upscale, with nicely sized (clean) rooms and any amenity you need. We were traveling with another couple and were put at the end of a corridor so we had our own little hallway for ourselves. The staff speak great English. And the price was just great.
We had rooms on the inside to prevent noise (believe me, Madrid parties till dawn even on weekdays) but the balconies to the square looked fun. Choose your priority there.
Stay here! It was one of the best values of our trip.

Room tip: Inside is quieter, outside has a great view
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel Europa is just steps away from Puerta del Sol -- exactly where you want to be located. That said, it can be noisy. But if you close your windows, you're set for a good night's rest. It's an easy walking distance from both the Prado and the Royal Palace. Wood floors (don't they always feel cleaner than carpeting?), nice hard mattresses. We recommend highly and would return.

Room tip: Ii recommend a front room ( you can close the windows if it's too noisy), but if you want you windows open, it's best to book away from the street. I did not look at those rooms, thou. Restaurant is mediocre. I'd recommend you go elsewhere.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews