We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of the action”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #38 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“In the middle of the action”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Hotel Europa put us right in the middle of the action. Our rooms (we stayed twice) overlooked the Puerta Del Sol, the great open plaza at the hub of several roads, right in the centre of Madrid. We were high enough up to be unaffected by the noise, but we had a great view of the constant buzz of theatrical activity and assemblies in the plaza. We wandered in amongst it several evenings and enjoyed the high-energy, friendly buzz. The hotel's entry is on the side street, the Calle del Carmen, where the hotel offers good outdoor dining at all hours - we used it for breakfast, coffee, early-evening drinks and dinner. It's a great place to sit and watch the passing parade of Madrid's families and young working people promenading in the evening after work and before dinner.
The hotel was built in the 1860s and renovated in 2006. It's clean, well-run and helpful - they were happy to mind our bags while we travelled up-country for a week. The staff didn't have a lot of English (not uncommon in Spain) but they were friendly and we muddled through together. Prices were average for Madrid but the location was unbeatable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    950
    127
    25
    19
See reviews for
598
1,075
186
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is on Puerta del Sol, the center of Madrid. This is a busy plaza with a Metro station for 3 different lines. Location is very convenient for all activities. The plaza is crowded all the time and had frequent noisy demonstrations, so if you are sensitive to noise you might want a room toward the back. The double pane windows shut out most of the noise but some muted noise did come through. It was not enough to keep us awake, but others might be more sensitive. The room was basic, but had everything needed and was perfectly clean. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. Rates are reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the plaza were fun, but ask for one off the plaza if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We just got back from Spain and I wanted say my 3 nights at Hotel Europa were great. The location couldn't be better and the room was nice and very clean. We ate at the cafeteria attached to the hotel every morning and it was very good. We stayed in a room off of the plaza with a balcony and loved watching the people party all night long. Those who sleep lightly might not want to sleep in these rooms, but we had no problem with the noise. Great stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is *right* off the Puero de Sol. The price is decent and the bathrooms roomy and clean. The rooms themselves are nothing special but how much time will you be spending in the room? I didn't have any of the problems that some here have written about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Not only is the hotel service clean and impeccable, Madrid is literally at your doorstep. You are right in the middle of the Plaza, with shopping, food and street entertainment outside the front door. Walk to ALL major attractions, and if you want a taxi it is right across the square. We had a balcony view and could see all the crowds and excitement in the street below. But once the windows were closed, heavenly quiet to sleep. We would definitely stay here if ever in Madrid again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good location and near several key destinations like the Prado Museum, Retiro Park, Puerto de Sol (which is full of people especially at night) and Plaza Mayor. Close to metro transportation and several main shopping areas including the Gran Via. There were numerosu good restaurants close by and several flamenco venues within walking distance of the hotel. You cannot ask for a better location if you want to be near a large plaza with lots of restaurants and shops. Somewhat upscale hotel with most amenities. Room was decent size and could accommodate luggage without feeling crowded. Bathroom was excellent and much better than average for a European hotel. We were traveling with our children and asked for adjoining rooms. They were able to accommodate us. Not all hotels will make that effort. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. Provided good restaurant suggestions and travel directions. Internet service however was spotty and did not work on our last day there. No iron or ironing board for clothes which I view as a basic offering from most hotels. Did not hear any street noise except for those who yelled. Good value for the price. I would stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vdf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're going to Madrid to be in the action, this is exactly where you want to be. It's literally ON the square, in the middle of the city, You're surrounded by shopping, dining (though try the attached place--it's pretty good) and people. You're 5-7 min walk from tons of tapas bars, Plaza Santa Ana, etc. Prado is 10 min to the left and Palacio Real is 10 min to the right. If you want to go out of the city the main Metro is right outside the hotel.
Inside, the hotel is nice and upscale, with nicely sized (clean) rooms and any amenity you need. We were traveling with another couple and were put at the end of a corridor so we had our own little hallway for ourselves. The staff speak great English. And the price was just great.
We had rooms on the inside to prevent noise (believe me, Madrid parties till dawn even on weekdays) but the balconies to the square looked fun. Choose your priority there.
Stay here! It was one of the best values of our trip.

Room Tip: Inside is quieter, outside has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sciarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#59 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#19 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#116 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Mirai, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing