We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Great View”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #46 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our best room in our 2 week trip to Spain. The room and bath was comfortable and the view from our room to the Plaza de Sol was worth the money. The staff were helpful and the cafeteria was helpful as you could charge it to your room. The double beds were ok but hurt my back a bit. The location of this Hotel is second to none. I used the airport shuttle which was 19 euros for two. The tables outside the cafeteria is great for people watching but pricey. Overall, a great experience for my first visit to Madrid.

Room Tip: Get a high level room due to the crowd noise from the Plaza de Sol below. Get a room that has a vie...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jj5724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,656)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a superior room overlooking the Plaza del Sol, which gave us a fabulous view of all the hustle & bustle below. The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions & there is a metro station right outside. Lots of eating places are close by & the restaurant serves a mean Sangria! The staff were very helpful, the rooms were a good size & very clean. I would definitely recommend

Room Tip: One overlooking the Plaza de Sol
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We are a mature couple and have been travelling 11 months; we have stayed in a lot of hotels.
This hotel is very professionally run and the best thing is the location - right on the edge of the Plaza del Sol - the heart of the tourist area. Everything is within easy walking distance from the hotel. Despite being in the middle of it all our room was very quiet at night.
The room was very clean and of a good size. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was also a good size with tons of hot water and plenty of pressure.
The attached bar and restaurant served good food with excellent waiter service.
The front desk staff were helpful.
The WiFi was excellent as well. All in all a great hotel choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. By far, the best aspect of this hotel is its location right on the Puerta del Sol. You have everything you need within a 10-20 minute walk (including the major tourist sites). The rooms are basic, but clean. We had a room overlooking the plaza and enjoyed seeing the demonstrations that seemed to take over the plaza every evening. The room was well insulated and we heard no sounds after going to bed. The metro station is just outside the hotel and it was easy to get to other areas around the city. We did not pay for the breakfast option since it seemed a bit too pricey. We opted instead to hit local eateries in the blocks around the hotel for a fraction of the cost. I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, safety and ease of access to points around the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanders2of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Europa for 2 nights in April. The hotel is in a great location at Puerta del Sol. Very walkable to Plaza Mayor, Prado, and many of the things to do and see in Madrid. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms facing the plaza can be noisy at night but also offer a great view. If you prefer a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BH10017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is right smack on Puerta del Sol with great value. For the central location that allows you to walk everywhere (Prado, Royal Palace) we would highly recommend the hotel. The room is big and comfortable, only thing it did not have a mini fridge. The restaurant on the property serves mediocre food (dont eat here -- I dont know why it was recommended by Rick Steves), but on the plus side you can get room service that offers a huge selection. The hotel staff was good, and they have 2 computers for guest use. Overall had a comfortable stay and was very happy with the location.

Room Tip: 426 was quiet and big
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Very good price vs quality! Location very good and very helpfull stuff!!! Totally recommended.............................................................................

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul19822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#65 of 438 in Madrid
1,729 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 438 in Madrid
3,040 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#83 of 438 in Madrid
1,138 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#17 of 438 in Madrid
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £84 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing