We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #46 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved Europa. It's meters away from the center of Madrid yet very quiet thanks to excellent doors and windows. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We used the attached cafeteria for breakfast; that was very convenient. It's an easy walk from most of the key sights and is surrounded by great restaurant choices and tapas bars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,641)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,370 - 1,376 of 2,644 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

..close to the Plaza del Sol and hence to the tourist action. The staff are friendly and speak good english and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. All the major sites- the Palacio Real, Museo del Prado, Plaza Mayor- all within 5-10 minutes walk. Good restaurants and bars close by and lots of live music and flamenco in bars in the vicinity. Try out the fantastic tapas at any of the local eateries. Nightlife is varied, enthusiastic and long-lasting! The madrilenos are known as the gattos ( or cats, who stay up all night) so dont be surprised to see families dining out well after midnight. A great place to stay and a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not facing the main square, should be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As everyone else has said, this hotel has a perfect location. It is right in the centre of Madrid, with all the sights within walking distance (factoring in an afternoon nap back in the hotel!)
Our superior double room was not huge, but okay, with a lovely and well-equipped bathroom and huge TV screen. The balcony was overlooking the hustle and bustle of the Puerta del Sol so we could listen to the musicians and watch the dancers and skaters from the comfort of our own window. The windows did keep out most of the noise, but there was still plenty of revelling to be heard throughout the night. If a quiet night is what you are after, then this isn't the hotel for you.
The breakfast was tasty, the staff were polite, the decor good....couldn't fault the place, and we felt it was very good value for money for what we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ALabbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our best room in our 2 week trip to Spain. The room and bath was comfortable and the view from our room to the Plaza de Sol was worth the money. The staff were helpful and the cafeteria was helpful as you could charge it to your room. The double beds were ok but hurt my back a bit. The location of this Hotel is second to none. I used the airport shuttle which was 19 euros for two. The tables outside the cafeteria is great for people watching but pricey. Overall, a great experience for my first visit to Madrid.

Room Tip: Get a high level room due to the crowd noise from the Plaza de Sol below. Get a room that has a vie...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jj5724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a superior room overlooking the Plaza del Sol, which gave us a fabulous view of all the hustle & bustle below. The hotel is within walking distance to many attractions & there is a metro station right outside. Lots of eating places are close by & the restaurant serves a mean Sangria! The staff were very helpful, the rooms were a good size & very clean. I would definitely recommend

Room Tip: One overlooking the Plaza de Sol
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We are a mature couple and have been travelling 11 months; we have stayed in a lot of hotels.
This hotel is very professionally run and the best thing is the location - right on the edge of the Plaza del Sol - the heart of the tourist area. Everything is within easy walking distance from the hotel. Despite being in the middle of it all our room was very quiet at night.
The room was very clean and of a good size. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was also a good size with tons of hot water and plenty of pressure.
The attached bar and restaurant served good food with excellent waiter service.
The front desk staff were helpful.
The WiFi was excellent as well. All in all a great hotel choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. By far, the best aspect of this hotel is its location right on the Puerta del Sol. You have everything you need within a 10-20 minute walk (including the major tourist sites). The rooms are basic, but clean. We had a room overlooking the plaza and enjoyed seeing the demonstrations that seemed to take over the plaza every evening. The room was well insulated and we heard no sounds after going to bed. The metro station is just outside the hotel and it was easy to get to other areas around the city. We did not pay for the breakfast option since it seemed a bit too pricey. We opted instead to hit local eateries in the blocks around the hotel for a fraction of the cost. I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, safety and ease of access to points around the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanders2of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#65 of 438 in Madrid
1,727 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 438 in Madrid
3,036 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#85 of 438 in Madrid
1,134 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#27 of 438 in Madrid
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £84 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing