We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Europa - A Great Hotel in the Heart of Madrid”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #39 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Europa - A Great Hotel in the Heart of Madrid”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our stay at Hotel Europa in Madrid was exceptional. The location in Puerta del Sol was perfect and the hotel and service were excellent. The value was very good and our balcony onto Puerta del Sol made for an excellent memory of our stay at Hotel Europa. We would definitely recommend it to others traveling to Madrid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on Puerta del Sol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank debjen321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    945
    125
    25
    19
See reviews for
596
1,066
183
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel has a spectacular location and provides a fantastic base to access most of Madrid's city attractions on foot, and the rest by train (being pretty much on top of Sol metro station).

Whilst that is a key point for me when looking for accommodation, in addition, the rooms were very comfortable and well appointed and the staff were professional and welcoming. We stayed in a room with a small balcony facing inwards into an internal alcove which offered sufficient light and air for a pleasant atmosphere in the room at day and night. Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Free WiFi access was very valuable.

On all occasions, staff were welcoming and helpful, offering greetings and information about surrounding services.

Would certainly recommend the Hotel Europa in Madrid. It was great to be so close to the 'heartbeat' of Madrid. However, if taking a taxi to the hotel, I would suggest that you are familiar with the geography of the plaza and surrounding streets. When we were dropped off, it was at a pedestrian street leading into the Puerta del Sol, given the restrictions on traffic immediately around the hotel. If I hadn't web 'street-viewed' the location before visiting, it possibly would have been quite difficult to locate the hotel.

Room Tip: Consider if you want to have a balcony onto the Puerta del Sol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudsonhmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very close to Sol metro station which makes it easy to get the train to and from the airport, saving lots of money on taxis. Also very close to the main attractions such as Plaza Mayor so everything is within walking distance.

The room was very large (we had 4 single beds between the two of us) but cheaply furnished. The bathroom on the other hand was very tastefully and expensively decorated all over in coffee coloured marble. The shower was a good pressure, but the water was a little cold and couldn't be increased. The bed and pillows were a bit hard for me but fine. The room and linen was very clean and the towels were soft and fluffy. We had room service every day.

Our balcony overlooked some busy, pedestrianised, shopping streets and it was lovely to spend some time people watching.

The staff were friendly and very efficient.

We had a wonderful stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great Location in the heart of Madrid accessible to everything. The most friendly and helpful staff and comfortable accommodation. Our room overlooked Puerta del Sol and we were concerned about the noise but the windows and shutters blocked the sound so we had the best of both world! The best value on our trip to Spain!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved Europa. It's meters away from the center of Madrid yet very quiet thanks to excellent doors and windows. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We used the attached cafeteria for breakfast; that was very convenient. It's an easy walk from most of the key sights and is surrounded by great restaurant choices and tapas bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

..close to the Plaza del Sol and hence to the tourist action. The staff are friendly and speak good english and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. All the major sites- the Palacio Real, Museo del Prado, Plaza Mayor- all within 5-10 minutes walk. Good restaurants and bars close by and lots of live music and flamenco in bars in the vicinity. Try out the fantastic tapas at any of the local eateries. Nightlife is varied, enthusiastic and long-lasting! The madrilenos are known as the gattos ( or cats, who stay up all night) so dont be surprised to see families dining out well after midnight. A great place to stay and a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not facing the main square, should be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As everyone else has said, this hotel has a perfect location. It is right in the centre of Madrid, with all the sights within walking distance (factoring in an afternoon nap back in the hotel!)
Our superior double room was not huge, but okay, with a lovely and well-equipped bathroom and huge TV screen. The balcony was overlooking the hustle and bustle of the Puerta del Sol so we could listen to the musicians and watch the dancers and skaters from the comfort of our own window. The windows did keep out most of the noise, but there was still plenty of revelling to be heard throughout the night. If a quiet night is what you are after, then this isn't the hotel for you.
The breakfast was tasty, the staff were polite, the decor good....couldn't fault the place, and we felt it was very good value for money for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ALabbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#116 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Mirai, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing