We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice right in Puerta Del Sol”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #40 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice right in Puerta Del Sol”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are a tourist looking for a hotel right in the middle of the action, then you have found it in Hotel Europa.

The room was quite large given the European standards we have gotten accustomed to in our previous few weeks in Spain. We had a small balcony overlooking all the fun on the Puerta Del Sol. There are dozens of restaurants, cafes, bakeries, etc. within a few feet of the front door.

The hotel is quite clean and given its location, is not pricey at all. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English.
The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom quite large and the room even had a flat screen tv (though a little off to the side.) There is elevator service, so luggage should not be an issue. Also, the metro is directly in front on Puerta Del Sol (Sol station), as well as the hop on hop off bus stop.

I am not sure about parking there as we did not have a car at this point.

I would not hesitate in staying here again and highly recommend this hotel, especially given the price range.

Room Tip: The double pane windows do a great job of keeping the late night crowd noise away from sleeping ears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    982
    131
    26
    19
See reviews for
615
1,119
191
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived by metro and our room was ready early for us. Great location. You will be in the heart of the action so it can be a bit noisy but the rooms were great and the service wonderful. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice, clean, and the front desk was very nice. However, when I was here, they were re-papering the walls beginning loudly at 6 am. In a city where no one goes to dinner until 10 pm, one would think it would be understood that loud construction work wouldn't start until 8 or 9 am.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I arrived very late in Madrid for a one day business trip. I needed a comfortable bed, a hot shower, a central location, a friendly welcome, a delicious breakfast, and a cheery welcome. All were found at the Europa. This is a great find - very clean, comfortable and friendly, perfect for the one night business trip, I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

In the heart of the city, Hotel Europa is an excellent choice. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. We have stayed here two years in a row and consider the hotel and excellent choice....a good value for the price.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights in June 2014. It is a splendid hotel with friendly helpful front desk staff. Half a block off Puerto del Sol, Madrid's main square where there is always lots happening. You can watch from the hotel's outdoor cafe. Half block from metro. 15 minute pleasant walk to the three major art museums, 20 to beautiful Parc Rietiro. Wonderful location, close to everything you will want to see. Safe area. The room was clean and relaxing and quiet. I had large window that opened into a small interior court yard with geraniums on the sills. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel Europa was a pleasant and service-oriented hotel. Everyone from the reception to the restaurant was very helpful and courteous. I had an exterior room and the windows on the doors were pretty well soundproof. Personally I love seeing and hearing the action of the city so I chose the exterior room and loved it! I was very comfortable and I slept very well. If you need absolute quiet to fall asleep, bring earplugs or request an interior room. The first night I did discover a few tiny bugs in the bathroom and with the outside heat, this can happen to anyone. The next morning, the hotel understandably and immediately responded to my request to switch rooms. We went straight to the new room so I could check it out and then they helped me to move my belongings to the new room. In the new room, everything was perfect for the duration of my stay. They pride themselves on cleanliness so much so that the head over the cleaning staff spoke with me in the hallway to apologize. Also as a female traveling alone I felt very safe in the hotel and in the area. If you're a salad lover, try the goat cheese and walnut salad - it was delicious! I would definitely stay here again because of the hotel, the staff, the service and the location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCSPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#62 of 436 in Madrid
1,676 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 436 in Madrid
3,727 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 436 in Madrid
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
441 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 436 in Madrid
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Mirai, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing