We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, services, and reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #37 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, services, and reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in Hotel Europa, Madrid in June 17-June19 and June 23-June 25. The hotel is almost right in Puerta del Sol. You can look out at the plaza from your hotel room. We booked a triple room via the hotel websites and was able to get discount (but you have to pay in full). It's definitely a great value.

The hotel is super clean. Our rooms for both stays were spotless. The air condition also worked very well. Granted, there's not much decoration in the room, and we had a relatively small TV, but we were so tired everyday, all we wanted was a comfortable, clean room to sleep. This is what you will get from Hotel Europa. One of our room has balcony which you look out to the plaza. This came in handy because while we stayed that, King Felipe VI was being coroneted, and we were able to see the actions from our balcony the morning of the event.

The hotel service was also good. Front-desk folks all speak perfect English so no problems as all. I asked for restaurant recommendations every night, and I had not disappointed with the suggestions.

The only downside I can think of - Taxi can't drop you directly in front of the hotel. The best thing to do, in my opinion, is to ask the driver to stop in Plaza Carman, and you can see the hotel just down the street (less than 1min walk).

All in all...we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilvinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    912
    121
    23
    19
See reviews for
584
1,023
176
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent location, great value and overall - happy guest. Will definitely stay here again. Friendly staff, great sized rooms and within walking distance to most attractions including the Palace & Plaza Mayor

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lingkunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Hotel Europa was better than we had expected, even from seeing the photos online. It's clean, the staff is efficient and nice, and the location can't be beat.

There a safes in the rooms for valuables.

Our room was modern, clean and our balcony looked right out over the Puerta del Sol.

Room Tip: High floors are further away from the street noise, but I will say, the double-pane windows do a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank tomh3275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are a tourist looking for a hotel right in the middle of the action, then you have found it in Hotel Europa.

The room was quite large given the European standards we have gotten accustomed to in our previous few weeks in Spain. We had a small balcony overlooking all the fun on the Puerta Del Sol. There are dozens of restaurants, cafes, bakeries, etc. within a few feet of the front door.

The hotel is quite clean and given its location, is not pricey at all. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English.
The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom quite large and the room even had a flat screen tv (though a little off to the side.) There is elevator service, so luggage should not be an issue. Also, the metro is directly in front on Puerta Del Sol (Sol station), as well as the hop on hop off bus stop.

I am not sure about parking there as we did not have a car at this point.

I would not hesitate in staying here again and highly recommend this hotel, especially given the price range.

Room Tip: The double pane windows do a great job of keeping the late night crowd noise away from sleeping ears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived by metro and our room was ready early for us. Great location. You will be in the heart of the action so it can be a bit noisy but the rooms were great and the service wonderful. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice, clean, and the front desk was very nice. However, when I was here, they were re-papering the walls beginning loudly at 6 am. In a city where no one goes to dinner until 10 pm, one would think it would be understood that loud construction work wouldn't start until 8 or 9 am.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I arrived very late in Madrid for a one day business trip. I needed a comfortable bed, a hot shower, a central location, a friendly welcome, a delicious breakfast, and a cheery welcome. All were found at the Europa. This is a great find - very clean, comfortable and friendly, perfect for the one night business trip, I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
Centro
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#112 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Calle del Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing