We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #53 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

In the centre of Madrid, right by a metro/train station, surrounded by shopping and restaurants. A short walk to the museums and palace. Friendly and helpful staff. Large rooms, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,845 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Decent hotel, good price and great location, super easy metro ride from the airport and reasonably close to the express bus from the Airport. Good spot between the Royal Palace / Plaza Mayor and the Museum and Royal Park areas. Staff are helpful and speak excellent English. Lots of great restaurants and an easy walk to Sol Square to see the people and nighttime theater. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our second stay at Hotel Europa and once again we were so incredibly pleased with our visit and look forward to coming back. The staff here are very helpful, professional and polite. The check in process is easy and seamless, it's a nice touch that they take you to your room and show you around. Both times we have had rooms with a view of the Puerta del Sol and it's lively and vibrant and the mini balcony is great for taking it all in. I don't know what sort of super windows they have, but when you close up shop, the noise barely filters through - it's pretty amazing. The rooms are clean, simple and comfortable. The bathrooms are well outfitted and the rooms are fairly large by European standards. There is so much all around, you cannot beat the location - it's walkable and safe. I don't think I would venture to stay anywhere else in Madrid. Excellent experience once again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laryana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My latest stay at Hotel Europa was my fourth, and it definitely won't be my last. I was there for the first time in 2003, and I have been back to Madrid, and the Hotel Europa, for the past three years in a row. I already have plans to return in 2015 and beyond . . .

The location is unparalleled, the staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms are clean and sufficiently well-appointed. Enjoy a glass of wine and people watch in the outdoor restaurant, or have your morning "cafe con leche" with dozens of locals in the indoor restaurant.

I have done a significant amount of travelling in the past few years, and the Hotel Europa is simply the best value for my travel accommodation dollar (or Euro). It remains my favourite place to stay in Spain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karenyukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is a great value. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Very clean, the AC worked well, a fairly large room and the bathroom was really nice. We requested a quiet room and were given a room facing the courtyard, which worked well for us. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotel Europa is a nice hotel in the Plaza del Sol region of Madrid. Close to shopping, nice restaurants/bars, and in the heart of the city, it's in a great location. Although I only stead for 1 night as I spent the majority of my time in Barcelona, the hotel was good. Maybe a little higher on the price scale, it was ok. Although the rooms could use maybe a little sprucing up, it was comfortable, clean, and close to all the attractions which was great. The hotel restaurant/bar was nice, and the staff was lovely as well. I did love the small terrace of our room which was a nice surprise. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Europa and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel is awesome. Here for a few days solo and felt very welcomed and comfortable. The staff, all of them, are great. Not intrusive, but certainly ready when you even think you need something. The rooms are impeccably clean and well cared for. The views to Puerto Del Sol inspire people watching. The location is walkable to anywhere. Can't ask for better! Love this hotel! I saw reviews where people complained of noise. Well, not an issue. Close your window and use the AC. Very quiet, unless you want Sol in your dreams. Happy Madrid.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherriRoslyn_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#12 of 441 in Madrid
177 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#86 of 441 in Madrid
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#51 of 441 in Madrid
3,199 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £82 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing