We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great value!”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #46 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2008

My family and I really enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel Europa. We found the hotel staff to be very nice and polite. Our triple-room was a very good size for a European hotel and very clean. The bathroom was marble and nice as well. The location is very good with being close to a metro station, shopping, and numerous restaurants. We didn’t eat at the hotel’s restaurant, but we did eat at number of good restaurants and cafes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the immediate area. If you need your American fast food fix (or something for picky young kids), there is a KFC, a Burger King, and a McDonald’s not far away. There’s also a Starbucks not far away on Calle del Arenal for your caffeine fix. It’s relatively close to the Palacio Real and not far from the Prado. The El Rastro flea market is also within walking distance. It is a busy area, but it is the heart of Madrid. We had a room away from the Puerto del Sol, and we didn’t any problem with noise at all. We were very happy with our stay, and if we make it to Madrid again, we’ll definitely stay at the Hotel Europa again.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Okie_in_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,657)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2008

just returned from a weekend break .
The hotel could not be faulted. The location is brilliant, being on one of the main squares with everything a ten minute walk away.
So many bars and restaurants to choose from and most of them serving free tapas with your drinks. Sometimes so many we didnt need a meal.
The hotel is really clean and well maintained, and the staff really helpful (a bit moody in the breakfast room)
All in all a really good choice if you only have a couple of days and want to be able to walk easily to the main attractions.
One thing we found. the cable car only runs on weekends at this time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gillianweatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I have stayed at this hotel several times since 1997. The location is perfect, with excellent staff, and well appointed rooms. It was recently remodeled; the rooms are spotless with decent size bathrooms. If you don't enjoy Madrid's night life, ask for a room not facing Puerta del Sol or calle Carmen, those streets can be noisy. You will get a lot for your money! Enjoy your vacation to the fullest!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cannotwaittotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

My wife & I planned a trip to Spain about a year ago and use the Rick Steves book "Spain 2008" as a guide. (Don't visit Spain without reading this book prior). We book the Hotel Europa via the hotel web site and asked for a room on a top floor. Our arrival in Madrid (from Philadelphia) and trip via taxi was effortless and the taxi dropped us 5 feet from the front door. Upon arrival our bags were whisked out of the taxi and, as were were checking in early, the bags were stored securely until later in the day. We immediately booked a bus tour and returned to the hotel later in the afternoon. Our room was 'squeaky' clean and overlooked the plaza. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was a good size, and everything about the room satisfied weary travelers. (we made an excellent choice in booking Hotel Europa) NOTE: even the hallways were impressive; the rugs were spotless and the marble walls were something not seen in most American hotels ~ very nice. The front desk staff was very professional, efficient and courteous. Most of our questions were handled by 'Javier' who was very professional and assisted us in tour arrangements. We ate at the hotel sidewalk cafe and were most impressed. YOU"VE GOT TO EAT and drink HERE! A pitcher of sangria, a plate of ham & cheese, and of course the bread. Scrumptious! And the sidewalk musicians were great also. We had no difficulties with street noise even though our room overlooked the square; the windows (when closed) block out virtually all noise. The hotel location is center to many activities most tourists look for; shopping, restaurants, nightlife, access to tour busses, etc. Perfect! We rate Hotel Europa as one of the best, and inexpensive, hotels we've stayed at.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank JazzGuitarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We had a spacious room on the second floor facing Puerta del Sol. Loved the energy of the City first hand from the balcony. Staff were very friendly and not afraid to engage in light hearted conversation even with our broken Spanish. Clean comfortable bed and it seemed staff were cleaning constantly. Great central location and the restaurant on the terrace served great tapas and some of the hardest working efficient waiters we have ever witnessed. Sure they asked us to spare the towels if possible. that is fine with us especially in a country where a rainy day is a god send.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sankaty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

This was our first European trip, so we were not entirely sure what to expect. First, the good: Extremely efficient and professional staff, from the doorman to the desk personnel to the cleaning staff. All were very responsive to our requests and made our stay as hassle-free as possible. Also, what a delight to open the balcony doors and look out onto the Puerta Del Sol, and to have so many of Madrid's major attractions right at our fingertips. We had read complaints of street noise, since the hotel overlooks the busy plaza. Well, what do you expect? That's like going to a beach and complaining about the sun. We resigned ourselves to the noise (which wasn't all that bad) in exchange for this terrific location. And, they provided free use of a computer in the lobby, with a very understandable 15-minute limit. Now, the bad: The rooms were cheaply furnished, with not so much as a picture on the wall, and very little sitting space. The bathroom was very attractive, but not well stocked. There was a note asking us to re-use our bath towels in the name of "the environment". The soap was less than half the size of a credit card. And there was no face cloth provided. Scrub with your hands. Also, it appears there is no such thing as a "king" bed in Spain. At the Europa and other hotels during our trip, they simply pushed two twin-sized beds together. Finally, the restaurant was okay at best. More like a diner. Bottom line: For what we paid, the Europa was a tremendous value. And we had to remind ourselves that some of the shortcomings may have been due to what we've become accustomed to in our domestic travel. We would definitely stay at the Europa again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthsiEEED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We could not believe our luck when we arrived at the Hotel Europa last week . We were met at the door by a friendly porter who promptly relieved us of our bags and deposited them in our room. The staff at the check-in desk were very efficent and friendly and have a multitude of languages .

The room was usual European city size and was very comfortable with a large bathroom and had lovely french doors opening onto a little balcony. The hotel has a very popular restaurant and outside terrace , perfect for relaxing in the evening . Our room also had air conditioning which was much needed in 30 degree temperatures. Actually - check out the website - the rooms are very much as is on the pictures. Fantastic value for €90 per night for the room.

The hotel itself has a perfect location. Right outside its door are shops like Mango & Zara and many other hight street stores & department stores. You're also no more than 5 mniutes walk from the main shopping street the Gran Via and less than a 10 minute walk to the main bar / restaurant area.

Everything within Madrid is easily reached by walking. The hotel can also arrange the open top bus tour which I would highly recoommend to anyone visiting the city for only a few days.

There is also free internet access in the foyer - there is a limit of 15mins per person tho.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KerryBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#65 of 438 in Madrid
1,729 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 438 in Madrid
3,040 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#83 of 438 in Madrid
1,138 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#17 of 438 in Madrid
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Calle Carmen 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#24 Family Hotel in Madrid
#143 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £84 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Madrid
Hotel Europa Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing