We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Infanta Mercedes
Ranked #276 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I was surprised by some of the reviews as I found this hotel offered excellent value for money. Yes, the single rooms are not large, but for one person I found the room more than adequate. Before I discovered Infanta Mercedes I was in a hotel with a much larger room, but breakfast there was 18 euros, wifi was slow and the price was a third as much again. While Tetuan is not a posh area, it is a regular neighbourhood and I never felt unsafe. It's also only 10 mins walk to the metro. Everything was clean, there was a bath/shower with plenty of hot water. I like that they have soap dispensers rather than little toiletries - much more eco-friendly. I enjoyed free wifi 24 hrs a day which was very fast & reliable. The buffet breakfast is included in the price and the selection was wonderful. Fresh fruit, cereal, hot food, cold food, pastries, all nicely presented. A great way to start one's day. Reception staff always very helpful and courteous. Loved the bowl of sweets on the reception desk. There is a lift in the lobby.

My only concern was that I could hear other guests through the walls/ceiling, but that didn't overly detract from what I found to be the best value for money in the area. Each guest will weigh up what is important to him/her - for me as a seasoned traveller, I would definitely return here when in Madrid again. Sometimes it's the little things that make a difference and for me Hotel Infanta Mercedes served all my needs and more. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    106
    81
    15
    11
See reviews for
35
79
44
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I was booked into this hotel for a couple of days cause we wanted a city brake. It is located in a quite area of the city with a small square. Is situated close to a number of top sights in Madrid, including the Paseo de la Castellana, the Bernabeu football stadium, Congress Center and Plaza Castilla Square. Well-sized room with extremely comfortable beds, good bathroom with hairdryer, free wifi and good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Booked this hotel as I had some surplus Sol points and we wanted a city break.
Hotel is in Tetuan and is not in a tourist area. However you do get a feel of how madrileños live. We sat in the big square one evening letting our daughter play with other local children and talked to some of the locals. The area felt safe but use common sense as in any city. Room was basic but clean and quiet. Breakfast was ok.
Hotel is 10 mins walk from underground. Madrid is a great city, fantastic art galleries. Barcelona pips it on looks and atmosphere though

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter. There is a locals bar next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EscritorManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Quite street but rooms poorly noise aisolated.
Central heating is turned off, you have to guess how to turn it on.....
Strong smell of black waters in the bathroom.
Apart from that...... value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajgoldar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I was booked into this hotel for one night to be close the airport. It takes about 15 minutes or 30 euros in a taxi so it wasn't that close!
The room was tiny with a narrow single bed and a basic bathroom. The room was hot and even though I tried to turn the heating down it was not possible and the window would not stay open.
It's very easy to hear everything going on above, below and to the side of your room too.
The only plus point was the great breakfast although it states it opens at 7.30am, they told me to go away and come back later!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_I_wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

If you want to hear what your neighbor is doing and also be told when can you feel warm or cold, this is your place!
Although the location is good, it doesn't compensate for the nights without sleep. The walls of the hotel are paper thin and the street noise can be heard clearly.
Now, the breakfast buffet is worth the price for the variety of fruit and pastries, but the sleepless nights or when you think that somebody is entering your room it is unbearable. Have sleeping pills handy when staying here!

Room Tip: Ear plugs or bottles of sleeping pills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ximena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel away from the busy centre of Madrid but everything is easily accessible by metro which is 10 mins walk away from the hotel (Tetuan metro).

If you don’t wished to be disturbed early in the morning, use the Do Not Disturb sign.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Internet available but was only €3 for the length of my stay which was 3 nights.

Didnt have the breakfast as i was out late and up late but there a few places opposite and around the hotel where you can eat...delicious, generous portions at reasonable prices.

All in all, very good value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BM2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
0.2 mi away
Senator Castellana Hotel
Senator Castellana Hotel
#257 of 436 in Madrid
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
Aparthotel G3 Galeon
#289 of 436 in Madrid
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Erase un Hotel
Erase un Hotel
#329 of 436 in Madrid
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
4C Bravo Murillo
4C Bravo Murillo
#208 of 436 in Madrid
202 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Madrid C/ Valentin Beato
0.6 mi away
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
Espahotel Plaza Basilica
#299 of 436 in Madrid
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infanta Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infanta Mercedes

Property: Hotel Infanta Mercedes
Address: Calle Huesca 21 | Esquina Infanta Mercedes, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Infanta Mercedes 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Hotel Located In The Heart Of Madrid. It is situated in the area of Paseo de la Castellana, financial, commercial and entertainment centre and few metres away from Plaza del Cuzco, Santiago Bernabeu Stadium,the Palace of Congresses and Expositions, Plaza Castilla and Business Centre Azca. The Hotel offers 61 Rooms. They are all provided with complete private bathroom, air-conditioning, minibar, safe-deposit box, Wi-Fi internet, hair dryer and TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Infanta Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing