We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and hotel staff, but...”
Review of Hostal San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal San Lorenzo
Ranked #320 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice room and hotel staff, but...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First what happened, then review of the hotel and room.

I had a prepaid for reservation for Hostal Union for my cousin and I. We mistakenly went into Hostal San Lorenzo, presented my prepaid reservation and waited. They looked for, but didn't find our reservation. They did but informed us they had rooms and booked us in matching the price on the reservation. At this time, we didn't know we were in the wrong hotel, and proceeded to our room, unpacked, called my friend in Madrid and told him we were waiting for his arrival to go to dinner. We showered and waited. My friend informed us, the front desk of Hostal Union, which we thought we were in, said we had not arrived yet. Confronting the front desk, they checked us in when we presented them with a prepaid reservation for Hostal Union, they said it was an error on their part as well as an error on our part. Them for not noticing the reservation was for a different Hostal. Ours for going into the wrong hostel. It was only after the fact we noticed that both the Hostals had signs over the entrance to San Lorenzo. The manager at San Lorenzo agreed not to charge us, even though we had been in the room for several hrs, showered, unpacked, laid in the beds, and used the internet. For that we are grateful.

With that said, here's my review given our several hrs there.

The hostal's location is great. Very close to most the major downtown attractions. They could be walked to with ease. The area was full of shops, variety of restaurants and pubs. The hostal (more like a hotel than hostal) was clean comfortable and staff friendly. Their English was excellent. While we did not eat there, we did see and walked into their dining room where breakfast would have been served and it looked very nice. The breakfast would have been included in the hotel fare, unlike Hostel Union which has no breakfast. The room was large and very comfortable with nice beds and roomy bathroom. The internet was fast and never lost connection while there. As for the staff, they should be more careful to check reservation conformation forms the customer brings in, to be assured they're in the right place given both signs are over their entrance. But again, they were understanding and did not charge us, so they deserve credit for that.

Given a choice in the future, I would rather stay at hostal San Lorenzo than where we did. Unfortunately the other location was prepaid and they would not let us cancel to stay at San Lorenzo. The rooms were larger, nicer and beds more comfortable. The internet worked vastly better. San Lorenzo matched their price and would have included breakfast. That said, I'd recommend Hostal San Lorenzo and would stay there myself.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeahawksReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente at Hostal San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
Fuimos comprensivos y entendimos que al tratarse de un error de ambas partes debiamos ser justos y honestos y no aprovecharnos de un error para sacar beneficio, nosotros trabajamos con gente y para la gente ofreciendo alojamiento y un trato especial a nuestros clientes, por eso entendimos el error y no quisimos sacar provecho. Nos alegra saber que contamos con ustedes como futuros clientes y esperamos su proxima visita.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    121
    103
    38
    35
See reviews for
33
124
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel over the weekend for three nights. We chose it mainly because of the location and it was one of the few options of a cheap package deal that British Airways offered. I read the reviews and most of them aren't great so I had my expectations set really low. The room was very basic and the staff weren't really that friendly or overly welcoming. It was pretty noisy at night but that's also something we were willing to put up with because it is very centrally located. It seemed pretty clean and our sheets and towels were changed everyday. The only thing was there was this grungy pink blanket that was on top of the sheets that looked like it hadn't been washed...ever. So I avoided that. The bathroom was pretty tiny and didn't really offer much privacy as the door just kind of slides across and there is a sort of glass panel down the middle of it. Plus there was a shower curtain which always grosses me out at hotels. There was a safe in the room but the one annoying thing about it is that you have to pay 1 euro every time you want to close it. I mean this kind of thing is trivial to complain about but I think it should be free in any hotel. Other than that I don't really have any complaints, would I stay there again...? Maybe if it was offered as another cheap package deal. The location is great, it is basically in the center of pretty much anything you want to do in the city so for this reason alone we weren't too disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessief26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Easy to find just off gran via. Quiet area but near to metro, old town and pretty much central to all main tourist attractions and restaurants.

Room was large for two people and very clean.
Radio provided in room was a nice touch.
Balcony doors give good light and really mute out the sound of the street.
staff seem friendly enough and speak good English.
Free wifi and baggage storage room.

Negatives
Breakfast is poor and no real choice other than two pieces of toast and a glass of orange. Not really worth getting up for.
The bathroom has no real toiletries so make sure you bring your own.
The bed is okay for people who like hard beds, like me, but if you are used to soft beds you may dislike it.

For me, this hotel is a great choice at a good budget.

Helpful?
1 Thank Si Man H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We ended up in this location after our 1st hotel didn't have availability and messed up our reservation. The price was excellent and it has an excellent location. Rooms are normal. Nothing fancy, very simple. It was fine for us for 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicente M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente at Hostal San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Google Translation
Nos alegra saber que su estancia con nosotros fue de su agrado, el personal del San Lorenzo trabaja para ofrecerle el mejor de los servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If in winter you want to feel like in summer, just coming to this place.
It is a old building with a very strong central heater system. Due to it is an old building its walls, floors and ceilings doesn´t have any kind of isolation, then other rooms heat will heat yours.
During my stay in this hotel It was the first time in winter time that I need to turn totally off the heater. here you really feel like inside a oven. One advantage of this system is that you avoid the noise air condition of the 5 stars hotels.
I consider the hotel is just a 2-star place with a very good internet wifi. the doors only open and close with the key. They looks, and actually are not safe at all.
To turn on the light inside the room you also need your card, however because the door only close with the key (key and card are together with not easily separation), every time you go in you must open the door, put the card in a special device, turn on the lights, remove the card (lights will be on for some seconds) and close the door, then put the card again (in order you can have light inside the room)... the same process for go out.
In our room with have some ants walking through the floor, they were only a few, at the beginning we didn´t care, the problem arose when you found that there is not another place rather than the floor for put your luggage, so you have to "play" with the ants in order they don´t found your stuff.
The toilet is very small, the distance between the sink and the toilet is extremely short.
They give you 2 personal soap packages, this is enough only for one person, if you travel as a couple, ask for more when you arrive.
The tub is small but the shower very good (good pressure and faster hot water).
Friendly stuff.
Very good location.
Noisy during the night.
If you arrive during night time forget to ring the bell... the only way is calling them, so take their number phone on hands

Room Tip: Ask for rooms opposite to Clavel street, this is the noisy side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatinAsianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, efficient heating and helpful staff. The location is good, but there is a lot of noise from the bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. Weekend nights are especially noisy, but on weeknights, you'll sleep well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoaoZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is cheap.... But you get what you pay for! The room was very basic with iron beds and hard mattress. There is no aircon and our room was hot and stuffy (in late September, can't imagine what it would be like in summer!). Opening the window was not an option as the rooms face over as busy square with restaurants and traffic so incredibly noisy. I have never seen a bathroom so small. The wifi did not work in the room (although the owner insisted it did!), but we could access emails in the lobby area. If you are after basic accommodation and a bargain ok, however I could not recommend if you like your home comforts .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#263 of 435 in Madrid
120 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#195 of 435 in Madrid
227 reviews
Malasana
Aparthotel Tribunal
Aparthotel Tribunal
#406 of 435 in Madrid
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sercotel Hotel Togumar
#252 of 435 in Madrid
302 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
#386 of 435 in Madrid
31 reviews
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#334 of 435 in Madrid
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Lorenzo

Property: Hostal San Lorenzo
Address: Calle Clavel 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H. San Lorenzo has been recently remodelated on the most part of it's installations, situated in a beautiful historical and artistic building, everything is set up to make your stay unforgettable. We offer a vast array of rooms: single, double, triple, quadruple and familiar, all with their own ensuite full bathrooms and free wifi connection, wide windows to enjoy the spectacular views over Vazquez de Mella Square. Within our services are included transfer to the airport, optional breakfast, information service over serveral topics and, above all, a personal treatment from our multilingual receptionists and everyone in our personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal San Lorenzo Madrid
Hostal San Lorenzo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing