We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On average a comfortable hostel”
Review of Hostal San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal San Lorenzo
Ranked #320 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On average a good clean comfortable hostel near for the centre of town.
However, the bed sheets could be changed more often and breakfasts could be improved.
To receive faxes one found staff was not helpful.
I could recommend the San Loranzo Hostel in Madrid Spain

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10nic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was realy close to everything so a good location. On the internet i see rooms with a balcony but we did not have. They were friendly but nothing extra. Like asking if we want to know something or what we liked the most.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Hostal San Lorenzo for 3 nights in July. The hotel is in a perfect location right in the heart of the action.
The room was exceptionally clean with a really good shower and a comfy bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay.
With such great deals on accommodation we couldn't ask for more. Having paid what we did we were surprised that the facilities were so good. We would definitely stay again.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JDixonBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013, this was our first time in Madrid so when it came to picking the hotel we took a chance and hoped it would be ok, we were very pleasantly surprised! The staff were very kind and helpful, the hotel was clean and tidy and had very nice deco/furnishings, and reasonably priced. The hotel itself is right in the city centre, and our room was near the kitchen, at first I was a little worried about being able to hear the noise outside and kitchen noises in the mornings, but it was so quiet we had no trouble. The breakfast themselves were non-inclusive, but were fairly reasonably priced, but quite small, ok for me by not enough for someone who's used to larger breakfasts! Great room sizes, not cramped and very easy to come and go whenever you please and good reception area. Also something good, they have a closet for your luggage, so after you checkout on your last day you can store it safely in the closet until you need to get back to the airport, so that you're not lugging it around the city on the last day. We walked everywhere, but there is a metro line close by. All-in-all a perfect hotel in a perfect location!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We (a bunch of 30 year olds) have just returned from a weekend trip to Madrid. The hotel was clean and tidy, as were the rooms, and at approximately £25 per night each, we were more than satisfied this hotel delivered on value for money.

Staff were pleasant and accommodating.

Location wise, the hotel is less than 5 minutes from Grand Via metro making travel to/from the airport easy (less than an hour door to door), and also the hotel is right next to the main city centre so you can walk with ease to shops, bars, restaurants , attractions etc. no taxis required all weekend. A short stumble home after cocktails of San Miguel and Sangria.

We didn't eat in the hotel, however there is a little coffee terrace in the square adjacent, serving some food and coffee/beer. Not a bad spot to start the day.

The hotel is located in the gay neighbourhood, which was no issue at all, but worth pointing out for the less tolerant out there!

I would definitely recommend for anyone seeking a pleasant but inexpensive trip to Madrid, and we'll no doubt return, either with friends or with my better half.

Room Tip: Please note our 4 person room included a double bed so two of us had to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acpadmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente at Hostal San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Customer,
We care very much value for money for the customer to stay in the center of Madrid at a fair price. Our staff is always ready to advise on what to do in Madrid and are extremely knowledgeable about the available supply in the city. Certainly we are very well placed with a great variety of restaurants, cafes, pubs and nightclubs, ideal for a nice weekend in the company of friends.
All staff of the San Lorenzo welcomes your words and send a cordial greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First what happened, then review of the hotel and room.

I had a prepaid for reservation for Hostal Union for my cousin and I. We mistakenly went into Hostal San Lorenzo, presented my prepaid reservation and waited. They looked for, but didn't find our reservation. They did but informed us they had rooms and booked us in matching the price on the reservation. At this time, we didn't know we were in the wrong hotel, and proceeded to our room, unpacked, called my friend in Madrid and told him we were waiting for his arrival to go to dinner. We showered and waited. My friend informed us, the front desk of Hostal Union, which we thought we were in, said we had not arrived yet. Confronting the front desk, they checked us in when we presented them with a prepaid reservation for Hostal Union, they said it was an error on their part as well as an error on our part. Them for not noticing the reservation was for a different Hostal. Ours for going into the wrong hostel. It was only after the fact we noticed that both the Hostals had signs over the entrance to San Lorenzo. The manager at San Lorenzo agreed not to charge us, even though we had been in the room for several hrs, showered, unpacked, laid in the beds, and used the internet. For that we are grateful.

With that said, here's my review given our several hrs there.

The hostal's location is great. Very close to most the major downtown attractions. They could be walked to with ease. The area was full of shops, variety of restaurants and pubs. The hostal (more like a hotel than hostal) was clean comfortable and staff friendly. Their English was excellent. While we did not eat there, we did see and walked into their dining room where breakfast would have been served and it looked very nice. The breakfast would have been included in the hotel fare, unlike Hostel Union which has no breakfast. The room was large and very comfortable with nice beds and roomy bathroom. The internet was fast and never lost connection while there. As for the staff, they should be more careful to check reservation conformation forms the customer brings in, to be assured they're in the right place given both signs are over their entrance. But again, they were understanding and did not charge us, so they deserve credit for that.

Given a choice in the future, I would rather stay at hostal San Lorenzo than where we did. Unfortunately the other location was prepaid and they would not let us cancel to stay at San Lorenzo. The rooms were larger, nicer and beds more comfortable. The internet worked vastly better. San Lorenzo matched their price and would have included breakfast. That said, I'd recommend Hostal San Lorenzo and would stay there myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeahawksReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, Gerente at Hostal San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
Fuimos comprensivos y entendimos que al tratarse de un error de ambas partes debiamos ser justos y honestos y no aprovecharnos de un error para sacar beneficio, nosotros trabajamos con gente y para la gente ofreciendo alojamiento y un trato especial a nuestros clientes, por eso entendimos el error y no quisimos sacar provecho. Nos alegra saber que contamos con ustedes como futuros clientes y esperamos su proxima visita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel over the weekend for three nights. We chose it mainly because of the location and it was one of the few options of a cheap package deal that British Airways offered. I read the reviews and most of them aren't great so I had my expectations set really low. The room was very basic and the staff weren't really that friendly or overly welcoming. It was pretty noisy at night but that's also something we were willing to put up with because it is very centrally located. It seemed pretty clean and our sheets and towels were changed everyday. The only thing was there was this grungy pink blanket that was on top of the sheets that looked like it hadn't been washed...ever. So I avoided that. The bathroom was pretty tiny and didn't really offer much privacy as the door just kind of slides across and there is a sort of glass panel down the middle of it. Plus there was a shower curtain which always grosses me out at hotels. There was a safe in the room but the one annoying thing about it is that you have to pay 1 euro every time you want to close it. I mean this kind of thing is trivial to complain about but I think it should be free in any hotel. Other than that I don't really have any complaints, would I stay there again...? Maybe if it was offered as another cheap package deal. The location is great, it is basically in the center of pretty much anything you want to do in the city so for this reason alone we weren't too disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessief26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#257 of 440 in Madrid
131 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#211 of 440 in Madrid
235 reviews
Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
#151 of 440 in Madrid
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Lusso Infantas
Lusso Infantas
#94 of 440 in Madrid
1,033 reviews
Chueca
Room Mate Oscar
Room Mate Oscar
#51 of 440 in Madrid
2,395 reviews
Huertas
Casual Madrid del Teatro
Casual Madrid del Teatro
#145 of 440 in Madrid
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Lorenzo

Address: Calle Clavel 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £48 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H. San Lorenzo has been recently remodelated on the most part of it's installations, situated in a beautiful historical and artistic building, everything is set up to make your stay unforgettable. We offer a vast array of rooms: single, double, triple, quadruple and familiar, all with their own ensuite full bathrooms and free wifi connection, wide windows to enjoy the spectacular views over Vazquez de Mella Square. Within our services are included transfer to the airport, optional breakfast, information service over serveral topics and, above all, a personal treatment from our multilingual receptionists and everyone in our personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal San Lorenzo Madrid
Hostal San Lorenzo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing