We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hostal”
Review of Hostal San Lorenzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal San Lorenzo
Ranked #325 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    122
    105
    39
    35
See reviews for
34
127
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great location but how this is 3 star I don't know

Staff are friendly enough but the hotel itself looks badly in need of refurbishment and cleaning

Booked as a surprise through BA for my boyfriend's birthday - now I know why the hotel + flight deal was so reasonable - will never trust BA again - do not stay here! not even the location is worthnit

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kadey180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very reasonably priced, and it was in a great location in the Chueca district of Madrid, close to many points of interest. The room, although clean, looked a bit worn trending towards shabby. It looked as if it hadn't been updated since the 80's, and the bathroom was tiny. We had booked a room for three, and were put in one with two twin size beds and what was essentially a trundle bed / cot as the third bed, crowded in a very small room. There was a balcony, but because the exterior was being renovated it was enclosed by scaffolding and a tarp that covered the entire facade of the building. The air conditioning stopped on several occasions during the night during very hot weather and had to be restarted. The front desk staff were polite, but not particularly warm or friendly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SKibriye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's a bare bone basic hotel, perfect location, very good for the peak season in a European capital. Very easy to find, walking distance to Plaza Del Sol, Plaza Mayor, El Retiro, Thyssen Museum, and many theatres. Carlos at Reception went out of his way to help me with my theatre ticket, etc. Nice place for a short stay in Madrid.

Room Tip: If facing street (like 306) it's not quiet for your sleep, people are outside until 2 a.m., talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesoro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Thia was a friendly hotel with good and helpfull staff.
I was there with my wife for 4 night and the price was good for what you get.
Located quite centrally in town with restaurant and tapas bar all around.
Not to good if you are anty gay or lesbians,
most restaurant around the area where very liberals.
My wife and I did't mind so it was ok for us.

Room Tip: Not much difference on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Giancarl0_L_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On average a good clean comfortable hostel near for the centre of town.
However, the bed sheets could be changed more often and breakfasts could be improved.
To receive faxes one found staff was not helpful.
I could recommend the San Loranzo Hostel in Madrid Spain

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10nic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was realy close to everything so a good location. On the internet i see rooms with a balcony but we did not have. They were friendly but nothing extra. Like asking if we want to know something or what we liked the most.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#258 of 435 in Madrid
122 reviews
Sercotel Hotel Togumar
#245 of 435 in Madrid
309 reviews
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#333 of 435 in Madrid
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#199 of 435 in Madrid
230 reviews
Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
Petit Palace Chueca
#150 of 435 in Madrid
755 reviews
Malasana
Aparthotel Tribunal
Aparthotel Tribunal
#404 of 435 in Madrid
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal San Lorenzo

Property: Hostal San Lorenzo
Address: Calle Clavel 8, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal San Lorenzo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H. San Lorenzo has been recently remodelated on the most part of it's installations, situated in a beautiful historical and artistic building, everything is set up to make your stay unforgettable. We offer a vast array of rooms: single, double, triple, quadruple and familiar, all with their own ensuite full bathrooms and free wifi connection, wide windows to enjoy the spectacular views over Vazquez de Mella Square. Within our services are included transfer to the airport, optional breakfast, information service over serveral topics and, above all, a personal treatment from our multilingual receptionists and everyone in our personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal San Lorenzo Madrid
Hostal San Lorenzo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing