We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great two-star hotel near Atocha train station_Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mediodia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mediodia
Ranked #189 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great two-star hotel near Atocha train station_Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

October 2011: Just returned from holiday in Madrid. We stayed at this great two-star hotel just across the street from the Atocha train station. Perfect location, friendly staff, good price, clean and nice rooms. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazilu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    418
    217
    44
    19
See reviews for
171
285
102
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This hotel is your average 2-star accommodation with a 5-star service. People at front desk were very friendly and helpful. Room was a decent size with a tiny balcony overlooking the plaza and sparkling clean! The metro station is 50meters from the front entrance and the main train station is right across the street, so it's very convenient if you're moving around using public transportation. It's also right next to Reina Sofia Museum and about 3 blocks away from El Prado Museum. One of the best tapas bars is also adjacent to the hotel. Great place to enjoy your drink after sightseeing all day!Would recommend the hotel to anyone that wants a nice, clean place right in the center of the city.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank despina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This was the first of seven hotels we stayed at during our three weeks in Spain, and our least favorite. Not terrible—just average, not special. The room was clean and adequately sized with modest furnishings, and the bathroom was fairly large with a tub/shower combo that sprayed quite a bit of water on the floor (after first using it, we figured out that holding the spray wand while adjusting the water temperature and pressure minimized flooding). Wi-fi worked well, and the room was quiet for the first two nights (even with heavy traffic in the street below); but on the third (final) night, a bunch of partiers took over the adjacent room and management did little to quell the noise. One nice touch: the breakfast—just coffee, juice, dry cereal, fruit and pastries—included gluten-free muffins, which was much appreciated by my spouse.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

staff are cool as long as your pleasant enough with them.some are struggling to pay mortgages right now and take care of their kids etc so as i said,be cool with them and they are more than helpful.i don't speak a word of spanish and travelled alone but they did whatever they could to help me.stayed along the gran via another time,now that's a different story.BEWARE.sharp people waiting to part you and your $$$$$

Room Tip: ask to face train station as the sun will rise and beam into your room each morning and there is mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshall h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Right opposite Atocha station, so ideal for people travelling to or from southern Spain or Barcelona on the AVE (high speed). Grand exterior, small but spotless rooms at a very good price. A bit less enjoyable in the winter, if one wants to spend time in the room, but for the most part, a trip to Madrid involves being out doing things most of the time. Staff are friendly and polite -- they serve breakfast but I tend to go to a cafe right by and have a really delicious Madrid breakfast of hot chocolate and churros. I use this hotel regularly and can wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMO'H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The front desk staff did not speak much English, but they were patient with my bad Spanish and mostly very kind. The cleaning staff did a good job, our room was tidied every day.

I shared a room with my three friends, so there were four twin beds in our room. It was actually quite roomy for all of us, and the bathroom was big enough for four girls to get ready in every day. We had a beautiful window that opened to the main street, and it was beautiful.

The location was GREAT. Right down the street from Kapital night club, which is a must for any college age tourist.

The breakfast was very meager, and the woman who served the breakfast was quite rude. The breakfast was just two types of pastry, some soggy cereal, and coffee. You definitely get what you pay for. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't a feast either.

I liked the perfect location and adorable room best, and the rude server least.

FREE WIFI!! It was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseaewerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delran, NJ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hotel room was very small and I could hear every noise on our floor, doors slamming, people talking, phone ringing in the next room, etc. However, the bathroom was a decent size and very clean.Elevators very small - you can fit 2 people with luggage in them. Hotel is located right across from the Atochya train station and literally around the corner from the Reina Sofia museum. Also within walking distance was the Prado museum. Many places next door and near by to eat and drink. Behind the hotel (in a plaza-type area) was a Starbucks (yay!) and several places to sit outside and have a drink or pitcher of sangria or tapas. Location of hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#64 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#184 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#141 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#123 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#75 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mora
Hotel Mora
#231 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediodia

Property: Hotel Mediodia
Address: Plaza Emperador Carlos V 8, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mediodia 2*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediodia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediodia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing