We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal budget base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediodia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mediodia
Ranked #194 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Littleborough, Lancs
Level Contributor
245 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Ideal budget base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We travelled to the hotel on an inspection tour preparing for a school visit in April. Since our last visit in 2009 the hotel has had refurbishment in many areas. We were pleased with our front facing twin room. It was spacious, had plenty of wardrobe space and even a little fridge. The bathroom was spotless and well equipped. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren and it is easy to get disorientated. We took breakfast, basic continental fare, both mornings. Adequate, just about. Service was really friendly and helpful at the front desk and the free wifi is a definite bonus. The function room area on the first floor will help us when we return with our large party. We felt the area had been cleaned up since 2009 and felt less intimidating than before. Areas near stations can often feel threatening and that is not a welcome feeling when you are responsible for other people's children. The hotel is ideally situated for Atocha station and for the range of museums and art galleries on offer in the capital.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lottie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    411
    215
    44
    19
See reviews for
169
280
102
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Centrally located for all the most important art galleries. Staff friendly and polite. The room we had was basic - I did appreciate the fridge. The TV was very small and difficult to watch high up on the wall. We did not have a view, and we had opted for a double bed but got two singles. They did say we could have a double bed but it would be on the first floor and they were expecting a party of 150 young people who might make a noise, so they had placed us on the 4th floor for more peace and quiet. Admittedly the noise levels were quite high, but overall it was comfortable and clean. We would stay there again and recommend it. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast which was up to continental standards and offered choices of rolls, cheese, jams, cereals and meats. From previous reviews we were not expecting as much. There were three plug points in our room, something we look for with electronic devices to recharge!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Ours faced a blank wall and stairwell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel because we were looking for a nice, affordable hotel close to the train station, since we were taking the train back to Madrid from Cordoba and also had a flight the following morning. We couldn't ask for more. We booked through the hotel website and got one of their online deals. We chose to include breakfast in the package because we were flying out early and did not want to run around trying to find an open restaurant. If you don't need to be anywhere early, we would recommend not getting the breakfast option (since it only includes a croissant, a cold roll, and juice and coffee), and there are plenty of fast food places and restaurants nearby. Otherwise, the hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff are nice and speak English, the rooms are sufficiently roomy, and most have great views of the street or the museum plaza. The furniture can use some updating, but I guess it's what gives the place character. The hotel's classic architecture is quite grand, and even though the place is old, it's doesn't feel rundown or sleazy. The location is next door to the Reina Sofia museum, close to the Caixa Fourm, and within walking distance of the Prado and Thyssen-Bornemisza museums. It's across the street from the Atocha train station, the metro, and the express airport bus stop. To go to the airport, we went to the Atocha train/metro station and took the C1 Renfe Cercanías commuter train directly to the airport. It costs a little over 5 euros for 2 people, and the train takes you DIRECTLY to the T4 terminal of the airport. This is half as expensive and quicker than taking the express airport bus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hemway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Mediodia is in a perfect location if you want to visit the Madrid museums (Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen). Accross the streat from Attocha station, where the Airport bus also arrives. Rooms are basic but perfectly OK. Service is friendly, hotel and rooms are clean. Smallish downsides are the extremely basic breakfast and the lack of power outlets in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepijn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Seven of us travelled to Madrid for one night, 1 double and 5 single rooms, cost for single with breakfast was €57. Whilst not luxurious, it was spotlessly clean and in a fantastic location for transport links. Had I Ben staying longer, I'd spend more but this is a great spot if you want to save money

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights w/ my students. Great central location 50 meters from a Metro stop. Good shops in the vicinity and spitting distance from the amazing Reina Sofia Museum and Atocha train station.

The rooms were standard but clean and comfortable. Pillows could use some thinking IMHO but otherwise a very comfortable room. Our room towards the rear of the building had an great view of the plaza w/c was full of strollers, musicians and locals in the afternoon. You opened the balcony doors and music flowed in with the breeze - LIKE A MOVIE!

Breakfast was okay for one day, on the 2nd day it was funny, on the 3rd it was just "you're kidding right?". To say it's "spartan" is generous. A crusty baguette, a (good) croissant, a tub of cream cheese, marmalade served by a cranky (but revealed to be nice) lady. Sure fresh OJ and okay coffee were free-flowing but that's it. Oh, and there was a choice of 1 cereal. I guess I was just hoping for a variety in the most important meal of the day.

Food options nearby were very good with a Museo de Jamon (literally Ham Museum... trust me: heaven for cured meats lovers), resto bars of varying price ranges, a McDonald's (for Americans), and nearby Alimentaciones (small supermarkets) to buy nibbles and other supplies made for a very good stay.

Acoustics in the hallways are crap so you can here people coming and going + doors slamming. Some carpeting would help a lot to soften the sounds.

I won't comment on price/ value-for-money as my group paid a packaged price with the travel agency.

I was very happy with service and the staff.

Overall I would stay here again - if someone paid for nearby NH Hotel I'd be grateful, but if it was my $$$ then Mediodia would be it.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel - specify facing Reina Sofia if you need to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papashugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Great location- across the street from Atocha train station; walking distance to all major attractions (next to Reina Sofia museum, approximately 5-10 min walk to Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and Retiro park, 15 min to Plaza Mayor or Puerta del Sol). Easy to get to from the airport (we took the yellow Airport Express bus for 5 Euro/pp, which goes every 15 min during the day from Terminals T1, T2 and T4).
There are few restaurants, café/bistros around (next to the hotel, in the back of the hotel and on Calle de Atocha). Better choices of restaurants (great food and ambience) are in the Plaza de Santa Ana area - 10 min walk from the hotel.
Room was on a smaller size, simple, with good bed and pillows, refrigerator, AC, great shower and very clean - all you need when planning to spend majority of the time sightseeing and taking train to Barcelona, Toledo, Cordoba or Seville. Free Wi-Fi worked well in the room.
Staff was very nice and helpful. Price was very reasonable. All in all-very good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilly519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#65 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#176 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#142 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#120 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mora
Hotel Mora
#229 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#77 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediodia

Property: Hotel Mediodia
Address: Plaza Emperador Carlos V 8, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mediodia 2*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mediodia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediodia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing