We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More to this than being next to Atocha”
Review of Hotel Mediodia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mediodia
Ranked #202 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More to this than being next to Atocha”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Sure, this hotel, just across the calle from the Atocha train station, is very convenient for travelers using the Spanish rail system. But, it also gives the traveler access to many wonderful Madrid attractions and experiences. Within a 15 minute walk.....three major museums, Parque Del Retiro, El Rastro, the opera house, Teatro de la Zarzuela, many many excellent cafes and restaurants and shops. And Metro Station Atocha is only 150 feet from the front door. The hotel is totally upgraded and rooms modern and very clean. If you choose to stay here, you definitely need to talk to Laba....he works the lobby during the morning hours and is the best resource getting around the City. He definitely will save you a lot of time and frustration in planning some of your activities. Hotel Mediodia is a hotel I would stay at even if it was not next to the Atocha Station

Room Tip: Ideal room would be in the rear of the hotel, overlooking the small plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaheimCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    428
    227
    45
    21
See reviews for
176
299
102
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four days as a group and found that it was a great hotel for only two stars.

The amenities are minimal but that wasn't a problem considering we were out exploring most of the time. The room was kept clean and it was really spacious. The beds were comfortable and they were made every day by the cleaning staff. The reception staff didn't speak a whole lot of English but as long as you are nice to them, they'll be nice to you.

The location was excellent as well, it was within walking distance of a number of museums (the reason we visited Madrid) and there was a metro right outside the hotel, which was also extremely cheap!

Overall a great place to stay, definitely considering going back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed one night after taking the train from Granada and needed to take a train to the airport in the morning. The location was perfect for reaching the train station. Close to restaurants and museums. It was all we needed for 1 night: bed and shower. Staff was friendly. We had a room facing the busy street so there was street noise, and the walls were thin so we could hear our neighbors.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 409funtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, Lancs
Level Contributor
259 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We travelled to the hotel on an inspection tour preparing for a school visit in April. Since our last visit in 2009 the hotel has had refurbishment in many areas. We were pleased with our front facing twin room. It was spacious, had plenty of wardrobe space and even a little fridge. The bathroom was spotless and well equipped. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren and it is easy to get disorientated. We took breakfast, basic continental fare, both mornings. Adequate, just about. Service was really friendly and helpful at the front desk and the free wifi is a definite bonus. The function room area on the first floor will help us when we return with our large party. We felt the area had been cleaned up since 2009 and felt less intimidating than before. Areas near stations can often feel threatening and that is not a welcome feeling when you are responsible for other people's children. The hotel is ideally situated for Atocha station and for the range of museums and art galleries on offer in the capital.

Room Tip: Probably quieter at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lottie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Centrally located for all the most important art galleries. Staff friendly and polite. The room we had was basic - I did appreciate the fridge. The TV was very small and difficult to watch high up on the wall. We did not have a view, and we had opted for a double bed but got two singles. They did say we could have a double bed but it would be on the first floor and they were expecting a party of 150 young people who might make a noise, so they had placed us on the 4th floor for more peace and quiet. Admittedly the noise levels were quite high, but overall it was comfortable and clean. We would stay there again and recommend it. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast which was up to continental standards and offered choices of rolls, cheese, jams, cereals and meats. From previous reviews we were not expecting as much. There were three plug points in our room, something we look for with electronic devices to recharge!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Ours faced a blank wall and stairwell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I chose this hotel because we were looking for a nice, affordable hotel close to the train station, since we were taking the train back to Madrid from Cordoba and also had a flight the following morning. We couldn't ask for more. We booked through the hotel website and got one of their online deals. We chose to include breakfast in the package because we were flying out early and did not want to run around trying to find an open restaurant. If you don't need to be anywhere early, we would recommend not getting the breakfast option (since it only includes a croissant, a cold roll, and juice and coffee), and there are plenty of fast food places and restaurants nearby. Otherwise, the hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff are nice and speak English, the rooms are sufficiently roomy, and most have great views of the street or the museum plaza. The furniture can use some updating, but I guess it's what gives the place character. The hotel's classic architecture is quite grand, and even though the place is old, it's doesn't feel rundown or sleazy. The location is next door to the Reina Sofia museum, close to the Caixa Fourm, and within walking distance of the Prado and Thyssen-Bornemisza museums. It's across the street from the Atocha train station, the metro, and the express airport bus stop. To go to the airport, we went to the Atocha train/metro station and took the C1 Renfe Cercanías commuter train directly to the airport. It costs a little over 5 euros for 2 people, and the train takes you DIRECTLY to the T4 terminal of the airport. This is half as expensive and quicker than taking the express airport bus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hemway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Mediodia is in a perfect location if you want to visit the Madrid museums (Prado, Reina Sofia, Thyssen). Accross the streat from Attocha station, where the Airport bus also arrives. Rooms are basic but perfectly OK. Service is friendly, hotel and rooms are clean. Smallish downsides are the extremely basic breakfast and the lack of power outlets in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepijn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#63 of 436 in Madrid
476 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#204 of 436 in Madrid
327 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#123 of 436 in Madrid
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#136 of 436 in Madrid
319 reviews
Paseo del Prado
NH Madrid Nacional
NH Madrid Nacional
#74 of 436 in Madrid
446 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mora
Hotel Mora
#237 of 436 in Madrid
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediodia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediodia

Property: Hotel Mediodia
Address: Plaza Emperador Carlos V 8, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Paseo del Prado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mediodia 2*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Mirai, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mediodia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediodia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing