We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Oporto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Real(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Urban(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Vincci Soho(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
53
78
35
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
78
35
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst floorroom was spacious and cleanquiet streetshowergranmuseo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After doing a few backpacking trips, I feel pretty much done with hostels. However, I couldn't resist for this trip as most of the hostels in Madrid seem to resemble more of a small hotel or pension - private bathrooms, maid service, amenities. Hostal Oporto was no exception. For the location, you can't beat the price.

We stayed here for one night. The room was clean and bigger than some other hostels we've stayed at. Only thing was that the room seemed a little cold, even though we turned up the heat. The woman at the reception was extremely helpful. She spoke excellent English and helped us book an airport shuttle van. We had been planning to walk to the pick-up point for the shuttle bus, but for only a few Euros more we could have a van pick us up right outside the hotel. No hassle, no worries about making it on the bus. So worth it, as we both were catching different flights and had two different pickup times. (The next morning's pickup was right on time and stress-free)

I wouldn't choose this hotel for an extended stay, but it gets the job done for a night or two.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivyrosewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel is in a great location very close to a lot of the museums and within walking distance of many of the sights of Madrid. It is also only a couple of minutes walk from a metro stop if you decide you want to take public transport. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but had everything you needed and was clean, the bathroom was also small but functional and clean. Air-con was available but the windows also opened. Wi-fi was excellent. Only negatives were that the bedspread looked slightly worn and dated and the TV was very old and small and positioned near the ceiling but if you are spending most of your time outside that is not too much of a problem. Overall it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frizznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is exactly what you need if you are travelling with more interest in staying all day strolling around in the city than staying indoors all day. It has an excellent location near las Huertas, puerta del sol, gran via, and of course, the museums. The staff is super friendly and they made us feel comfortable from the beginning of our stay. Rooms are small, but most importantly, quite clean.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pedro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The place is at a good location, but is a very shabby hostel. Bed mattress is very squeaky. Bath room is very small even for my size (5'7"). Worst of all, we could not sleep at all because of the noise from the next doors. A baby was talking loudly every morning as early as 6:00 AM. Among all of the hotels we stayed, this is the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterfromOhioUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

It would still be excellent if it had cost twice the price we paid. The location is 5 min walking from Sol. The staff (which consists of a husband and wife) was totally friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable enough; it even had a flat screen and a safe. Perfect for a visit to Madrid on a budget.
The only bad thing about this place was thin walls and a noise-making plumbing. Might be a problem for light-sleepers. Bring a pair of comfy earplugs as we did, and you'll be golden.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews