We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Madrid match stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Ranked #44 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Madrid match stay ”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as it was close to centre and a short metro ride to the stadium.

Hotel was perfect , clean quiet with everything you need (apart from tea and coffee in room) . The staff were fantastic , Carlos on reception was brilliant, helpful and polite, David and his colleagues, their level of customer service was 100%

Without doubt I would recommend you stay here while in Madrid

10/10

Thanks to everyone at the hotel

From room 412 new Real Madrid fans

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Newcastle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Is such an honor for us to read your comment, thank you very much to take your time to share your experience.
I will let know your complements to all the staff, specially to Carlos and David.

Hope you can visit us again.

Best regards,

César Rionda,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    237
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
125
264
38
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great staff, had issues with Thomas Cook & the staff were amazing and very helpful with helping us solve the issue! Let us have our room early which we were grateful of. Great location, beautiful hotel what more do you want? Would recomend staying here if in Madrid as it is central to everything. Really enjoyed our stay :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stace_the_face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much to take your time in recommend our hotel. It is fantastic for us to know that we helped you solving your issues and you had a great stay with us.
Hope you visit us soon.

Best regards,

César RIonda,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel ticked every box during our visit to Madrid. You are in an extremely central location just 5 minutes walk from Sol Metro station. The service from reception staff was fantastic, giving us all the information that we needed. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a large variety and the whole hotel atmosphere was very relaxed. The only feedback I would give is that the free wifi is a bit dodgy. I would recommend this hotel with no hesitation. If your going to Madrid, stay at Catalonia Sol!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrym28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Kerrym28,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are really happy you have had a great stay with us.
I take care about your comment concerning to the wifi.

Best regards and hope to see you son in the hotel.

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Hotel Catalonia Puerta de Sol is located in historical building within city center short walk from main plaza Puerta de Sol and approximately 1 km from Atocha train station. It is easily reach from Madrid Barajas Airport also via public transportation; metro and train. Due to its wonderful location, it offers comfort and convenience when it comes to shopping, sightseeing or food tasting.

Discreetly hidden from outside thus stunning once you enter, the majestic staircase awaits you into Hotel Catalonia Puerta de Sol which is part of hotel chain. Hoteles Catalonia owns properties all over Spain and Caribbean. The group is targeting customers preferring to spend their holidays in family-theme or golf resorts. About 63 rooms in three different categories; double room, superior room and suites are spread over 6 floors. All designed in elegant wooden style comes with minibar, air conditioning, private balcony with a view of patio or street Atocha and large TV. Modern bathroom is equipped with bathtub and toiletries for everyday use. The hotel provides wireless connection throughout the hotel buildinAfter long day full of shopping and sightseeing you can enjoy glass of wine or cup of coffee in the patio located on the ground floor where you sink in comfortable sofas and couches. When it comes to the gastronomy, you can also head to the restaurant and choose from typical dishes for the dinner or just simply relax while snacking to local tapas consisting paella, shrimp or Jamón Serrano. Breakfast is also served every day in the restaurant from 7.30 – 10.30 and guests can choose from variety of options including local ham and cheese as well as hot and cold buffet, pastries and fresh bread. If you are lazy enough to go down, just call the room service and ask for your breakfast in room.Hotel Catalonia Puerta de Sol is ideal not only for leisure but also business travelers who can benefit from use of conference room to hold their private business meeting or dinner with clients. Staff at the reception is friendly and ready to meet clients’ demands ranging from arranging airport transportation, booking city tour or advising you on outlet shopping options in suburb of Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hcslovanka1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Hcslovank,

Thank you very much for your comment absolutly full of information.
Just a few corrections:
Breakfast is from 7am until 10.30am monday to friday.
And 7.30am until 11am weekends.

There are 5 floors.

Thank you for take you time in show/explain the hotel to Tripadvisor members.

Hope to see you soon in the hotel.

Best regards,

César RIonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
813 reviews
287 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

First of all, we overpaid our rooms, booking them much in advance. On place, it appeared, we could have them much cheaper in the almost empty hotel / Three Kings holiday /. The room, we got, was facing to the internal courtyard and was generally very dark. The window covering was also dark and overwhelming the space and the colours of the walls were too much aggressive. The bed lights are not sufficient either and it`s difficult to read in the night. The positive elements were: very kind staff in the front desk, beautiful staircase and excellent location in the down-town, with the walking distance to the many interesting points of Madrid. Also the breakfast, served in the bit austere basement, was faultless.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Laserkid,

Thank you for your comments.
I am happy to know you found our staff profesional and helpfull.
I take note of all the details you have commented. I am sure we can solve them.
Hope you will come to visit us soon, I am absolutly sure you will have a wonderfull stay and you will see our improves.

Best regards,

César RIonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee On Delaware
Level Contributor
172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I'd love to give this hotel a great rating, because just about everything deserves praise except the heating system. From the moment we entered our room (December) it was stuffy and overheated. The thermostat only brought more heat, but no cooling. The staff explained that the cooling system for the whole building was turned off for winter. Opening the windows to the interior courtyard and opening the door to the hallway brought some relief. But it ended as soon as the door was closed. If you don't mind temperatures of 75F or so, then no problem. If you like to sleep cooler, this is a big problem. I tossed and turned for two nights. Otherwise I'd rate this hotel very good. Friendly staff, clean and well-planned rooms with ample space, nice public lounge in the interior courtyard of this remodeled classic building (no gym). Good free wifi. Minutes to Plaza Mayor and Puerto del Sol. An easy twenty minute walk up the street from Atocha railroad station. Maybe in summer the air conditioning provides better climate control.

Room Tip: Perhaps exterior rooms where the windows open to the street provide better climate control, but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertitoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Robertito,

First of all I want to wish you a happy new year.
I have to say thank you for your comments. Concerning to the heating sistem we have already solve all the inconveniences. Thank you to let us know because of that we can improve.

I really hope to see you again in the hotel, i am sure you will have a much better experience.

Best regards,

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My mother and I were treated so nicely by Adalberto and his kind team during our stay. The rooms were spotless, the beds were comfortable and breakfast was a real treat. The hotel is so central you can walk to all the main attractions. Excellent value for such a nice hotel. Many thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moluki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moratindireccion, Director General at Catalonia Puerta del Sol, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Moluki,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. I am happy to know you have a wonderfull stay with us. I will let your comments know to Adalberto and his team.

Hope you can visit us again.

Best regards and Merry Christmas,

César Rionda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 436 in Madrid
1,453 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Atocha
Catalonia Atocha
#72 of 436 in Madrid
1,336 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
Hotel Room Mate Alicia
#47 of 436 in Madrid
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Puerta del Sol

Property: Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Atocha 23, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#38 Family Hotel in Madrid
#52 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#78 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Puerta del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Moratin hotel, which opened its doors in August 2002, is conveniently situated near the famous Golden Triangle (the Prado Museum, the Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia Museum), adjacent to the historic nucleus of the city which includes the Puerta del Sol and the Plaza Mayor. It is only a few metres away from the Plaza Santa Ana, known to be one of the best places for tapas nationwide, and close to the most popular theatres in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Moratin Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing