We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly very good”
Review of Ganivet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ganivet Hotel
Ranked #117 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nearly very good”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Recently stayed here with some friends for 3 nights,although standards of rooms are generally good they are let down by the bathrooms which are small,no fan and windows that open into shower very iffy therefore bathrooms become very wet and slippery. The breakfasts are very good and the staff friendly and helpful, as a hotel to stay in would not put at the top choice if visiting Madrid again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    887
    185
    37
    17
See reviews for
369
703
80
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed there for 8 nights in the end of decembar 2013. Hotel is near two metro lines (maybe 2minuts walk), This hotel is really close to city center (maybe 10-15 minuts walk from Plaza Mayor and Puerta de Sol). Near hotel on sundays there is a market El Rastro (maybe 2 minuts walk). There are also small shops near hotel (food, bars, supermarkets).

Rooms are good and clean. I guess this hotel should get 4th star. They are really doing great job.

The breakfast was really good (huge selection of food). Staff is really good. I must mention in the lobby there is a small restorant and bar. Prices are really good. We enjoyed every night.
If we go back to Madrid we will pick this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puslica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights ,at end of March , and I was really happy that I have choose it for our mini holiday . The hotel has a good location , closed to Puerta Toledo Metro and aprox 1 km from Plaza Mayor. Rooms and the bathroom are big enough and very clean and comfortable.The breakfast is very good , a lot of dishes from you can pick your favorite : fruits, cereals,dry fruits ,different cheese ,vegetables,etc . Very good pastry and spanish coffee . The staff from hotel is very helpful . It was nice that we had the possibility to leave our luggage in a room near reception after we check out in the last day , till we had the flight back home. I recomand this hotel if you plan a holiday in Madrid, I will pick it again when I will turn back :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loret09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent location close to two Metro lines. The room was well equipped, and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was first class with a good selection of hot and cold food, a wonderful addition included in the room rate. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. This hotel is amazing value. The room and breakfast were far better than a 4 star hotel not far away at twice the price. Lots of decent places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great budget hotel. Rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly and you can't fault the location. Short walk to Plaza Major or the Palace and walk the other way for the underground. Madrid's train/underground is also very easy to use. I would recommend using this to get from the airport as cheap and easy and of course adds to the fun of the holiday. Had a great trip and would stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on the main road and it was still quiet at night with the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzieq75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My friend and i have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel, I cannot fault it. Our room was spotless and kept so by the housekeeping staff- clean towels every day.! The buffet breakfast could not h ave been better. There were very good choices with both the hot and cold food., plenty of fresh and tinned fruit, and a numerous sorts of bread and pastries. The dining room was kept clean and tables cleared promptly by the staff.
The hotel is very well situated, 2 minutes from the metro, 5 minutes walk to La Latina and the rastro, and 10 minutes walk to the plaza major.
Also there is a cobbler in the market a few door a way if your shoes need heeling urgently!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanm818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Good location, although at first it looks a little scary from the outside...but it isn't! Close to city center and metro! Stayed here with a group of students and had ZERO problems! Wifi in rooms worked wonderfully! Our student a really enjoyed keeping in touch with friends and family! Breakfast was good!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#133 of 436 in Madrid
929 reviews
Hotel Acta Madfor
#115 of 436 in Madrid
1,135 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 436 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#202 of 436 in Madrid
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganivet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganivet Hotel

Property: Ganivet Hotel
Address: Toledo Street 111-113, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Madrid
#130 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganivet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ganivet Hotel *** is situated in the historical center of Madrid, close to the major sights and attractions of the city such as Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia . Also, it is in the trendy tapas and restaurants area (La Latina, Cava Alta and Mercado de San Miguel). The Ganivet Hotel *** is equipped with the most complete and modern facilities. Its careful design environment combines the classicism of Old Madrid with a trendy and cozy decor. Guests can reach the center of Madrid in his own vehicle and they will have the possibility of a parking lot at the garage located in the same building. Its central location combined with the comfort of its modern facilities and a professional and friendly service make the Hotel Ganivet an ideal place to stay during your visit to Madrid, both for tourism and/or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ganivet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganivet Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing