We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Ganivet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ganivet Hotel
Ranked #117 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Gavinet for 4 nights in the middle of August and had a great stay. The hotel is very clean and modern looking and the rooms are very nice. Beds are very comfy and the bathrooms are well equipped! All of this for a very good price! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    887
    185
    37
    17
See reviews for
369
703
80
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. This was our first visit to Madrid.

We used the Metro to get to and from the airport. It takes 3 lines but it is actually very easy to get to the hotel. We bought a 5 day ticket so didn't have to bother with airport surcharge or needing change etc during our stay whenever we wanted to go anywhere.

At the hotel all staff we encountered were very friendly, professional and courteous. We arrived early but our room was ready so they let us check in straight away.

We had a 3rd floor double facing the back. No view to speak of but the room was very quiet which is more important.

The room was lovely, spotless and comfortable. It had everything we needed, good a/c - just as well it was 37 degrees during our stay. No mini bar fridge to keep water cold but there is a water cooler by the lift so getting cold water was no problem. The bed was comfortable. Extra pillows in the wardrobe. Daily housekeeping do a grand job. Nice bathroom but no fan or window so it did get a bit steamy so had to be careful not to slip on the tiled floor.

Breakfast - we had this each day. Varied, plentiful, well stocked. They replenished things often and before they ran out. Lots of fresh fruits, cereal, baked goods, and hot buffet, really something for everyone.

Evening buffet - this was on a few nights while we were there. We went twice (I think they only have this when they have groups booked in but it is available to all guests) it is 15 euros each. Like breakfast the food was good and plenty of it. Twice was enough though, I don't think you would want to go every night but great if you have been out all day and don't want to go too far in the evening. A drink is included in the price. It is a bit like a dining room rather than a restaurant but that doesn't detract from the food.

Free wifi is available - we got logged on no problem and it was adequate for what we needed it for.

Nice sofa area in reception and a nice bar.

It took us 10 minutes to walk to Plaza Mayor from the hotel, it is easy to get about. Bus stop across the road, a metro station at both ends of the road. At the bottom of the road you can get a C1 or C2 bus, they are circulars and quite a good way to take a trip round to get a feel for the area.

A few nice bars in the area, someone mention beers for 1.5 euros in an earlier review. This is in Cerveceria 100 Montaditos, the staff are really nice, speak good English. They serve 100 different varieties of mini-bocadillos and other snacks. Nice place to spend some time people watching (they are a chain so there are a few about the city).

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScottyLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Enjoyed my stay. Had a triple. Rooms are small but it accommodated us nicely. Also, enjoyed the coffee shop in the hotel. Did not partake in the Continental Breakfast, found the coffee shop more reasonable. They only had bath towels and hand towels while I was there, no washcloths. Otherwise my stay was without incident, which is a good thing in this day and age.

Room Tip: We had an inside room on the 3rd floor. There was not a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimpickens2916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at the Ganivet for 4 nights in August. Read lots of reviews before choosing this hotel, based on location and price. We were more than happy with the hotel, it served as a great base to explore Madrid. Ten minute stroll to the Plaza Mayor and 100m from bus stop for Madrid Tour bus. Our room was immaculate, bathroom had everything we needed, great hot water and powerful shower. Breakfast was part of our deal and it was more than adequate to set us up for a day in the city.
WiFi was free and worked well, better in reception area. Local shops ideal for picking up drinks and essentials and much cheaper than in the city centre. Supermarket in meat/fish market just a few doors from the hotel.

Staff friendly and helpful and we really had no complaints at all. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were given a street facing room which wasn't at all noisy as I thought it would be as the windows kept the noise out. The room was big enough considering we still had enough space to move around after they put the baby cot. The rooms were clean. Breakfast was pretty good, many different options to choose from. The kind of breakfast that doesn't really get boring after some time. The hotel is located about 2 minutes walk to the metro station Puerto Toledo. Please note, that if you have lots of luggage this metro station has no elevator, ( if there is one, I didn't see it). If you would like to do the city tour, the bus stop is a few minutes away. If you feel like taking a walk Plaza Mayor is some 20 minutes away. The staff was friendly and could speak good English.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Had a lovely stay here, requested a back facing room but was given a street facing, didn't matter at all as the modern double glazed windows kept out all noise, breakfast was okay if u made it down early enough, friendly staff throughout, room was clean, modern and comfy beds, cheap yet good quality a short walk to plaza major and all the sites and la latina market,
hotel was only for sleep shower and breakfast and a few warm up drinks in our room, had a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a street facing room, it's not a main route and the windows really do shut out the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martz360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It's located really close to some monuments and old streets. The metro station was also nearby, so it was convenient to travel around.
Room was clean and comfortable, but average in size.
Only problem is that the air-con was on constant heater, which made the room too warm.
Opposite the hotel is a club, so it tends to be noisy in the night, if your room is facing the road.

Room Tip: Get a room, which is not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
#133 of 436 in Madrid
929 reviews
Hotel Acta Madfor
#115 of 436 in Madrid
1,134 reviews
Arguelles
Suites Viena
Suites Viena
#25 of 436 in Madrid
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#202 of 436 in Madrid
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganivet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganivet Hotel

Property: Ganivet Hotel
Address: Toledo Street 111-113, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Madrid
#130 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganivet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ganivet Hotel *** is situated in the historical center of Madrid, close to the major sights and attractions of the city such as Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza and Reina Sofia . Also, it is in the trendy tapas and restaurants area (La Latina, Cava Alta and Mercado de San Miguel). The Ganivet Hotel *** is equipped with the most complete and modern facilities. Its careful design environment combines the classicism of Old Madrid with a trendy and cozy decor. Guests can reach the center of Madrid in his own vehicle and they will have the possibility of a parking lot at the garage located in the same building. Its central location combined with the comfort of its modern facilities and a professional and friendly service make the Hotel Ganivet an ideal place to stay during your visit to Madrid, both for tourism and/or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ganivet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganivet Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing