We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Ranked #186 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced, helping staff, clean and big rooms with required amenities, good breakfast, execellent location! What more you can ask for?

The mini bar is complimentary!

You can ask for more water at no addl cost!

The front desk people always keen to help you with a smile!

Made our Madrid stay memorable!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vipul61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at our hotel was as nice as he says. Your comment makes us proud of the work done daily, with the sole purpose of meeting the needs of our guests.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Javier Álvarez Nadal
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    487
    202
    87
    68
See reviews for
328
440
70
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Madrid and we had a great time and enjoyed staying at Senator. Room was big and looked modern and old at the same time. Very classy. Air condition worked like charm, room was quiet and had nice views to the street. Bathroom was new and clean, shower had bathtub if one enjoys that. Staff was great and cleaning worked as it should. Hotel was nicely located and is easy to arrive from the train station like we did. Breakfast was versatile and good, specially liked their coffee machine with multiple choices of different coffee blends. Hotel has a spa which we didnt try but there's small gym there I tried out. Nothing fancy but enough for a quick exercise. It's open from 11-21 and reception said they can let you in earlier if needed. Last and definetely the best thing, there's a jacuzzi and sunbeds at the roof! I think they dont advertise it anywhere but it was nice surprise we found. I can recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tero S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We are very proud of the location of the hotel. As you said we are in the very centre of Madrid within a walking distance to most of the touristic points of the city. We are more than happy to see that you liked the service provided by our staff.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Javier Álvarez Nadal
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It wasn't terrible, just a bit tired, and not up to our expectations. The plus points were the reception staff and the free water in the mini fridge. The bits that let it down were that our room was very dark with no outlook, even though we were on the top floor (11) but were on the inside of the building. The free wifi was so slow it was not worth having. The room was old fashioned and needed a refurbishment as it did not compare with other hotels of this price and claim of 4 star standard. I wouldn't say not to stay there. It is central after all but keep your expectations down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We are really sorry to hear that the room . staff an wi.fi , you had during your stay didn´t like you.
We hope that you can give us another opportunity in the future as our maximum aim is that our guests feel like at home during their stay here and that they think about us for their following visits to Madrid. We are sorry to hear that we haven´t achieved it this time.

Javier Álvarez Nadal
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Madrid, 4 at least, and this one is definitely my favourite! Made very special by the man on reception, so sorry i didn't get his name but he was lovely! We were so lucky had a front view on 11th floor with the view of the palacio real, for £50 a night!!!! The rooms were very comfortable with amazing air con, free mini bar and triple glazing! Couldn't hear the roaring traffic outside, completely silent.
You can't beat this hotel for value or customer service! The only slight downer which was a little annoying was the fact the terrace with the hot tub wasn't open, they said it opened in summer on the website and when we arrived it wasn't open until 21st June and it 30 degrees outside. But it was only a small thing compared to everything else! Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,
It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at our hotel was as nice as he says. Your comment makes us proud of the work done daily, with the sole purpose of meeting the needs of our guests.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Javier Álvarez Nadal
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel in the middle of the center, no need to have breakfast in the Hotel, just go out and find some local. SPA you have to book in advance and you have to pay extra............................................

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We are very proud of the location of the hotel. As you said we are in the very centre of Madrid within a walking distance to most of the touristic points of the city. We are more than happy to see that you liked the service provided by our staff.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Javier Álvarez Nadal
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was a big disappointment for us, though probably about right for the price, located as it is in Central Madrid, for £75 for the night. But we had been staying in some great hotels in other parts of Spain that were just wonderful, so this was a real come down.

And you cab do a lot better in other hotels, eg the Liabeny.

Main issues for us were -
- 11th floor room and internal room with no view. Managed to get vertigo looking down the internal shaft, with no benefits of great view over Madrid.
- room was very stuffy and air con not great, too cold or too hot and too noisy
- tired looking decor
- Plastic bath and shower impossible to control, suddenly going too hot or cold
- wifi free - ha! what wifi
- free tea and coffee - ha! One tea bag, one sachet of Nescafé
- Gran Via is too busy. Better to book a hotel central, but off main drag.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all what it could have been.

We thank you for your comments to which we will bear your impressions in mind, we will work in improving the marked points in order that in a next visit your perception of the products received is totally satisfactory.

Javier Álvarez Nadal
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Personal speaks good english, Roms Are
Clean, spanish clean, Gran via Street is very loud
If you Open the window, did not take the breakfast but it was looking okay, Swimmingpool Area was pretty old but still ok, not
Worth the Price (16€), still a recommendation for
Hotel, depends on the Occasion, in our Case Place was important, not the comfort

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromheart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.
We are really sorry to hear that the room . staff and breakfast and spa , you had during your stay didn´t like you.
We hope that you can give us another opportunity in the future as our maximum aim is that our guests feel like at home during their stay here and that they think about us for their following visits to Madrid. We are sorry to hear that we haven´t achieved it this time.

Javier Álvarez Nadal
Gerente Senator Gran Via 70 Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#172 of 444 in Madrid
962 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#98 of 444 in Madrid
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
NH Madrid Zurbano
#107 of 444 in Madrid
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel

Property: Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Address: Calle Gran Via 70, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#125 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Espana Hotel Madrid
Senator Espana Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing