We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable and Reprehencable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Puerta del Sol
Ranked #53 of 390 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unacceptable and Reprehencable”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed for eight nights. They charge payment upon arrival, and there are no refunds. The noise from the other rooms and the corridor was so loud at all hours of the night, I couldn't get any sleep. When I complained to the manager about the noise, I was told that the other guests had paid their money for their rooms, and could behave as they liked. I guess my money wasn't worth as much as theirs. I was further insulted by being told that no hotel anywhere in the world would be willing to deal with noise complaints. Obviously he hadn't noticed the vast array of stamps in my passport at check-in. I'm actually an experienced budget traveler. If you want to fight, blare your music, and have loud sex, all with the door of your room wide open, this is defiantly the place for you! Just make sure you have the right passport! Unfortunately, it wasn't until after my stay that I read further into the owner's responses to reviews of this hostel. It was then that I realized I could add unfriendly to Americans to the list of unacceptable things about this place. Owner responses to negative European reviewers are friendly quips signed "Best Regards." Owner responses to negativity from Americans is vastly different! When Europeans want to belittle Americans, they have two favorite "go-to"s. First, they insult our eating habits. Then, they accuse us of being disrespectful by wanting everyplace in the world to be exactly like America. Sadly yes, there are many Americans that fit this stereotype. There are also many more that do not! Like racism, and anti antisemitism, my patience for these types of insults is very thin! Sweeping assumptions about someone based on the country in which their passport was issued is highly offensive! Yes, there are signs in reception threatening to pepper spray people. Furthermore, it's not only Americans who give negative reviews to their breakfast. I encourage other Americans to read further into owner comments before you decide to give this business your "wonderful american" dollars. Also, a note to less experienced budget travelers. Know that you don't have to "go with big money" to find a good night sleep and A LOT more respect. Not every budget hotel will judge you by your passport!

Room Tip: Good rooms and good people are elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    108
    48
    9
    20
See reviews for
17
90
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here at the end of October. If you are looking for a great budget hostel, with wonderful helpful friendly staff, very clean rooms, a location that can not be beat, best value in Madrid, good free breakfast, free wifi etc etc this is the place for YOU. The two guys that run the front desk can not do enough for you.,other staff are just as helpful and friendly.. I had a great room with private bathroom,and lots of hot water,clean towels every day, spotlessly clean. Would definately stay again.. Try it you will NOT be dissapointed ..

Room Tip: take a room with private bathroom at these prices you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If you're a seasoned budget traveler, this is the spot for you. This hostel is clean, large and friendly. Free breakfast (typical hostel fair - toast, cereal, coffee), the rooms are cleaned daily, and the location is right in the heart of Puerta del Sol. Absolutely can't beat it for the price.

Look, if you're a regular hostel-hopper, you know what a *really* bad hostel is like, and this is not one of them. I think sometimes people with less experience see the price tag and still expect 3-4 star lodgings, then leave a bad review when the business doesn't meet their expectations. Read the reviews of regular world travelers, educate yourself, and go in with more reasonable expectations. Yes, it's a shared bathroom, but it was cleaned every day. The mattresses on our beds were fine, but they're not the feathertops you'll get at Marriott. If you need that when you travel, stay at a Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopgirlmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very good located in the heart of Madrid Center. But !!! 1 Bathroom for 6 rooms ! Doors and beds make noise. The walls were too fine, you ear everything from other rooms and other flours !!! The worst bed of my life !!! Hard and grate ! The breakfirst sucks.... There is almost no choice. The Wi-fi was free but I couldn't get it from my room !!!! Only from the reception and not in the dinneroom (Its supposed to but the signal was too weak !) So for me, the baddest hotel I ever went. For this price, you can't wait for luxury but there is a limit ! Only the location was excellent. My recommandation : Go on Plaza Del Sol but don't take this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

So we're young, on a budget, want to be in the action and like clean places but dont mind a bit of grit. Theres been 2 protests in 2 days in the square. Talk abouy action! Needless to say, we stayed here and loved it. If ur like us, stay here. If you like quiet and plush, keep searching. Oh and the gay owners are lovely. Quite a homely feel. Free brekkie. Pay extra for a room overlooking the square.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2013

A lovely almost homely place which delivers all you need if you're in town for tourism. It's central though which is great (but take earplugs)! Really surprised at the quality of the room. Highly recommended. Great Wi-Fi too!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The best thing about this hotel has got to be the location. It couldn't be any more central, and Puerta Del Sol is one of the most interesting squares in Madrid, with lots of activity happening, day and night.

I opted for an ensuite room. It was located nearest to the lobby, and next to the computer (which is in the hallway). It was a little noisy at times, especially when the people in the next room had their shower at 3.30am! The hotel is unfortunately not very soundproof, but fortunately for me I'm a deep sleeper! The room itself is very basic, and there are a few things that could do with repairing, notably a plug socket that was visibly broken, and kept sparking when I tried to insert a plug. However, if the room was in a good state of repair and nicely furnished, I daresay I wouldn't be able to afford to stay there. I was a bit disappointed not to be overlooking the square. My room had frosted glass, behind which was a very uninteresting view. If you get a choice I'd go for a room overlooking the square. However, being close to the reception, I had a very good wifi signal. My room was cleaned daily, including a daily change of towels.

The staff were friendly, especially the guy who checked me in, who took great trouble to acquaint me to the city, and recommended restaurants and places to visit.

Breakfast was simple but perfect for me. It consisted of bread (toast), ham, cheese, jam, marmalade, cornflakes, coffee, tea.

For anyone arriving at Puerta Del Sol and trying to locate the hostal, look out for a big green cross, denoting a pharmacy. The hostal is right next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilsolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#68 of 436 in Madrid
88 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 436 in Madrid
2,483 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 390 in Madrid
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Puerta del Sol

Property: Hostal Puerta del Sol
Address: Plaza Puerta del Sol 14-4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 390 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Puerta del Sol 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice rooms in the center of Madrid, Puerta del Sol Square. Tourisme and night life is here. All rooms have air cond, and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing