We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Ranked #229 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Breakfast was fine and better than some hotels of this level, i.e. pastries at breakfast tasted as good as they looked, reception staff friendly, hotel as unexpected stylish elements which I enjoyed, room small for a double but fine for a single.

Location wise is very central, very busy outside and not the prettiest of areas but don't judge Madrid on that , go further afield and there are lots of treasures. There are sex workers on the street which is a little sad and as has been mentioned they don't create any bother.

If you get the right price this is very good value. 3 minutes walk down hill from Metro stop. Metro is a bit like London, ups and downs and stairs be prepared but if you have light luggage no problem.

Room Tip: As high up and away from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemondrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    154
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
125
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We booked this hotel through "Groupon" of Switzerland (!) Therefore the price was a real bargain for a good middleclass hotel in the towncenter. We were happy to get a room at the 3rd floor, so the street noise was acceptable despite a lot of germann sokker fans.
The room and the bath were modern and quite well equipped, even with a valet stand including throusers ironing facility. The personnel was very friedly and helpful. Breakfast excellent, not obvious in Spain. Bus and metro stops within a short walk and the few street prostitutes reported here didn´t bother us...All emblematic buildings and "casco viejo" within a few minutes walk too.
Definitely we will come back again and can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HermannBilbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Perfect hotel for the money! Awesome location and very very very helpful staff. Ask for a quiet room - you will hear no noise at all. There was a musty smell at times but only sometimes and even then wasn't that bad.

Close to everything and a middle of center of Madrid! Small and personal! Free WiFI and a free computer with printer to use downstairs near the lobby. The safe does require a 1 Euro coin to close.
In other reviews I read about prostitutes hanging out near the hotel - and while the end of the Montera street is a red light district - it is probably further away because I didn't see any prostitutes directly near the hotel.

Again the front desk personal was more helpful then in two more expensive hotels in Spain that we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masha35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

the room was very roomy, although it had two twin beds. Safe required a euro each time to lock it which was a little inconvenient. The breakfast was very good. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English which was so helpful. The connections from here are great for metro bus or any other touring.

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room but our room on the backside was very noisy at night until we figured out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We picked this hotel for our 2 day visit to Madrid for accessiblity and comfort and we were not disappointed. We arrived by way of the high speed train then connected on the Metro right into Puerta del Sol. Easy walking from the stop. The staff spoken excellent English and were very helpful. Our room was neat, clean and comfy. Not huge, just efficient with a private bath. We loved the breakfast in the morning giving us a chance to start our touring early. Easy walking to all of the sites we had on our list and a Metro ride away from the rest. The one caution is the noise from outside. Old Town is a noisy "up all night" type of neighborhood and depending upon on your room location, you might not be able to escape the sounds of the night life. Be prepared for hollering and singing outside into the wee hours. We loved this hotel, but the outdoor noise was a bit frustrating. Our stay in Madrid was delightful and easy because of where we stayed.

Room Tip: I am not certain (because of the shape of the building) that there is any good room location at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We found this hotel viewing a variety of internet sites. Took the train and subway from the airport. In the center of Madrid steps from the Plaza del Sol. If you want quiet get a hotel on a back street one or two streets over with more business that are not restaurants and bars, not in the center of any major city where the street are restricted for walking and minor traffic.
The hotel had all the amenities. Private bath, clean and well maintained. The ac worked well as did everything else in the room.
I enjoyed the singing and action outside in the wee hours of the morning.

Room Tip: If you want a room away from the street request it. If you have a complaint about people getting up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larrysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We asked for and received a very quiet room though it did have an odd cooking oil smell as it was right over the breakfast room. Room was excellent for an European hotel(still waiting for Europe to discover queen or king sized beds,rather than pushing two twins together as they frequently do). The staff at the front desk were great. Great location if you want to be in all of the action of the puerta del sol area. The breakfast deserves a special mention. it was very good, with a generous variety of many items and came included in the price.
Wifi worked perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitdoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#91 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#257 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Montera 22, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ateneo Puerta Del Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing