We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Ranked #223 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were staying at an apartment when a fire broke out. As a result, we had to move to a hotel unexpectedly. We tried a few hotels in vain, but when we told our story to the receptionist Sherita at Hotel Ateneo, she was just so helpful and understanding. We thought our holiday was ruined but thanks to Sherita's help, the nice hotel room and excellent service overall, we had a wonderful time after all. Thanks!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    156
    56
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
129
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice clean hotel with a good breakfast to start your day. Located in the heart of Madrid at the plaza del Sol. It is easy walking distance to the museums, Retiro park, Plaza Mayor, the palace and the cathedral. Lots of restaurants and shops and the nightlife on the weekend was non-stop. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to experience downtown Madrid without having to deal with lots of taxi rides or buses. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday with friends and stayed at this great hotel situated in the heart of the city great location and very friendly staff, would definitely recommend it for short breaks.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stay2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel has a perfect location two short blocks from Plaza Puerta Del Sol in the center of Madrid. The hotel itself is nice and clean and the staff was extremely helpful. When we had a problem with a maid accidentally breaking a makeup case, the hotel reimbursed the cost OS the case without complaint. If we are ever back in Madrid, this is the hotel we are staying at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The location is worth the price, and likely what you are paying for. Safe area...a bit busy, but again, it's right in the center and at the main metro stop. Though, we were able to skip the metro and just walk everywhere. The rooms are tiny, and several things literally fell-apart...trash can, light fixture. Also, my towel reeked of cigarette smoke. But the aircon works and the WiFi is good, and free in the rooms. I would recommend only if you are not spending much time in the room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel in the centre and ticks all the boxes for the traveller. We had a great time.
Roma are big and we got a great price for 2 nights via booking. Com
Transport was easy and food options nearby are plenty.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Ateneo in September 2013. It was easy to find, in a very good and central location. It's on a busy street and yet by 12am it's lovely and quiet.

The staff were friendly and there was somewhere to leave your luggage once the room is vacated.

The room had nice clean linen and a clean and modern bathroom.

Room Tip: The room at the front of the hotel was quieter than at the back, but both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#78 of 435 in Madrid
1,092 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#139 of 435 in Madrid
909 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
#80 of 435 in Madrid
925 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#55 of 435 in Madrid
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Montera 22, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Mirai, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ateneo Puerta Del Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing