We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again”
Review of Elba Madrid Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elba Madrid Alcala
Ranked #143 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a business meeting. Spacious and clean. However: total disorganisation at check in and many people were checked out days before their scheduled check out (easily solved but nuisance), terrible wireless in meeting rooms, overpriced catering. Worst for me: awful matress. Would not come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guest513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz A, Guest Relations Manager at Elba Madrid Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First at all, apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken into account all your comments and we have informed the General Manager about this issue.
It's very important for our staff that our guests have a nice stay and we are very worried about the problems you have reported us.
We have taken the appropiate measures in order to avoid something like that to happen again.
We hope to recover your trust in us, and give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerously,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

first of all: thank you for extremely late check out. our flight has been postponed and we've got late check out as late as 19h.
second: rooms very nice, clean. no Platinum upgrade. wi fi free of charge for Platinum members.
Location: 5km nice walk on Calle Alcala to center. Passing Plaza del Toros etc.... must walk:). at least, once!
If you don't like long walks use tube (metro).
P.S. Learn Spanish - No one speaks English in Madrid

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexa2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz A, Guest Relations Manager at Elba Madrid Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

It is an honour for Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala to receive from you so pleasant opinion. We take note of your suggestions in order to improve our services.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is situated in the Ciudad Lineal region of Madrid. Metro station at +/- 500m and 15min from the airport. Metro takes about 20-30 min to reach the centre.
Sometimes there's a taxi in front of the hotel but be aware that the fee can easily go up to 15 euro to get to the centre.

The hotel is sleek modern, the rooms are spacious and very clean.
Hotel staff are multilingual and very friendly.

Due to my status with IHG I got a room upgrade to a recently renovated superior room with whirlpool tub and a very comfortable bed. Appreciated! The room was also very quiet.
I did not see the other rooms.

Furthermore the hotel offers free WiFi and quite an extensive breakfast for an Holiday Inn.

The bar is nice and offers quite a range of food and drinks. I did not try the restaurant.
On -1 you'll find a nice gym with also a separate spinning (bikes) room. There's also a small swimming pool.

If you don't mind spending 20 to 30 min in a metro or need a hotel close to the airport, I would suggest giving this one a try. It offers really good value for money and the staff is very helpful.
The hotel also offers a shuttle service from and to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mkiverijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz A, Guest Relations Manager at Elba Madrid Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

It is an honour for Holiday Inn Madrid - Calle Alcala to receive from you so pleasant opinion. We take note of your suggestions in order to improve our services.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stay here mainly because im watching el classico match between Real Madrid vs Barcelona..the hotel it self is quiet okay..room is very typical Holiday inn...breakfast they served is also good...
location wise is good also..its within walking distance to one of the el corte ingles ,5 minutes to closest mini market.
Im really glad to stay here because after the match I only have to walk less than 10 minutes to reach my hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz A, Guest Relations Manager at Elba Madrid Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. it is very pleasant to know that you liked the Hotel Holiday Inn Madrid Calle Alcala, and our services and Staff.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've stayed here on business a few times now. The easily most frustrating point about this hotel is that there are no irons in the rooms, unless you're in a suite. Hence for the many business folk that must chose this hotel given it's relative central location, must share in the same frustration I have to arrive and not be able to iron a shirt for the following day.

I've never stayed in a hotel that doesn't have irons (either in room or available from reception). This needs sorting.

Aside from that, the hotel is fairly ok. Good rooms, free wifi is decent and the breakfast was ok.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank jwpollard100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz A, Guest Relations Manager at Elba Madrid Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Good morning

Thanks for choosing our Hotel Holiday Inn Madrid Calle Alcala for your stay in Madrid. We have noted your comments and will try to improve them.

We look forward to keeping your trust for your future stays in our city.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Was in Madrid on business & was booked by my local contact at this property.
Very Good Rooms. Most importantly very helpful and welcoming staff !!
Breakfast is also good but missed some Brown bed & some hot veg stuff
Overall a nice stay. May come back. I am expecting back in 2 days.

Room Tip: Cannot say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QCINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz A, Guest Relations Manager at Elba Madrid Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very pleasant to know that you liked the Hotel Holiday Inn Madrid-Calle Alcala, and our service and staff. We hope to offer you our service in your next visits to Madrid.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pros:
- Spacious rooms
- Kettle in the room with tea and coffee
- Warm service
- Nice breakfast
- Two type of pillows to choose from
- Huge shower and shower head
- Clean
- Nice message you can hang on the door if you plan to be in the room for some time during morning and not be disturbed by the cleaning lady
- Free WiFi - no password even

Cons:
- Not enough noise isolation between rooms
- Air-con control not really making any difference - at some point it was so hot I opened a window in the middle of the night.
- Sometime missing bath items (hotel's I mean...not personal)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asafpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz A, Guest Relations Manager at Elba Madrid Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very pleasant to konw that you liked the Hotel Holiday Inn Madrid- Calle Alcala, and our services and staff.

Best regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
San Blas
Occidental Madrid Este
Occidental Madrid Este
#75 of 442 in Madrid
768 reviews
Ibis Madrid Calle Alcala
#127 of 442 in Madrid
909 reviews
Holiday Inn Madrid
#302 of 442 in Madrid
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Blas
ILUNION Alcala Norte
ILUNION Alcala Norte
#113 of 442 in Madrid
751 reviews
NH Madrid Ventas
#57 of 442 in Madrid
908 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#174 of 442 in Madrid
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elba Madrid Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elba Madrid Alcala

Address: C/ Alcala 476, 28027 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Velada Madrid Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Madrid
#99 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#104 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#107 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £56 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elba Madrid Alcala 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the well-known Calle Alcalá, merely 15 minutes by metro from the city centre, the Elba Madrid Alcalá 4* Hotel offers ideal accommodation for all types of guests thanks to the services and facilities on offer, as well as its good connections with the different parts of the city; taxis and buses stop in front of the hotel and two metro stations are just a 5-minute-walk away. For our guests’ convenience, free airport transfer service is offered from 5:00 a.m. to 00:45 a.m., 365 days a year. The hotel has spacious, light and fully-equipped rooms and personalised attention so you’ll feel right at home. The hotel’s services are complemented by an a la carte Restaurant with a cosy ambiance, large windows and access from the outside and a Cafe – Covered Terrace for a drink or trying our snack menu. It has 15 fully-equipped meeting rooms, free high-speed Wi-Fi and large parking areas. It's just 15 minutes from the IFEMA Congress Centre and Madrid Barajas Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elba Madrid Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velada Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing