We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPER SUPER CENTRAL AND NOT BAD” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Aresol

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hostal Aresol
Ranked #81 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Filottrano, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SUPER SUPER CENTRAL AND NOT BAD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here for 5 days in November and I enjoyed it.
The hostal in CENTRAL (very, very close to Sol tube station) and CLEAN but basic and simple.
We had a room with private bath and the laundry changed every day.
No breakfast is served (actually, there's no provided room for the breakfast). But an automatic coffee machine is at guest's disposal.
It is a family-owned hostal. The staff isn't very attentive but descret.

The only inconveniences were bad smells that came from the Burger's king in the little courtyard and owner's children screams in the middle of the night

ANYWAY, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR NOT PRETENTIOUS TRAVELER.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alystori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
28
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is situated centrally, very close to the Sol Subway Station of Madrid. The room was very clean and comfortable. The lady who stays on the premises was very helpful and available even at late night when we checked in. She even assisted me in booking transport for the Airport. It is situated on the pedestrian street and hence has very lively night life.All the attractions, restaurants, shops are a walking distance from this place. My children and I enjoyed our stay very much. The only downside is that they don't serve breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

This place is centrally located and the room was a good size and the bathroom too. It was also great that there was air-conditioning.

But the Receptionist/owner whoever she was, well, she was horrible. She had a bad attitude from the moment I arrived! She was so unfriendly I couldn't believe it! She just seemed annoyed to be dealing with people!

When I was awaken by her screaming baby and complained about the noise, she just got more annoyed and even more of an attitude! She explained that because it was about 8 am. that there was no problem. She had no sympathy for the guests and the disturbance the noise was causing.

I even have suspicions that when my booked taxi arrived to take me to the airport and phoned/rang the bell. She told them I was not a guest there! (This is what the taxi service told me!)

I will never stay there again and you shouldn't either unless you want to be treated like dirt! Stay away!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihtak43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2008

As soon as we opened the front door, we stepped into an unfinished hall with bags of cement and sand and tools everywhere..The elevator didn't work so we had to walk to the 4th floor with our bags, in the dark because we couldn't find the light switches..First thing that was said to us was that if we made any noise they would call the police! There was no 2p room left so we got a 3p room, which we ended up paying for in the end! At 7am the idiots that run this dump standed yelling in front of our doors, having a fight. All day long their baby cried and wined, they live left of the reception and our room was to the right. We had the biggest problems getting away there because they tried to screw us with the bill. I've never EVER met such cranky jerks!! The hotel itself was nicely located and that's the only good thing about it. If you don't like people, don't run a hotel!! There are so many other hostels in this area, do yourself a favour and stay the hell away there!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The owners!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollandEhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2004

city central location, costless, clean, lovely room decoration, nice staff, easy acsess, nice view :) ...etc...

if there is anything negative stuff about, i could say that the street, which is just in front of the hostal, is quite noisy (maybe because i stayed weekend though)

but im sure i'll stay this hostel agein when i visit madrid next time.
i love this hostal and i love madrid. thx

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#88 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#133 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Victoria II
Hostal Victoria II
#68 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Centro
Hostal Castilla II
Hostal Castilla II
#76 of 407 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Centro
Hostal Puerta del Sol
Hostal Puerta del Sol
#47 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Aresol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Aresol

Property: Hostal Aresol
Address: Calle Arenal 6 3rd Floor, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 407 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Aresol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 100 yards from kilometer Zero, next to the Puerta del Sol, this is an excellent place from which to enjoy the sites of Madrid.This establishment offers simple rooms with plenty of natural light, providing guests with comfort and privacy. The hotel also has a traditional family-run atmosphere. It is in the heart of Madrid, surrounded by a rich culture and nightlife.Breakfast is served in the 5 Jotas Restaurant in the same building as the property. Its spacious rooms are very comfortable, and attention from their owners very affectionate. Is better known thanks... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Aresol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing