We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
Review of Hotel Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Ranked #272 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The central Madrid location of this hotel is ideal. I stayed 10 days and was able to walk to most of the Madrid sights or take Metro from the nearby Puerto del Sol station. Plaza Mayor and the main Madrid tourist information office is very close. There are lots of nearby restaurant and eatery options. The hotel staff was welcoming and helpful. My single room was small but had everything I needed and the AC worked well. I could hear people talking as they passed by in the hallway but it wasn't really a problem. The breakfast is good and offers many choices. They have a loaner hair dryer at the front desk so you don't need to bring one. My requests for an extra pillow and more hangers were accommodated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

As others have said, the Hotel Plaza Mayor is very centrally located - near the Plaza (but not on it), the Puerta del Sol (metro and trains), and other major sites. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. Given it's location, the price was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Madrid was the first stop on our vacation, so we arrived jet-lagged after several flights--a long day in transit. What a treat it was to enter our room and see the large windows high over the sunny plaza below. As others have said, the location is perfect--an easy walk to everything, and the hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler4life59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Madrid, just a few steps from the historic Plaza Mayor and virtually all of the major sights of Madrid. Even the main railway station is only a 20 minute walk straight down Atocha (street) for those not needing or wanting to drive in the city. The historic and lively Mercado de San Miguel market is also just on the other side of the Plaza Mayor and shouldn't be missed as it's lively and a great place to eat, drink, and people watch. The staff at the hotel is welcoming and gracious - and very helpful in providing suggestions and directions for dining and sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable and well maintained. Highly recommended for anyone interested in staying in the heart and soul of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francophile4330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had booked this hotel because of its location (coming from Australia makes you rely on the reviews). It did not disappoint. We had a corner room and could see the wonderful Plaza Mayor from our room.The room was very pleasant,spotlessly clean and quite large. We could open the windows and look out onto the street below. The location enabled us to walk to most sites and the proximity of the Hop on Hop off buses enabled us to locate the main tourist sites.The square was bustling when we were there and it was wonderful to be able to dine, have a few drinks,soak up the atmosphere and then walk a short distance to the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic, the best we had in 5 weeks of travel. It was good to be able buytea,coffee and alcohol at other times.The staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful and the lovely, vivacious Isobel at the desk was fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Madrid; a short walk to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace, and the metro. The greatest attribute for this hotel, though, is its staff. The front desk was fluent in English, eager to help, and very informative. They advised us on how to get around the city, where to eat, and what places to avoid. The problem with the hotel is that the rooms are tiny. Even though we spent few conscious hours in the room, it felt uncomfortably cramped inside the room. Additionally, this is the only hotel we stayed in while we were in Spain that charged us to use the internet. Given the hotels reasonable cost, its a decent option for someone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel Plaza Mayor is beautifully situated in the heart of Old Madrid, directly next to Plaza Mayor. We booked this hotel based off location and were not disappointed. I ask for two other things in my hotel these days: WiFi in the room, and breakfast at the hotel (so I don't have to go out pre-coffee)! The WiFi was great, and the breakfast served in their small cafe area was simple but excellent!

Most of the locations I/we wanted to see in our few days in Madrid were walking distance or an easy cab ride away. There were many cafe options surrounding Plaza Mayor so finding food was never an issue.

Rooms were simple but clean. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Like many hotels in Europe, rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SassAndSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#230 of 438 in Madrid
223 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Hotel Mirador Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Cortezo
Hotel Cortezo
#209 of 438 in Madrid
858 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#221 of 438 in Madrid
260 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Atocha 2, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Madrid
#149 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: £57 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel opened its doors in 1997, in 2007 the hotel was reformed and extended its rooms until the present 33 rooms and our Palomar Suite.We offer all the advantages of careful and personal. Our personnel will serve as aid offering you all the information that you need during your visit, person to person.We are an excellent election for the independent traveller who’s looking to discover the traditional flavour of Madrid in a different and calm way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Plaza Mayor Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing