We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, but not much else”
Review of Hotel Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Ranked #256 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,286 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, but not much else”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Best thing about this hotel is its location - a 2 minute walk to Plaza Major. Short walk to all museums. Minimal outside noise. Generally friendly staff. Nice breakfast - typical European fare. Now the negatives... Each morning the neighbor [or hotel, not sure] started making construction noise - like a power-sander or small jack-hammer - at about 930. A bit too early if you were out late. Bathroom was very small - the door did not open all the way because the sink was in the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    343
    101
    23
    24
See reviews for
101
297
93
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A centrally located hotel with reasonable rates and friendly staff easy walking distance to all major sites. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. I have stayed there several times and will continue.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It was our first time in Madrid and rhe staff were so nice they wuold always suggest places to go and give you great directions. We stayed here a couple of nights because we loved it so much. It's very clean and good location close to the metro and train to take to the airport. It's not noisy at all and safe place. If your thinking of staying in Madrid with family I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urrutiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givat Olga
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We came very late, our welcome was very professional and also so attentive. The room was great,not be very spacy,but just what we needed. The view was unexpectedly charming. The hotel is situated just at the the corner of Plaza Mayor. The breakfast was delicious, nothing compares with spanish sausages and juices. I‘d love, love return again!

Room Tip: We had corner room with the view on the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My son, daughter-in-law, and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Madrid. It was located within walking distance to many places of interest in Madrid, including public transportation. The staff was very helpful and very competent to communicate in both Spanish and English (perhaps more languages, but these were the 2 languages that we needed). We choose to share one room, and the staff accommodated this wish by bringing in an extra, full sized twin bed (not a cot) that was very comfortable (my bed!). I would definitely choose this hotel on a next visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldcoastOZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Terrific location with everything in walking distance - helpful staff - easy to access - metro close - Plaza Major a buzz of lively entertainment - close to many restaurants - Tourist Bureau located in Plaza Major - hop on hop off bus stop also close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. It is located just off Plaza Mayor. We walked to the Museo del Prado. There are many restaurants and cafes nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room though small was comfortable and clean. And to top it all, it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyajit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Centro
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#87 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#198 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Macarena
Hostal la Macarena
#253 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Mayor

Property: Hotel Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Atocha 2, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in Madrid
#149 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plaza Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel opened its doors in 1997, in 2007 the hotel was reformed and extended its rooms until the present 33 rooms and our Palomar Suite.We offer all the advantages of careful and personal. Our personnel will serve as aid offering you all the information that you need during your visit, person to person.We are an excellent election for the independent traveller who’s looking to discover the traditional flavour of Madrid in a different and calm way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Plaza Mayor Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing