We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the bests”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Santillan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Santillan
Ranked #10 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the bests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Staying at this place is amazing, luxury stay, very quiet and peaceful located in Gran Via and around 200 meters from the Plaza de España train station. Plenty of places were to eat and have breakfast. Room was just amazing with in room shower, AC working property, TV etc. Additional bathroom in the hallway. I had a 3 single bed room on the 7th floor and another 2 single on the 5th floor. If you are looking for a nice stay, calm and to relax this is the place. Definitely will visit again. Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    165
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
77
164
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 4 person private room and it was perfect. I felt like I was staying in a hotel. We had a very clean room with towels and little toiletries provided. We were within walking distance to lots of places to eat and shop! Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbscott3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This place has a special location in our hearts. The staff is so friendly, the rooms so nice, and the location is perfect. This goes for the little cafe downstairs as well. The newer rooms are awesome and always clean. We loved everything from the tiny elevator to the little parlor areas outside the rooms. Walking to anywhere in the city is convenient from this location. Subway and bus stops are a stone's throw away...that's right old school measurement Stone's throw. I'll use cubits next time. Anyway this was awesome place we have stayed at more than once now and consistently has been awesome.

Room Tip: Do not get room adjacent to elevator shaft Get private room with en-suite bathroom on remodeled flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAJoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Returned to Hostal Santillan after 4 odd years and was happy to see that they still live up to their good name. For people looking for a decent place to put their heads - Santillan is a perfect choice for value, locations, cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for the first time in May 2014 for 3 nights. Room basic but very clean. A little noisy since the building is old and the other guest tend to slam their doors. Very cool old elevator in building. Location on the Gran Via is good. easy to walk to main attractions (Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Royal Palace).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SylviaMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went to madrid in november 2013 my husband and i. The location of Santillan Hotel is great, located in the madrid's center, Grand Via and surrounded by restaurants and bars. Rooms are clean and ok.
Just one negative thing: the staff don't speak English but that wasn't a big deal.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Maha_elb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hostel located in center of Madrid well within walking distance of major attractions. If you rather take the subway, there are two stations close by. We did not need a rental car since we were able to travel to and from the airport via the subway system.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
Centro
SunGate Hostel
SunGate Hostel
#1 of 411 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 283 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Santillan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santillan

Property: Hostal Santillan
Address: Calle Gran Via 8 Floor, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Santillan 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Gran Vía one of the most transient and known streets in Madrid, the hostal is located in a building representing the 1930´s in the historic center of Madrid.There is no need to use public transport for visiting the center of Madrid, however, the hotel is less than 100 meters from 3 different subway stations and bus stop for the tour bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostal Santillan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Santillan Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing