We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Ranked #342 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic location - walking distance to most places in Madrid.
The staff are very helpful and speak good English.
We had no problem with noise, yes you hear the odd beeping horn from the main road (and there were demonstrations and football match while we were there), but no problem sleeping etc. I had my ear plugs at the ready after reading the reviews and there was no need for this at all.
There were 3 of us sharing a room which was a good size, with comfy beds and lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 362FionaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelavenida14, Manager at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Fiona

Muchas gracias por su opinión.

Nos alegra que su estancia haya sido buena.

Lamento que durante su estancia hubiera manifestación, es inevitable oir el ruido de la manifestación.

Día a día estamos mejorando nuestras instalaciones.

Esperamos verles muy pronto de vuelta en nuestro Hotel.

Saludos cordiales

La dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and four other of my girl friend stayed at this hotel for a 3 night break for NYE. I dont know why some of the reviews are so bad, we had an amazing stay at this hotel. The location was perfect - walking distance to most places. We had a room for five people (bunk bed, one king and one single) and was perfect for us. The toilet and shower were separate from the sink/dressing area which made it easy for us to get ready. The computer or tv didn't really work well in the room but wasn't a problem for us as we did not really need it. our room had a 180 degree view onto Gran Via which was amazing. For the price you get good location, clean and modern facilities. On new years eve we returned back to our hotel to find small bottles of champagne and grapes for us to have at midnight - very nice touch. The only downfall for us was that some of the people working on reception could not speak English - very difficult for us on the first day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRAI16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

In this case, location is the best thing and the worst thing about this hotel. It is right in the heart of the city in one of the biggest shopping districts. Easy access to everything, including transport. But no one should expect a quiet night if you are in this location. What we couldn't have known, and certainly was not the hotel's fault, was how much construction would be going on in a massive building a half a block away. The dust was everywhere and the noise was unbearable. As for the hotel, if you think of it more as an efficiency hotel than a 3 star, you won't be disappointed. Like many places in Madrid, space is at a premium. Rooms are small but clean and warm (we were there in February) and the staff were really nice and attentive. The breakfast arrangement is with a very small cafe at the front and the options for what you could have for the included breakfast were pretty limited and unsatisfying. The food you could buy was nicer. The duvets JUST reached the edges of the bed. Once you put two people underneath it was a struggle to keep covered. We had to ask for a 2nd duvet, which they thought was odd but I promise that we are not large people. These are small duvets. Over all I'd have to recommend going elsewhere. This place is owned by a chain called "high tech" and they seem to be trying to do "cheap and cheerful" hotels all over the city. They could do with upgrading their standards a little.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is not a one star hotel, let alone a 3 star hotel. We had booked here for 4 nights through a travel agent after looking at the pictures on the internet, the pictures certainly painted a different picture to what we saw when we arrived, we stayed only one night.. We checked in and were told they had given us a nicer room!!! God help anyone who didn't get a nicer room. The staff we did deal with were very nice, but this review is based on the hotel and not the staff.
We were overlooking the street and we didn't sleep a wink for the noise in the street. The door onto the veranda ( if you can call it that, would not open) The door was about 6 inches from the bed, so to open the door we would have had to move the bed. The aircon blew hot air, which was obviously being taken in from outside and circulated through the room, we had a very uncomfortable night with heat. The corner shower cubicle did not close properly at the bottom, so we had water everywhere when we got out. No plug in the sink. Every, and I mean every floor board creaked when you walked across the floor. the whole place had a smell!!!the place had a dingy feel about it, the ceilings were dark purple which made the place very dark too. There were two lifts and only one was working. We could not get out of the place quick enough in the morning so we didn't have breakfast.
The hotel has since refunded the three nights we didn't stay, which was very decent of them I suppose!!. I am not sure if this hotel is next in line for refurbishment in the chain , but it certainly needs it. I don't know when the pictures of this hotel were taken, but they make it look a lot nicer than it really is.
We have been told a lot of reviews you read either come from the hotel itself if its a good one, or if its a poor one it comes from the competition, well let me assure you, we are neither, this is from a genuine traveler who would certainly not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kody01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The description says international TV channels but word of warning as there it's nothing in English. Not even the news!!! All rooms are supposed to have hydro showers but this is false as they dont work. Both issues reported to reception and no action.

The only good thing is location but you can get many other options in this range

Not recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

What a terrific place to stay. Just below the main drag of Madrid's retail district. A place to rest your head at night after a long day of walking around town. Three block from the Gran Via Metro stop. I found myself one day walking down the hill towards all the old historic buildings and gardens, miles beyond the hotel, and as luck would have it, not trouble finding a Metro stop to find my way back.
There are great restaurants just down the plaza. Great people watching area. The cafe connected to the hotel has great food, but the wait staff is aloof.
The hotel staff was beyond helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better group of people to help me enjoy my two night stay in Madrid.
A fun fact about the hotel lobby: it used to be the stables for horses.
The Petit Palace chain is quite good, but again, the staff at this particular location made it worth while.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotAFoodieBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth M, Revenue Managent at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Small comfortable hotel in great location. Staff were accommodating, breakfast was sufficient & heating was awesome. Noisy if windows open but in the heart of Centro Madrid it would be ignorant to expect otherwise. Don't understand why there are no double beds but single mattresses were comfortable if not lonely.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,171,964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth M, Revenue Management at Hotel Avenida Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guest’s satisfaction is our reason of being.

We regret to know just now that you preffered double bed. Please, let us know your preferences next time and we will do our best to get them.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#224 of 438 in Madrid
1,612 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Ateneo Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#96 of 438 in Madrid
705 reviews
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#271 of 438 in Madrid
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Gran Via

Address: C Mesoneros Romano 14 | (esquina Gran via 33), 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Petit Palace Avenida Gran Via)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: £54 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Hotel in Madrid, in the heart of the Gran Via Hotel Gran Avenida is a Hotel in Madrid that is located in a privileged location in the Spanish capital, in the heart of the Gran Via and just a few minutes walk from the Puerta del Sol, the Plaza Mayor and the old Hadsburg Madrid. Hotel Gran Avenida is surrounded by theatres, cinemas, department stores and restaurants, as well as being magnificently communicated with the metro and bus network. Due to all of this, it is a perfect accommodation option for a business or a tourism trip to Madrid. LOCATION More central imposible We are located in the heart of the Gran Via in Madrid, closet o the Puerta del Sol, the famous Km 0 of the city and emblematic monuments of the city such as the Royal Palace or Almudena Cathedral. Surrounded by shops, famous department stores, restaurants, cinemas, theatres and leisure centres, Hotel Avenida Gran Via is your perfect accommodation option to fully enjoy Madrid. We are located in the heart of the Gran Via in Madrid, closet o the Puerta del Sol, the famous Km 0 of the city and emblematic monuments of the city such as the Royal Palace or Almudena Cathedral. Surrounded by shops, famous department stores, restaurants, cinemas, theatres and leisure centres, Hotel Avenida Gran Via is your perfect accommodation option to fully enjoy Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Avenida Gran Via Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing