We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Room, Centrally Located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel
Ranked #175 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Grass Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very Nice Room, Centrally Located”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The room was large and nicely decorated. It had a tub and shower combination, in a large private bathroom with modern fixtures. Our room had a large private terrace also. We were only in Madrid for two nights, though, so we didn't have time to enjoy the terrace. It looked perfect for sunbathing. It had lounge chairs as well as regular chairs. The hotel staff was helpful and they were very professional.

The hotel is about a block east of Puerta del Sol, so it was quiet, but conveniently located. After arriving at the airport, we took the airport bus to Plaza Cibeles - about 6 blocks east of the hotel - walked to the hotel. The bus entered a roundabout at Plaza Cibeles, so we were disoriented after exiting the bus, but two very helpful people at the bus stop pointed us in the right direction towards the hotel. From there, it was not difficult to get our bearings for the rest of our stay.

We had tapas that night at a restaurant/bar next door to the hotel. The tapas were so-so, but the drinks were generous and the service was friendly. Seemed like a locals spot; we were the only Americans in the restaurant. The next night, we took an excellent Tapas and Wine tour with a local tour guide - booked through Viator. The meeting place for that tour was at Plaza Santa Ana, which is about 3 blocks south of the hotel.

We also walked to the Almudena Cathedral on Sunday for Mass. They have a 5000-pipe organ which was played by an organist during services. That same day, we visited Mercado San Miguel and noshed on small plates, and we took the tour of the Royal Palace.

This was our first trip to Europe, and we'd been told that Madrid was just a large, unexceptional city. We enjoyed it far more than we'd expected to. The places we visited felt very welcoming and intimate - not at all the souless big city experience we'd heard about.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    432
    152
    27
    20
See reviews for
147
368
66
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband at the end of May 2014. It was in a really good location, close to lots of bars, restaurants, sights, metro stations. We were in a front facing room with great views and a cute little balcony. The room was small but adequate, the bed was very comfy in my opinion. Plenty of storage space. The shower was very powerful. Room was cleaned and bed was made every day. No tea/coffee making facilities was a little bit of a let down for 4* hotel. Cannot comment on the restaurant as we didnt eat there. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Quatro Puerta del Sol for 4 nights. We really enjoyed our stay in Madrid! The hotel was very convenient - there were many restaurants in the neighborhood and the metro was a block away. The people at the desk were very helpful when we wanted suggestions - La Vaca restaurant was excellent. The room was clean and there was a good sized bathroom and shower. We only ate the breakfast once. It was a bit generic, but had plenty of choices. We were very happy with our choice of hotel in Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJVTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

SAS decided to keep my suitcase but, no fear, the fantasticly serviceminded Swedish and Spanish speaking receptionist helped me to chase it so after about 30hours I had my clothes, shoes and toothbrush. We had a room on the 5th floor and it was a room with a view and a BALCONY. The beds were a little hard but otherwise it was perfect. The hotel served a delicious breakfast with the usual cereals, yoghurt, scrambled eg, bacon and sausages, freshly baked rolls and coffee and tea and juices.
Next time we go to Madrid we will definately stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scandinavia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I recently spent 3 night at Hotel Quatro Puerta del Sol in Madrid. Both the hotel website as well as Expedia claimed a 4-staqr rating of this hotel. I saw nothing of the 4-star claim here - photos are deceptive. There's a little area for a lobby and a reception desk manned by one employee. There's no gym, no swimming pool, and nothing more than basics in the decor of the room or lobby. Toiletries are meager and of the lowest quality I have ever seen in a respectable hotel. Actually, the hotel supplies one little square piece of soap for both the shower and sink. There is only one elevator for the whole hotel. The general appearance of the hotel is drab and uncomfortable. Also, there's only one English language channel available on the hotel's TV service! Four stars, indeed!
The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that their staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is great in terms of location, cleanliness and great breakfast! Only thing that was disappointing was no tea or coffee in the room, this is something us Brits expect in a four star hotel. However there is a fridge with mini bar, hair dryer and air conditioning. Breakfast is help yourself to the usual cereals, fruit, meats and cooked items with tea, coffee, juice, water etc. If you get a room like we did at the front of the hotel it can be noisy, especially on a Friday night when people are returning from the clubs at 3,4,5, and 6 in the morning shouting!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinaliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is located close to Puerta del Sol which is the hub for everything. You're close to cozy squares and nice restaurants.

The room was good. The bed was hard and not so wide.

The AC worked wonderful.

The door to the bathroom was a glass door (non transparent) so you hear everything the other person is doing in there. Not so very nice.

The breakfast is ok but not magnificent. They have the basics like toast, ham, cheese, cornflakes and fruit (and some bad tasting yoghurt). If you don't include it in the price when you book the room it cost 11 euro/person.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Vincci Centrum
Vincci Centrum
#78 of 435 in Madrid
1,004 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Casa de la Lirica
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#42 of 435 in Madrid
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Alcala
Petit Palace Alcala
#104 of 435 in Madrid
732 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel

Property: Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel
Address: Calle Sevilla 4, 28014 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Quo Puerta del Sol)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#129 Family Hotel in Madrid
#149 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical, cultural and Shopping area of Madrid. Inside the landmark triangle formed by the Puerta del Sol, Alcala Street and Gran Via Street, surrounded by the best restaurants, shopping and entertainment areas. The hotel is one of expressions of most unique design of Madrid. A majestic building of the early 20th century, whose decoration has been designed by Tomas Alia, one of the most popular and recognized Rooms Designers in Spain. 62 Double rooms, four of those are Superior with private terrace, and one Junior Suite. All of those are exterior, perfectly soundproofed, with natural light, individual air-conditioning, Minibar, business area, Free WIFI, work desk, free safety box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quatro Puerta del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quo Puerta Del Sol Hotel Madrid
Quo Puerta Del Sol Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing