We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Comfortable Accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Barrera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Barrera
Ranked #212 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, Comfortable Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at Hostal Barrera for over a week in May and we were impressed with the accomodations for such a reasonable price. The room was bigger than what we expected and the bathroom was updated. The room was very comfortable, equipped with two beds and a closet and very clean. The room faced the street but no loud noise prevented us from a good night sleep. The staff was always very nice . Perfect location to walk everywhere. We are walkers so walking to the train station was a big plus. We walked to the museums, El Prado, Reina Sofia, cafes, even Mercado San Miguel which is a great tourist spot. We highly recommend it if someone is n a budget. Hostel security: The hostel had a building secure access (the 24 hour desk personnel has to buzz you in).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Gloria,
All staff at Hostal Barrera appreciate your comments about our hostal and our work. Your room is one of the biggest at the hostal, and it was updated 1 year ago as some other rooms.
And about the noise, when we made the update works, all windows in rooms updated were changed to others that are acustic, so they have the higher level of soundproofing . Noise is a personal issue, and we try to do our best about it.

Besides our location , close to major attractions is also very good, as you can walk and see many things.

Thank you for choosing us and hope we can accomodate you in the future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    90
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
121
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is very convenient - walking distance from Atoche train station and all of Madrids main tourist sites. It was very inexpensive and seemed like it was brand new - modern, clean and good facilities. Air con and en suite rooms. Staff were really welcoming and friendly and willing to speak English but also let us practice our (bad) Spanish! I would recommend this as a great base to explore Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Stacy,

Thank you for sharing your experience about our hostal with other travelers.
We are happy you find our hostal clean, confortable, and close to main places in town, our location is very convenient to visit the city.
We enjoyed speaking with you in spanish and it is a pleasure for us to do it , as practicing our english as well !!!!

Best regards for you and wish we can accomodate you next time you visit Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

the hotel is extremely close to the atocha train station in madrid and the museum mile area. there is a 24 hour service desk that buzzes you in a gives you your key card. the rooms were medium sized, but perfectly suitable for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for the time you spent writting about our hostal and thank you for sharing your experience at Hostal Barrera.
Yes, our location helps to visit the city since major attractions are really close, walking distance , so you don´t really need the public transportation, unless you are getting to Chamartin Railway Station or South Bus Terminal.

Once again thank you and wish you saty with us in the future.

Warm regards

Hostal Barrera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Within walking distance of Atocha station, close to the metro, both the big museums and 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. You have to be buzzed in off the street and tackle the antiquated elevator or climb a couple flights of stairs to get into the tiny foyer. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. No breakfast is available but there are any number of eateries nearby and there is free wifi and an economical laundry service. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Despite the double glazing there was a lot of noise from the main road outside and sound proofing between the rooms is virtually non-existent. A great location but not for light sleepers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear gurubob,

Sharing your experience at Hostal Barrera with other people will help us to improve and provide guests with our best service. Thank you for that , we really appreciate your time and words.
Madrid is an amazing city , full of live night and day and noise is part of it. Our double glazed windows and blinds help but sensibility is not the same for all of us. We are sorry about this, but next time you come, you let us know and we will accomodate you in a quiter room we have.

Best regards and wish we can house you in the future.

Hostal Barrera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Excellent on all levels. Staff were absolutely wonderful. So welcoming and helpful. The room was immaculate and well decorated. Very clean with nice touches like the artwork and flowers. quiet even though we were at the front, aircon great in the summer heat. Amazing find especially at such a reasonable price. Going to Madrid? Go to hostal Barrera, you shan't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Georgina,

We all at Hostal Barrera really appreciatte your beautiful words. It is a pleasure to hear you felt welcoming, you liked the room and you liked the location.

Your compliments of our clean rooms and good value in general, are very much appreciated too.

It will be a pleasure for all of us to accomodate you again in future.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Ditto from the other reviewers on excellent location (easy, 10 minute walk from Atocha; close to museums) and plenty safe. The Cafe Plateria nearby has great coffee and people watching, there are good tapas bars nearby, and we walked everywhere from this hotel comfortably. The rooms are very quiet and modern with nice fixtures. And immaculate! While others have commented on the nice staff, they deserve another compliment. We felt very welcome. We arrived early, and after an overseas flight, it was wonderful to at least be able to leave our luggage as we began exploring while we waited for our room. Great hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krpapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear krpapen,

We appreciate your positive comments about our Hostal Barrera.
Thanks for highlighting our central location just minutes from Atocha Railway Station and the main museums in town.
And thank you also for the comments about your room and the friendliness of our staff.

So glad you had a good stay and would like to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just up the hill from Atocha station, on the first floor of a corner property, fronting partly onto the main road, and a side street, we had room 4 [ I think!] with bedroom to the side and bathroom onto Calle Atocha. For the money, it was excellent, mattresses maybe a bit firm for some tastes and soundproofing not the best, but overall we really had no complaints and found the staff very helpful. They don't do breakfast but there are plenty options nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear cdgraham,

Thank you for your comments and for choosing our hostal to visit Madrid. We are happy hearing you had no complains, thank you, and nice to know you enjoy your time in Madrid.

Best for you and hope to accomodate you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#177 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#194 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#64 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mora
Hotel Mora
#228 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#192 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#120 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barrera

Property: Hostal Barrera
Address: 2nd Floor Calle Atocha 96, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#70 Family Hotel in Madrid
#84 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Barrera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Barrera is cozy hostal, offering newly refurbished rooms en-suite, FREE WI-FI,LCD tv, central heating and air conditoning .... And unbeatable rates.Ideal location in the city center of Madrid, just a walking distance of the main museums and attractions in town, and also to the main train station, Atocha Rail Way Station, to get to cities such as Seville,Barcelona, Toledo, Cordoba, Valencia ... We speak english, french, italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Barrera Madrid
Hostal Barrera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing