We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Hostal Barrera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Barrera
Ranked #206 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to go to Madrid. The rooms are very clean and the hotel staff, especially Nieves and Francesca, are very friendly and helpful. It is a very short walk from the Atocha station where the Airport Express bus will drop you off. Many sights are just a short walk away, including the Prado Museum, Museum Sofia Reina, Puerta del Sol, Retiro Park and the Plaza Mayor. Casa Patas is nearby.....a great place to see flamenco. I chose Hostal Barrera because of the reviews I read on TripAdvisor and I am glad that I did....I would not hesitate to stay here again. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuhwainAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear DuhwainAllen,

Thank you for your words . It was really nice for us meeting you and talked about Madrid.
We appreciatte you liked your room and found the hostal well located, which it is true. This really helps to visit the city.

Also it is very nice from you to share your experience as this will help other travellers.
Best wishes and hope to accomodate you next time.

Hostal Barrera staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    93
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
124
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The reviews from tripadvisor really helped and we were very happy with this choice of hotel/hostal.Everything was perfect from the clean rooms, location and the staff were so nice and helpful!
For the price we paid, I couldn't ask for a better place..It would have been nicer with breakfast but there were plenty of placees in the area to eat.
I would definetly go back and recommend this place to friends!

l

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for choosing us for your holidays in Madrid. And thank you for your compliments about our clean rooms and nice staff . Your feedback is important to improve our services.

We all appreciatte your words and hope we accomodate you in the future.

Warm regards from all staff at Hostal Barrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a nice basic hostal in Madrid - great for budget travelers. As other reviewers posted it is a 5-10 minute walk from Atocha making it nice and close to all the museums. The room was adequate and all areas were clean. Hubby was not happy with the bed (too firm) but everyone has their personal preference. We had a nice room with a window to the side street. You could hear noise from the street at night but that was not a problem for us as we were too tired to let it bother us, LOL! The shower is small (I know that is pretty standard in Europe). You are provided with bath gel, shampoo, and hand soap. Nieves is very helpful and welcoming. We had no problems during our stay and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCLP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear TCLP2010 ,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hostal, appreciatte your time writting about us. Happy to know you found everything clean in your room, that´s our work !!!! You just needed to enjoy the city , and our location is very convenient to visit it.

Hope we can accomodate you next time !!!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014 & absolutely loved it. The price was unbeatable-65 euros/night. The location was perfect-right by the train station. Our room was clean & bright, the bed was comfortable, & the woman at the front desk was so nice. If we come back to Madrid again, we would undoubtedly stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyhearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Amyhearttravel,

Thank you for your words about our hostal. All staff is happy to know you liked your room, cleanliness, confort ...and you found our location perfect to visit the city.

Wish to accomodate you next time you visit Madrid.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were leaving the hotel with mixed feelings. It's a Excellent hotel friendly with impressive design and luxurious furnishings , with impeccable service , Great location , very nice restaurants within walking distance. Very comfortable rooms & huge bathroom with separate shower. hotel stuff were very thank you. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elena-travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Elena-Travel10

Thank you for the time you spent sharing your experience at Hostal Barrera.

All of us are really happy to know you liked your room and have a good time in Madrid. This city is really easy to walk , and besides, our neighbourhood is ideal as there are restaurants, main museums, cafes, and so on .

Best regards and hope to accomodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We have just completed a four night stay at Hostal Barrera and can only support the other excellent reviews. From the street, the hostal is the same as any other, but inside it's something special.

From the moment of our arrival until our departure we were met with very friendly, accommodating service. When we asked for a dinner recommendation, the lady at the desk (which is manned 24 hours) checked that her suggestion was open and made a reservation for us without a moments hesitation.

With regards to earlier reviews that suggest it is an inconvenience to have to ring the bell to get in, we did not find this troublesome at all. In fact, the feeling was very safe and secure.

The room was impeccable and one of the cleanest we've stayed in. The rooms are well decorated and cosy, but with plenty of room. The bathrooms are lovely and feel very modern yet tasteful.

The location is ideal, especially if you are arriving or departing from Atocha train station, the main renfe station in Madrid. The express airport bus also leaves from there and takes around 40 minutes depending on what terminal.

It is walking distance to the La Latina district for great Tapas, and around a 15 minute walk to the Plaza Mayor. The hills are not that steep, even up from Atocha station. This walk was about 10 minutes with packs on.

Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurav1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Laurav1319,

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Madrid and found our hostal special.

Really thank you for your words, we really appreciate them. All of us are happy to welcome our guests and help them to have a good time in Madrid, and try to offer the best we have in our small, and cosy hostal.

Enjoy your time and hope we can accomodate you in the future again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Madrid.

I spent four nights in this hostal. I had booked a twin room but we were given a room with three beds. The room was not particularly big, but it was simple and nice, clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed (no hair dryer in the room, but we had brought our own). The beds were good, the bathroom was good, the wifi was good, and there was a computer in the common area for guests’ use.

The location is absolutely perfect. We got to the three big musuems (Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Bornemisza) and the Atocha train station on foot. And the Anton Martin subway station was like five minutes away. We actually walked to Sol, and it was easy. Nearby there were many places to eat. We got tasty and reasonably priced pizza and pasta from the little shop “Ricotta” across the road, and had breakfast and dinner at bars and restaurants along Calle Atocha.

I made the booking almost three months in advance and for what we paid I was very very happy with the room.

The only thing that I found slightly inconvenient was that we were not given a key to the hostal so everytime we returned we had to ring the doorbell and someone would open the door for us. I don’t like troubling other people so we kept getting in/out of the hostal to the minimum.

I am sure I will try to book a room in this hostal next time I return to Madrid.

Tip 1 - The hostal is located between the Anton Martin subway station and the Atocha railway/subway stations. If you have luggage with you, use Anton Martin to get to the hostal as the road goes downhill. If you use Atocha, you will have to go uphill and it is not as easy.

Tip 2 - Guests are not allowed to wash their clothes in their rooms. The hostal can help wash the clothes and the prices, IIRC, are very reasonable.

Tip 3 - The three major museums can be visited for free (Prado and Reina Sofia during the last two hours before closing every day, and Thyssen Bornesmisza on Monday afternoon, IIRC).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skyskylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear skyskylee,

Thank you for your detailed comment about our hostal, we are really glad you shared your experience and happy to know you liked your room, beds confortable, the wi-fi, location of the hostal, neighbourhood....

Our policy with the keys has to do with security, and, for us it is not a trouble you get in / out all you need.

Thank you for the tips. In our website we recomend , if you get by metro, to get off in Anton Martin, but if you get by bus or train from the airport, you get to Atocha so you have to walk up the hill . You can get a bus ( number 26,6 or 32 ) to get to the hostal, but it is just a 10 minutes walk.

And yes, all our guests will find information in our rooms about our services with the rates, some information about some rules we have and so on..

Once again thank you and regards from all the staff. Hope to accomodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#198 of 435 in Madrid
334 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#68 of 435 in Madrid
507 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mora
Hotel Mora
#230 of 435 in Madrid
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#201 of 435 in Madrid
905 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#123 of 435 in Madrid
1,934 reviews
Huertas
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
Tryp Madrid Atocha Hotel
#190 of 435 in Madrid
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Barrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Barrera

Property: Hostal Barrera
Address: 2nd Floor Calle Atocha 96, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Lavapies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#70 Family Hotel in Madrid
#85 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Barrera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Barrera is cozy hostal, offering newly refurbished rooms en-suite, FREE WI-FI,LCD tv, central heating and air conditoning .... And unbeatable rates.Ideal location in the city center of Madrid, just a walking distance of the main museums and attractions in town, and also to the main train station, Atocha Rail Way Station, to get to cities such as Seville,Barcelona, Toledo, Cordoba, Valencia ... We speak english, french, italian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Barrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Barrera Madrid
Hostal Barrera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing