We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Barrera
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mexico(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Catalonia Atocha(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mora(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SLEEP'N Atocha(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
176
97
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
97
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatocha stationgreat locationreina sofiabeyond the call of dutybarrio de las letrasnot hesitate to stay here againwalking distance to the pradogreat place to stayfew minutes walkbeds were comfortabledouble roomnievesnoisestreetdeskclosetpension
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in Barrera 7-11 May 2014. The location was excellent. The room was not surprisingly small, we expected that, and it was modern and very clean including the bathroom (shower and toilet). 2 negatives:
1. The air conditioning didn't really blow any cold air even though it was quite warm outside, the book in the room said the temp is maintained at a 'comfortable' 25 degrees. Not comfortable for us, so we had to open the sound proof window and thus were exposed to the weekend nightlife noises which went until 6 am. Thus a poor rating for sleep quality.
2. The same book in the room warned against smoking in the room which was good. But one of the night clerks was smoking at the desk and you could smell it upon entry to the accommodation area before entering the room.
Value - we booked this first for our 30 day holiday, initially thought $70 EUR was good value, however later we found much better hotels not that far away for less.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazza_GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Warren,

First of all , thank you for post a note about our hostal.
Besides my apologies for the trouble about airconditioning. Actually, the next guests told us about this issue, and there was somenthing going wrong with the machine in your room. We fixed it inmediatly and working .

It was a shame you didn´t tell us about it , we could have arranged it while you were and you wouldn´t have to have the window opened.

On the other hand, the dates you stayed with us it was high season but ,we always recomend to book through our website as we always have offers and we think really good rates.

Thank you for your feedback as it always helps to improve our services and rethink some of our ways of work. We are open to all suggestions and opinions.

We hope we can accomodate you in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

While Madrid was not my favorite city on my recent tour of Spain, Hostal Barrera was by far my favorite place to stay. Sonia, Francesca, and Josepha where so kind and helpful and the amenities were superior to any hostel or pension in which I've stayed. It's really a boutique hotel. There are no keys to deal with, just a card to get you in your room. There is 24-hour concierge, so no need to worry about how you are going to get in the building; just buzz up and Sonia or Francesca will cheerfully meet you at the door of the Hostal, swinging it open will a generous and genuine smile. Windows face onto a main street, but everything was quiet, EXCEPT for the nights that futbol was being played. And the teams playing happened to both be from Madrid. When the one Madrid team beat the other Madrid team, forget about sleeping. The beeping of the horns and the yelling and chanting of the guys and girls wandering the streets celebrating was constant until easily 4 and 5 in the morning. There was air conditioning from some white noise to drowned out the revelry, and I work earplugs, but it still wasn't enough. This is hardly the fault of the Hostel though; it's seasonal and I doubt that there was anywhere in central Madrid you could have stayed that would have spared you from this. Unless you were in a very, very tall hotel and on the 23rd floor or something.

Room Tip: Something not facing the main street
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear flaneur40,

Hostal Barrera´s staff really appreciatte your comments and all of them are happy to know you had a good time in Madrid in spite of the party going on all night all over the city !
All madrileños were happy as it was the first time in the football history 2 teams from the same city were playing the final of the Champions League, once in history ! Yes, it was a problem the noise that night if you wanted to spleep.

Thank you for sharing your experience at our place and wish we can accomodate you next time.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights. This place is excellent value for capital city accomodation. The location is excellent and the staff so friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable.There were a number of house 'rules' relating to penalties for washing clothing in the room, and leaving the key at the hotel,that we found a bit strange but which did not detract from our overall impression. As others have noted, noise was an issue. Our room faced the narrow street behind the building and we were affected by garbage trucks and noisy residents. The double glazed windows helped. Another quirky thing concerns the airconditioning. The minimum temperature setting is 25deg. During our stay daytime temperatures were around 30deg and the inability to set a more comfortable temperature at night meant we had to open the windows to get some cool air so pack some earplugs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otiswallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear otiswallaby,

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff, our location, cleaneless and confortable room, we are grateful to you. And happy to know you had a good experience in Madrid.

Regarding the airconditioning, yes, the temperature is fixed to 25 degrees. We are concerned about the enviromental, the global warming , and for us this setting is a matter of energy eficiency that produces less warm. Besides, there is a law regarding this issue to public buildings; it is not compulsory to our activity but we agree with it , and the minimum temperature setting is 26 degrees. We have reduced it 1 degree!!!

Hope you understand our position and future guests understand this policy as well.

Thank you very much and hope to accomodate you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

It has been an incredible surprise for me and my girlfriend! The room was perfect, not too big, not too small, very clean and tidy; it wasn't noisy during the nights and it had all the things we needed for a short 'city break'.
The location of the hotel is simply perfect: close to restaurants and bars and close (walking distance) to the city centre (Plaza Mayor).
The staff was simply adorable! Very gentle, always able to give us information suggestions (a big thank to the girl (unfortunately I don't remember her name) who recommended the paella restaurant!).
It was simply a great hotel in a great city!
Absolutely recommended!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergio_silvetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Sergio,

All staff at Hostal Barrera appreciatte your comments about our place and we are happy you found your room confortable, silent and a convenient location to visit the city.

You are right, Madrid is a great city, and we are happy to be part of it , and provide tips about this incredible city to our visitors and guests.

Thank you for your words and hope to accomodate you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are planning to go to Madrid. The rooms are very clean and the hotel staff, especially Nieves and Francesca, are very friendly and helpful. It is a very short walk from the Atocha station where the Airport Express bus will drop you off. Many sights are just a short walk away, including the Prado Museum, Museum Sofia Reina, Puerta del Sol, Retiro Park and the Plaza Mayor. Casa Patas is nearby.....a great place to see flamenco. I chose Hostal Barrera because of the reviews I read on TripAdvisor and I am glad that I did....I would not hesitate to stay here again. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuhwainAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieves M, Gerente at Hostal Barrera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear DuhwainAllen,

Thank you for your words . It was really nice for us meeting you and talked about Madrid.
We appreciatte you liked your room and found the hostal well located, which it is true. This really helps to visit the city.

Also it is very nice from you to share your experience as this will help other travellers.
Best wishes and hope to accomodate you next time.

Hostal Barrera staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews